We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be fantastic but stay spoilt by horrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at Kwalape Lodge in the chalets at the end of April 2012. The chalets were beautiful and well maintained, the reception staff friendly and helpful and our guides on the cruise, visit to Vic Falls and game drive were brilliant. Unfortunately the restaurant and bar staff were rude, the food was revolting and very expensive. I am well aware of 'Botswana Time' but 1.5 hours for a starter to arrive when you are the only 2 people in the restaurant is beyond reasonable. I can't decide whether the tiny portions were a relief as food was so horrible or just annoying as we were left hungry. Such a shame, as every other apect of the stay was great, but the position of the lodge means you have no real option to eat elsewhere if you are without your own vehicle. There are so many places to stay in Kasane that I would avoid this place.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank africawithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Good day.Thank you for this constructive review.We have since introduced new experienced restaurant management.Also introduced hospitality staff training so as to improve service delivery.Our apologies for the experience you had.We look forward to serving you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 138 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were very fortunate to discover this gem while traveling Botswana on a recent fishing trip.
The friendly and attentive staff made a lasting impression from the word go, and really made us feel welcome in true Batswana fashion.
So much so that, what would have been a stay for the weekend only, turned into a stay of 8 days.
Even though we were not looking for 5* accommodation (but got 5* treatment), the tented housing and clean ablutions (shared for tented and campsite guests) were more then adequate to our needs, while there is also more luxurious units (en-suite bathrooms) available for the more fussy travelers.
Ever attentive to our needs, the staff really went out of their way to cater to our needs, even allowing us the use of 1 of the campsites(at NO extra charge) for our evening braai.
The ever helpful staff will organize activities on your behalf, like trips to the Victoria Falls, game drives, fishing trips etc.
They also offer some night time entertainment with traditional dancers and some live music.
The Lapa and bar, next to the crystal clear swimming pool, is a favorite spot after a days activities.
The restaurant offers affordable good quality breakfast, lunch and dinners.
Only a couple of minutes drives from the CBD of Kasane or Gazangula makes this the ideal place for a stay over or even as a main camp from where to explore the surrounding area.
The price conscious traveler won't find better accommodation at a better deal then Kwalape Lodge, so be sure to include them on your next African safari.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JaspervanAarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you for this kind preview.We happy to have served you well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank bego19602016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ongeloofelijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zeltplatz fernab der Strasse wählen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dr. Bettina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Yves J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ziska55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
4.1 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
79.1 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
119 reviews
0 mi away
Elephant Trail Guesthouse
4 mi away
Liya Guest Lodge
Liya Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chobe National Park
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalape Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalape Safari Lodge

Address: Main Road | Situated between Kazungula and Kasane, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $30 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kwalape Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Botswana’s northern towns of Kazungula and Kasane, Kwalape Safari Lodge offers the perfect base to discover the wonders of Chobe National Park and River, with its vast elephant herds and wildlife populations. Kwalape is only an hour away from the magnificent Victoria Falls and 1 km away from where four great African countries meet (Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Botswana) making Kwalape an ideal location to explore from. Kwalape means ‘at home’ in Setswana and it is our management philosophy for all guests to feel welcome, relaxed and at home during their stay and to leave us as friends. We offer value for money accommodation with excellent service. Constructed of canvas, wood and thatch, in harmony with its luscious and naturally landscaped surroundings, Kwalape Lodge comprises 12 chalets each with spacious living areas, en-suite bathroom facilities and a private veranda; 12 safari tents and camping facilities for overland and private tours. The main restaurant and bar are thatched and nestled into the surrounding bush with the restaurant bar offering a stunning elevated deck, ideal for sun downers and sharing the day’s experience with other guests. Other facilities include a swimming pool, conference facility and Boma for starlight meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Kwalape Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing