We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveler rating
552
48
10
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
48
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool chobe river game drives the managers private patio outdoor shower small pool amazing views highlight of our trip hour drive flood plain fantastic location safari lodge three nights watering hole picnic lunch local village
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 611 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2016

What an amazingly beautiful lodge, well situated above the Chobe river, with stunning views, and the high-level cuisine to match. High end and classy, yes, but with the casual comfort, and engaging staff and management that make it truly special. if you're headed to Chobe, and want the stay of your life, Ngoma is the place for you.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P3846EZnancyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016

The lodge is situated on a ridge with a vista towards the Namibian border. Animals visit the land below the lodge and use the small waterhole and beyond into big skies is grassland. The room I had had an enormous bed with all the facilities behind up some steps and a dipping pool and outdoor shower. The food was good and adventurous. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
My guide was very well informed, not just about the key animals you'd expect to see but also the habitats and its plants etc. When I went it was overcast and surprisingly cool but we still saw much wildlife even if at times we had to poncho up because of rain.
What was good was the smooth running of the lodge, you only had to ask. I had been to 3 other camps before where the visitors and all staff ate together. That meant fixed meal times but as a single traveller this was the best arrangement. At Ngoma it is separate tables, but you can eat when you want, within reason.
I recommend Ngoma for its siting, it is also just a drive from Kasane, and all its facilities with great staff. Chobe has so much to offer as regards wildlife and bear in mind that there is no off-roading and you have to exit the park at 7 p. m. The sheer numbers of elephant, giraffe, impala and zebra were spectacular and enough in themselves.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 663mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your stay with us at Ngoma Safari Lodge. We are so glad to hear about your stay with us and that you had such a wonderful time. This lodge really is something special and we take great pride in making your trip magical and memorable. Looking forward to your return!

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be special. Our lodge was beautifully designed with all amenities and views across to Namibia that took your breath away. The food was great and better than we had anticipated, we particularly enjoyed our picnic for 2 whilst out on a full days drive. Our guide, Bevan, left no stone unturned, his ability to find animals was quite astounding and his knowledge of the game, birds, flora and fauna was exceptional. I'm not sure about previous reviewers but we saw lions,elephants,giraffe,buffalo, hippos, crocs,zebra,baboons etc at very close quarters.All in all it was a very intimate experience that will stay with us forever.

Room tip: All the rooms are identical in style and views.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthportMandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2016

Thank you for your amazing review and kind words on your recent stay with us at Ngoma Safari Lodge. We are very appreciative of your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful lodge, stunning setting. Superbly run lodge with excellent and friendly staff. Fantastic location for safari with knowledgeable (and fearless) guides - be prepared to see LOTS of elephants up close! Safaris well organised and boat tour a very nice change. Highly recommended

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nina022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ngoma Safari Lodge following your recent visit. We are so glad to hear about your stay with us and that you had such a wonderful time. We are very appreciative of your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

This was my least favorite lodge on our 6 lodge safari trip throughout Africa. Before booking your African safari you should be aware that not all locations are comparable. Ngoma takes safari guests on game drive IN a national park. National parks are extremely restrictive.
Here is what I understand now after having been to different types of locations for safari:
National Parks- must stay on road at all times. Can only operate during limited hours. You will deal with more tourists on a normal day than other options. Can not follow animals or get too close.

Leased concessions (land owned by government but leased to a safari lodge)- Less rules than a National park but you can not be out on a game drive after dark. You are not supposed to be off road but there are loopholes and most guides will off road if following an animal.

Private concessions- privately owned land with the least amount of restrictions. Pretty much anything within reason goes (as long as it does not harm you or the animals).

Most of the lodges we stayed at were private or leased concessions. This was the only National Park we explored and it was towards the end of our trip. Having been so spoiled at the other camps with such incredible game viewing and game drives this was a little boring for us. We were used to getting up close to the animals and you can't do that here in the jeep. You can however, get pretty close to crocs, hippos and water buffalo if you take one of Ngoma's boat ride tours. This was nice because we had not viewed game from the water before and we only saw crocs at one other camp on our trip.

Food- it was ok. Every dish seemed to be missing something. I'm not all that picky and loved my food at every single other camp we visited but the flavor was lacking
here. Presentation was ok but that's all.

Staff- not as friendly as everywhere else we visited.

View- stunning!

Game viewing- best from a boat ride.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank KassandraBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews