We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance in the Bush”
Review of Ngoma Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegance in the Bush”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ngoma consists of eight beautifully appointed “tents” situated just outside Chobe National Park with outstanding views of the local watering hole and the Chobe River and Namibia in the distance. The air-conditioned accommodations were a welcome relief from the 100F late September daytime temperatures. Cathy and her amazing staff saw to our every need. The food was exceptional and the elegant lantern-lit, tablecloth dinners amid the star-lit sky was a highlight of our stay. And our expert guide Bevan ensured that we were treated to the abundant wildlife including elephants, lions, zebra, kudu, sable, giraffe, buffalo and impala. Ngoma provided a great safari experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RastaJew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Please come back with the kids! We'd love to see you again and really appreciate this wonderful feedback.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
215
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

After many bush experiences, we thoroughly enjoyed this special lodge. It's situation is quite magnificent with its wonderful views of the river and its plains. One has a real sense of the space and vast skies about one and the sunsets from both the villa and the main decks were unforgettable. The rooms are well-appointed with most comfortable beds and luxurious bedding. We loved the outdoor showers and our own plunge pool to lie beside while we watched a herd of about 40 sable grazing below.
The service was both warm and efficient and the meals varied and delicious. We also thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the deck by the pool under the spectacular Beobab trees and in the pub with its special sunset views.
Its easy access to the Choebe National Park where one still encounters great herds of elephant, buffalo, hippo, zebra, impala and so many other species, is a great advantage!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife, Judy, and I staid at the lodge for two nights. It was fantastic! Judy Jr. And her staff were welcoming, warm, and attended to all our needs and questions. It was a " Cheers" type of environment. The Chef came to our table before dinner to tell us that evening's menu, which was a really nice touch. The food and presentation were excellent. My wife had a special "birthday" and the Chef prepared a birthday cake, and the staff serenaded her with music and dance. Judy even joined in the dancing. It was a beautiful evening!!!

Vincent was our guide on the safaris and he was great! We saw a female Leopard over 2 days, Wildebeest, Hippos, Elephants, Kudus, Baboons, Cape Buffalo, etc.. Vincent explained the habitat of the various animals and their capabilities. He also had a wonderful sense of humor and wanted to ensure we saw a variety of animals. Vincent told us about where he grew up and life in a village. We learned a lot from him.

The time we spent was priceless. If we knew beforehand we would have extended our stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Ngoma was our first stop after the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, our first real safari experience.
Ohmigosh, wow, what a place! Our villa was gorgeous, comfortable, and safe with stunning views into Namibia that were filled with various animals at all times. If the Four Seasons built a lodge in Chobe, it would look like this!

The staff was terrific, led by Kathy, and we were really fortunate to have Bevan as our guide. He was absolutely awesome, a very friendly and warm person who was an absolute pro. He took us on several game drives, seeing tons of elephants, zebras, giraffes, impala, and an occasional lion, and took us to an outing on a boat among a lot of hippos and other animals.

We enjoyed our time at Ngoma immensely and would highly recommend the lodge to anyone in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacalyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stay at Vumbura Plains just right before we move to this hotel. Although this hotel has nice view of the field and river but it isnt comparable to Vumbura Plains. The room is much smaller, the food wasnt as good but nothing to complain. I left my sunglasses in the room and went for a drive in the morning. Of course, I have no proof that their staff took it, but I know exactly where I left it at in the room before I when to bed the night before.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheriton Bishop
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this wonderful lodge in the Chobe, Botswana to share our experiences for a friend's special birthday. The game viewing from the River and on land were simply awe inspiring! The food was exquisite and so well presented. In all we were made to feel very special by all the staff. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DodgyCheritonBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time on the Chobe. It really is a magnificent river and we are glad that we could share it with you from the wonderful Ngoma Safari Lodge...

Hope to see you soon!

Cathy Rann
Ngoma Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a place! Each suite is a self-contained masterpiece and the glass wall in each room overlooks the river gorge from atop the cliff. The elephants and game wander by the lodge on their way to drink from the river below, and SO MANY ELEPHANTS! The game drives were astounding, with amazing views and terrific game-viewing. The food and service were outstanding.

Room Tip: Every room is private & unattached
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Lynn. Wow - that is so special to read. The bush certainly dose have that special feel and sometimes it just continues to live in you, well after you leave. We are so glad Ngoma could facilitate this experience. See you again soon!

Cathy Rann
Ngoma Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
47.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
29.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
34.5 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
34.9 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
31.6 mi away
Mwandi View
Mwandi View
#1 of 1 in Kavimba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoma Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoma Safari Lodge

Property: Ngoma Safari Lodge
Address: Kasane | Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park 7800, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngoma Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngoma Safari Lodge is a 5 star bush property located in Northern Botswana within the Chobe Forest Reserve. Accommodation available include 8 luxury suites that overlook the Chobe river and Caprivi floodplain. Designed with an emphasis on space, peace and luxury, from here you will experience the abundance of wildlife in Chobe and relax in your own secluded sanctuary, or dine al fresco on our elevated deck with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ngoma Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing