We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream of a lifetime!”
Review of Ngoma Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I have never felt so welcomed to a resort! Mina and Gavin made every moment of our 3 day stay perfect! They truly made us feel like guests in their own home. We felt so honored when they accompanied us on our Sunday afternoon game drive. The private bungalows are luxurious and the panoramic view is beyond description ! The food was phenomenal! Bevan, our guide, was outstanding! He was so knowledgable and persistent. His passion for wildlife was evident on each drive. We so enjoyed dining with him to hear more about his dreams and passion for Botswana. The sunset silhouttes of herds of elephants, buffalo, zebras, kudus, giraffes journeying across the horizon will be the memories we will always treasure about our dream of a lifetime African adventure! Ngoma Safari Lodge made that happen!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Susan, your description of your stay at our Ngoma luxury lodge vividly brings alive your excitement and adventure in one of the wildest, most remote and greatest safari spots on earth. This is the stuff Trip Advisor researchers love to read - the real passion. Bevan sends his warm greetings and we all thank you for such a wonderful endorsement. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Ngoma Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 nights here so much that we will certainly return. The setting overlooking the Chobe River was superb and so much care has been taken to ensure that it is an amazing experience. We were made to feel very special, as the resort only caters for limited numbers. We loved the gracious staff, the food, the accommodation, and the setting overlooking the Chobe River, but the most amazing thing is the wildlife. There is a constant stream of incredible animals wandering in front of the resort and nearby. Ngoma's safari trips are a stand-out, with such knowledgeable and skilled guides providing an incredibly exciting experience. We can't speak highly enough of our guide Bevan, in particular, who tracked down so many wonderful animals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you Colleen for such an enthusiastic five-star review and for expressing your visit as an "amazing EXPERIENCE" not just a routine safari. At almost 12,000 sq kms the Chobe National Park is about half the size of Belgium and contains the world's greatest wild elephant herds - about 45,000 - apart from so many other animals. Those who visit Ngoma, which is set apart from the crowded scenario near Kasane town, soon come to appreciate that this is one of the finest wildlife experiences to be found anywhere - and all from the luxurious comfort of Ngoma overlooking that glorious vista. Bevan is getting so many top-rated reviews and we are very proud of him and our entire team of passionate guides. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everything about Ngoma was spectacular. The view was unbelievably beautiful--like something straight out of a movie. The people--the locals and especially the staff and guides--were probably the nicest people I have ever met. The food was phenomenal and SO fresh and healthy. Our guide, Bevan, showed us so many incredible, unforgettable things--he could see any animal and name everything about it about five minutes before the rest of us could even spot it! Bevan, as well as the Lodge managers and every single staff member, made the Lodge feel like home and by the end of our few days there, felt like family. I wish I could have stayed forever!! Our little lodges were beyond gorgeous--beautifully designed to match the even more beautiful view. The safaris exceeded expectations in every aspect. My whole experience there was amazing and I only wish I could have stayed longer. For anyone hoping to experience Africa up close and personal (and in luxurious comfort, too), this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ailish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We've had some golden reviews Ailish, but you can't get much more potent than your statement that your visit to Ngoma was the best experience of your life. Yes, we're proud of our little luxury gem in the middle of the African wilderness and your review will be a powerful tonic to encourage others to make it their choice in the Chobe.The best properties to link with at Victoria Falls, just 120 kms away on good roads, are Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and The Victoria Falls Safari Club. Catchy Rann. Relief manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our group of 12 spent three days here in May 2013. The lodges are first rate accommodations with great views overlooking the Chobe River. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The daily food buffets were excellent and had many choices.

The safari jeeps are comfortable and the guides do an excellent job of finding the rights spots where the animals roam. We saw plenty of elephants, giraffes, kudu, zebra, water buffalo, and many others. We unfortunately only saw a few lions, and no rhinos or cheetah.

Just a note that during the same week we stayed here, we also had friend who stayed at the
Idube Game Reserve in the Sabi Sands (South Africa). From the picture they took it seem like they observed many animals and in particular lions, cheetah, and rhinos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Hello Gil in California. Thank you for your 4-star review and for your observations that I will happily address.The safari experiences on most South African game lodges is very different to that of the Chobe and it would not be bad to do both on a trip to Africa to feel the contrast.

SA conservancies are generally quite small and contained, in comparison to Chobe, but on several you may well spot the Big 5 during your stay, though in smaller numbers than Chobe. Chobe is where the expansive African floodplains exist and the area is almost 12,000 sq kms which is half the size of Belgium. Chobe is host to the world's largest elephant herds (about 45,000) and in the dry season you will also witness thousands of buffalo and zebra as well as so many other species Chobe holds many more lions than any SA conservancy, it's that the area is so large and unfenced - the authentic wilds. I hope that's a good tip - go to an SA conservancy to see the Big 5 in an encapsulated area...then head to Chobe for the real Africa, especially in July - November when it is truly spectacular. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as the final camp of a 3 camp safari in Botswana. Once again there were absoutely no complaints about this stay except it should have been longer. The accommodation is relatively new so is therefore in excellent condition. Rooms have fantastic views over the Chobe river. Service, food, and game drives are faultless. The location of the lodge is at the quieter end of the park so there are fewer vehicles and more game. Make sure you take the boat trip as one of your activities for close up views of the hipo's.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anothermarraontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Ngoma and for specifically mentioning that your room afforded a fantastic view over the Chobe River, floodplains and animals. Indeed all eight stand-alone luxury pavilions offer the same glorious vista that so delights all our guests. You also make a good and worthy point that Ngoma is located at the "quieter" end of the Park, away from the buzz that surrounds Kasane town. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent three incredible days at Ngoma Lodge and loved it! It was an exceptionally luxurious lodge and the staff was so happy and friendly. The lodge was very spacious and designed so beautifully. The meals were so delicious and creatively prepared. Our guide Bevan was very knowledgeable about the area, animal behavior and tracking them. Our family of 7 was sorry to leave Bevan and this beautiful retreat. We really hope to come back one day and we highly recommend the Ngoma Safari Lodge. An truly intimate 5 star safari lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Hello Lisa, your profile photo kayaking says it all - you love the adventure of life! Thanks for this great review and enthusing about your incredible days at Ngoma. Bevan and the team of guides have been receiving special praise lately and are thrilled to be so acclaimed. They all have a real passion for the bush, the environment and for their jobs in delighting our Ngoma guests. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here with my family for three nights & we all wished we could've stayed longer. This lodge was FANTASTIC! From the luxurious rooms to the friendly staff, very delicious food, a wonderful guide to show us around & the wildlife surrounding you, this place won my heart. Our guide drove us around Chobe National Park where we saw hundreds of animals... elephants, zebra, lions, giraffes, hippos, and the list goes on and on. The lodge is located right in the middle of the African bush which really gives you the "safari" feeling as far as location goes, which was wonderful. The rooms were beautifully designed - split between the bathroom/shower and bed - lots of space! And the food was some of the best food I've had in my entire life! and the wait staff is very friendly and accommodating, which makes the dining experience even better!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you Sarah for your full-house of five stars for your Ngoma review. Your superlatives we know will also win the hearts and minds of those who are researching on Trip Advisor about where to go on their African safari. Our chefs are also proud of the acclaim you give them and this makes us all "reach for the stars" even more to please all our international guests. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
47.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 22 in Chobe National Park
267 reviews
29.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 22 in Chobe National Park
284 reviews
34.5 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#18 of 22 in Chobe National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.9 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#12 of 22 in Chobe National Park
131 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
135 reviews
34.9 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 22 in Chobe National Park
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoma Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoma Safari Lodge

Address: Kasane | Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park 7800, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $976 - $2,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngoma Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngoma Safari Lodge is a 5 star bush property located in Northern Botswana within the Chobe Forest Reserve. Accommodation available include 8 luxury suites that overlook the Chobe river and Caprivi floodplain. Designed with an emphasis on space, peace and luxury, from here you will experience the abundance of wildlife in Chobe and relax in your own secluded sanctuary, or dine al fresco on our elevated deck with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ngoma Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing