We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the Best Experience of my Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ngoma Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Experience of my Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everything about Ngoma was spectacular. The view was unbelievably beautiful--like something straight out of a movie. The people--the locals and especially the staff and guides--were probably the nicest people I have ever met. The food was phenomenal and SO fresh and healthy. Our guide, Bevan, showed us so many incredible, unforgettable things--he could see any animal and name everything about it about five minutes before the rest of us could even spot it! Bevan, as well as the Lodge managers and every single staff member, made the Lodge feel like home and by the end of our few days there, felt like family. I wish I could have stayed forever!! Our little lodges were beyond gorgeous--beautifully designed to match the even more beautiful view. The safaris exceeded expectations in every aspect. My whole experience there was amazing and I only wish I could have stayed longer. For anyone hoping to experience Africa up close and personal (and in luxurious comfort, too), this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We've had some golden reviews Ailish, but you can't get much more potent than your statement that your visit to Ngoma was the best experience of your life. Yes, we're proud of our little luxury gem in the middle of the African wilderness and your review will be a powerful tonic to encourage others to make it their choice in the Chobe.The best properties to link with at Victoria Falls, just 120 kms away on good roads, are Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and The Victoria Falls Safari Club. Catchy Rann. Relief manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
207
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our group of 12 spent three days here in May 2013. The lodges are first rate accommodations with great views overlooking the Chobe River. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The daily food buffets were excellent and had many choices.

The safari jeeps are comfortable and the guides do an excellent job of finding the rights spots where the animals roam. We saw plenty of elephants, giraffes, kudu, zebra, water buffalo, and many others. We unfortunately only saw a few lions, and no rhinos or cheetah.

Just a note that during the same week we stayed here, we also had friend who stayed at the
Idube Game Reserve in the Sabi Sands (South Africa). From the picture they took it seem like they observed many animals and in particular lions, cheetah, and rhinos.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Gil in California. Thank you for your 4-star review and for your observations that I will happily address.The safari experiences on most South African game lodges is very different to that of the Chobe and it would not be bad to do both on a trip to Africa to feel the contrast.

SA conservancies are generally quite small and contained, in comparison to Chobe, but on several you may well spot the Big 5 during your stay, though in smaller numbers than Chobe. Chobe is where the expansive African floodplains exist and the area is almost 12,000 sq kms which is half the size of Belgium. Chobe is host to the world's largest elephant herds (about 45,000) and in the dry season you will also witness thousands of buffalo and zebra as well as so many other species Chobe holds many more lions than any SA conservancy, it's that the area is so large and unfenced - the authentic wilds. I hope that's a good tip - go to an SA conservancy to see the Big 5 in an encapsulated area...then head to Chobe for the real Africa, especially in July - November when it is truly spectacular. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as the final camp of a 3 camp safari in Botswana. Once again there were absoutely no complaints about this stay except it should have been longer. The accommodation is relatively new so is therefore in excellent condition. Rooms have fantastic views over the Chobe river. Service, food, and game drives are faultless. The location of the lodge is at the quieter end of the park so there are fewer vehicles and more game. Make sure you take the boat trip as one of your activities for close up views of the hipo's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anothermarraontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Ngoma and for specifically mentioning that your room afforded a fantastic view over the Chobe River, floodplains and animals. Indeed all eight stand-alone luxury pavilions offer the same glorious vista that so delights all our guests. You also make a good and worthy point that Ngoma is located at the "quieter" end of the Park, away from the buzz that surrounds Kasane town. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent three incredible days at Ngoma Lodge and loved it! It was an exceptionally luxurious lodge and the staff was so happy and friendly. The lodge was very spacious and designed so beautifully. The meals were so delicious and creatively prepared. Our guide Bevan was very knowledgeable about the area, animal behavior and tracking them. Our family of 7 was sorry to leave Bevan and this beautiful retreat. We really hope to come back one day and we highly recommend the Ngoma Safari Lodge. An truly intimate 5 star safari lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Lisa, your profile photo kayaking says it all - you love the adventure of life! Thanks for this great review and enthusing about your incredible days at Ngoma. Bevan and the team of guides have been receiving special praise lately and are thrilled to be so acclaimed. They all have a real passion for the bush, the environment and for their jobs in delighting our Ngoma guests. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here with my family for three nights & we all wished we could've stayed longer. This lodge was FANTASTIC! From the luxurious rooms to the friendly staff, very delicious food, a wonderful guide to show us around & the wildlife surrounding you, this place won my heart. Our guide drove us around Chobe National Park where we saw hundreds of animals... elephants, zebra, lions, giraffes, hippos, and the list goes on and on. The lodge is located right in the middle of the African bush which really gives you the "safari" feeling as far as location goes, which was wonderful. The rooms were beautifully designed - split between the bathroom/shower and bed - lots of space! And the food was some of the best food I've had in my entire life! and the wait staff is very friendly and accommodating, which makes the dining experience even better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you Sarah for your full-house of five stars for your Ngoma review. Your superlatives we know will also win the hearts and minds of those who are researching on Trip Advisor about where to go on their African safari. Our chefs are also proud of the acclaim you give them and this makes us all "reach for the stars" even more to please all our international guests. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent time in 5 different lodges and this was the most luxurious. The cabins are not only very well appointed but VERY large. The split level is brilliant, giving the huge bathroom it's own space while making the lodge feel even larger than it is.

But we go to Africa for the Safari, right? Well, that was excellent as well. I give extra props to the water safari which I was not able to choose at any other lodge.

I would recommend this lodge in a second.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
As I write Jordan I am truly proud that of the last 11 Trip Advisor reviews for Ngoma and a possible total of 55 stars we have earned 54. This speaks volumes for the sheer delight that our international guests experience here and we feel humbled and privileged. Yes, SAFARI is THE word and Chobe is unquestionably one of the great game parks of Africa offering, as you point out, the added dimension of an incredible safari experience by boat. You went to five lodges on your African sojourn...only Ngoma offered the water...I'm sure researchers will take keen note of this very important fact. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I Stayed for 2 nights at Ngoma and everything from the food - service - rooms were fantastic.
even though you felt you were in the middle of nowehere you still had the comforts of 5* luxury.
a must do experience!~

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Farzanah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It's our 50th Trip Advisor review for Ngoma...and very proudly another 5 Star rating! for such a milestone! Thank you in Johannesburg for providing such an honour. Of our 50 reviews 42 have been a full five stars and that inspires us to try harder and harder. We thank our guests who have all become our friends because they share our passion for this very special place. Happily, too, Ngoma has been awarded the 2013 Certificate of Excellence as one of the top 10% of properties the world over.Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
47.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
29.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
34.5 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 24 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
34.9 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
31.6 mi away
Mwandi View
Mwandi View
#1 of 1 in Kavimba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoma Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoma Safari Lodge

Property: Ngoma Safari Lodge
Address: Kasane | Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park 7800, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngoma Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngoma Safari Lodge is a 5 star bush property located in Northern Botswana within the Chobe Forest Reserve. Accommodation available include 8 luxury suites that overlook the Chobe river and Caprivi floodplain. Designed with an emphasis on space, peace and luxury, from here you will experience the abundance of wildlife in Chobe and relax in your own secluded sanctuary, or dine al fresco on our elevated deck with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ngoma Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing