We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
78
8
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pangolin photo open fire kasane airport the camp manager hot water game viewing two nights comfortable bed no electricity travel planner highlights include battery powered running water second stop entire safari safari experience elephants swimming
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 90 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2015

We spent two nights at andBeyond Chobe Under Canvas as part of our safari tour through Botswana and South Africa. It was truly a fantastic experience! Of all the safari camps and lodges in which we stayed, Chobe Under Canvas was the most unique; it really felt like we had Chobe National Park to ourselves. The tents are spacious and comfortable, and we were pleasantly surprised by the ensuite bathroom, complete with a flushing toilet and hot-bucket shower. The food and drinks were also excellent, which exceeded our expectations, considering our location within the Park. Our wildlife experience at Chobe Under Canvas was also amazing. We will never forget falling asleep at night listening to the sounds of lions roaring in the distance and elephants walking through the bush!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Otters14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2015

We spent three nights in Chobe, the accommodation was certainly rustic, but extremely comfortable and the attentiveness of the staff certainly compensated for any lack of comfort. The food was excellent, and the staff all delightful.

Our daily two game drives we both rewarding and exciting, our guide KD was exceptional and he certainly made our trip most memorable, I can't wait to do it all again.

Room tip: Ralax and let yourself be spolt
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank tomuPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd trip with andBeyond, and we were at serangati under canvass with them too. Somehow the service seems to be lacking and not to the standard as in Serengeti. Its not bad but I may have got use to their high standards. Then again from there I went to 2 other andBeyond sites no doubt its a permanent Lodge but I think the service needs to be up or the people there should be trained on what andbeyound service level should be.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank nusadua2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

A truly remarkable to experience. From the wonderful host, Robson,to the awesome game viewing this was an amazing vacation. Despite having to move every 5 days the tents were comfortable with plenty of hot water for a shower and the meals excellent. It was incredible to sleep in the park and be out viewing game before and after everyone else has left the park. We had the most beautiful leopard sighting and more elephants than we have ever seen before. Chobe is an amazing park and a very special place to go. 'This is Chobe'

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank ShanghaiKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I returned from Chobe Under Canvas on the 5th of july. It was such an extraordinary experience. There are 5 tents which are located IN the Chobe National Park. The pros of this are that you get to be out in the park BEFORE all of the other vehicles arrive. And Beyond does such a wonderful job catering/taking care of their guests. Our travel planner, Janine Crawley, told me this would be a "less luxurious" camp experience than other other And Beyond safaris but I found it to be soooo much fun. There is no electricity and no running water but I found that i didn't really miss it for our 3 nights at this camp. The FIFA world Cup was going on and Robson kept us up to date on the scores. For 3 nights we enjoyed our campfire TV, the company of our camp mates, gorgeous stars and the constant sounds of animals. We even had a 'resident' leopard walk through our camp during dinner.

TIPS: obviously bring sunscreen and insect repellent. If you are a woman, take a shower and get your hair washed the morning you arrive to Chobe. That way the lack of electricity won't be much of a problem:-) There is a nice warm bucket shower that is ready for you when you arrive back from afternoon safari but if you have long/difficult hair you may not want to wash it. Bring a small flashlight..the tents are super dark when you need to use your flush toilet during the night. Bring a book or magazine for down time because you may not be able to use your ipad or kindle if your battery dies. You can charge things in the Land Cruiser but sometimes it's just easier to have a real book to read.

I'm not the camping type but i would so go back to Chobe Under Canvas!!

Room tip: All of the tents are the same.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paljoey1075BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews