We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Chobe Under Canvas
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TraveLodge(Kasane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
75
6
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
6
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen firepangolin photohot waterreal toiletgame viewingno electricitycomfortable bedtravel plannerlions roar at nightauthentic safari experiencebattery poweredthe camp managertwo nightssecond stopentire safarielephants swimmingthe river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 85 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had an incredible time staying at Chobe Under Canvas. First, And Beyond was a very easy company to work with and everything was coordinated throughout our trip perfectly. We absolutely loved our guide, who was incredibly knowledgeable. My husband and I like to birdwatch, and our guide was incredibly knowledgeable when it came to birdwatching, which definitely extended to other areas of expertise. The camp itself was very comfortable with many staff members to serve your every need. The tent is lovely and feels permanent, it is hard to believe they are only there for 5 days. There is a normal toilet, a very nice shower and a full king bed. The huge advantage is that you are first out in the morning and last in at night because the others have to travel to their lodges! And believe me- you want to be out seeing the game, because there is a lot to see!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was a true glamping (glamourous tenting) experience!

Chobe felt like Jurrasic Park! So many animals, what a great safari experience! As soon as we arrived we started to laugh, smile, relax and enjoy this incredible part of the world! Robson and his team made us feel immediately welcome and at home, the food was delicious... amazing given we where in the middle of nowhere, in tents that move every 5 days! The tents comfortable... clean and more than we expected! The friendly wake up call with warm water to wash and after our morning safari, showers with the hint of smoke in the water that was both relaxing and reviving... what a perfect way to begin our time in Botswana... a special thank you to Cleo (our &beyond agent) for making this dream a reality!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I am truly amazed that &beyond could move the camp every 5 days and still to offer hot bucket shower, toilet, comfy bed… in Chobe National Park where elephants would pass by our dining area at dinner time!!

Staff was friendly and with good knowledge of animals. No off-road is allowed in Chobe, however, our guide still tried his best to 'find' us the animals. We were almost late for going back to our camp for the lions. Food was generally good and meet our expectation.

The stay was perfect til the very last moment. The staff cheerfully farewell us. The only disappointment was after the departure from Chobe under canvas to our next &beyond camp that no water or lunch was organised during the connection. Thus, we asked to be taken to buy water and lunch in Kasane before flying to Okavango Delta.

If you would like to do real camping, Under Canvas is a must in Chobe!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candida T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Safari - exceptional. Saw many lions, zebra, elephants, hippo, giraffes, water buffalo, puffer snake and baboons. Off road safari is not allowed at Chobe. Disho is a wonderful guide and tracker.

Food - delicious. Everything is cooked fresh including the bread. All meals are cooked and eaten outside.

Accommodation - good considering its in tents. There is a real toilet and hot bucket showers and real beds.

Hospitality - treated like queens!

Scariest moments - surrounded by 10 lions during dinner, seeing the puff adder snake (deadly), huge bugs, elephant charge

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank FionaEmbrun_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I love Chobe under canvas and this was my second visit. The tents are basic but comfortable but bugs do creep in ...doesn't bother me but some people freak out.
What is so amazing about this camp is the standard of care which all the staff give with minimal resources. Eating out after the evening game drive at a beautifully laid table with food of such high quality was an unforgettable experience. Robson and the rest of the staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Nothing is too much trouble.
The game viewing is excellent with a huge diversity of animals and birds. The boat cruise was great and gave a different dimension to the park.
The downsides to Chobe (not the camp) are the number of vehicles in the park. We found some lion cubs and sat watching them and within twenty minutes there were at least a dozen 4wds park in and around them. The lionesses were trying to lead them away across the road but couldn't because the vehicles had completely blocked the way.
I would suggest booking Chobe under Canvas as a first camp and then moving on to some of the concessions which have fewer people and better access to the game.
That said, I will be going back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beelady58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews