We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
41
8
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
8
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bucket shower tented camp game drives toilet tents leopard wildlife campsite waterhole guide bush luxury
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 55 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was one of the most memorable holidays I have ever had - even with losing our luggage - the experience with the &beyond team at Savute under canvas was spectacular. The camps were by no means basic - and the tents with en-suites complete with bucket showers were comfortable and a new experience. Food was amazing - the chef somehow managed to bake fabulous cakes in a tin oven on an open fire! The guide was superb as well, and we were able to see loads on each safari run we did. Will go back again for sure. Might have to starve myself beforehand next time though - they are definitely feeders!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurplewallLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

During our recent visit to Botswana, we stayed at four of the &Beyond camps and although we loved all of them, Savute Under Canvas was our favorite! All of the staff members were very attentive and the meals they prepared for us were incredible. Our guide, Samuel, loves his job and it shows! We have never had a more incredible wildlife experience and were fortunate enough to see 6 different leopards and the resident super pride of lions! If you need air conditioning, running water and walls between you and Mother Nature then Savute Under canvas is not for you. If you are looking for a once in a lifetime African experience that you will never forget then you need to visit this magical place!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cal_ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This part of the Chobe National Park looks as though an atom bomb has hit. We were there in early spring and all the vegetation was eaten and destroyed by elephants. The landscape was mostly sticks sticking out of grey dust. It was really quite shocking. As this camp moves every several days perhaps it was just the current location, but I don't know. The weather was unbearably hot-103! There were NO solar fans or anyway to cool down and as the morning game drive ended at 10:00 AM and the afternoon game drive began at 4:00 PM we were forced to either deal with the flies at the outdoor tables or lay in your tent for 6 hours during that intense heat. Not fun at all.
In the evening, the temperature cooled down amazingly and we were at least able to sleep quite comfortably- and even needed an extra blanket. In the early morning you were treated to hot coffee or tea and biscuits brought right into the tent, which were quite generous in size and accommodations. There was a flushing toilet, and a bucket shower which was more like a rain shower.
Because the tents move within the National Park, the game viewing is limited to the roads. You cannot leave the roads to see the animals. This turned out to be rather limiting. You could see that there were large herds of animals, but they were WAY in the distance and there was no way to get to them.
In general. I would say, skip this camp. There are other & Beyond locations right on the water in the Delta that would have been MUCH nicer to spend 2 days of our 12 days on safari.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Savute in late July 2013 Weather was perfect, tent was very comfortable and clean, facilities were great, food was good and plentiful, and staff were efficient, and personable. We loved the cup of coffee at our 5.30am start, the" bush babies " to take on our early morning game drive to keep our hands warm,and our guide, Morgan, who was very knowledgeable about the local area and its wildlife. This led us to a viewing of a pride of 7 lions on our first game drive, who were eating a hippo carcass, closely followed by a leopard and her two juvenile cubs who were fighting over the remains of a spring hare which the young female had caught.! Wow...then lots of other great viewings followed. Thanks to Sam and his team for a great camp experience! It really was "glamorous camping"

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Please please please ignore the negative reviews from several years ago! It almost put us off this camp, but we are so happy we decided to give it a try. We came to this camp after visiting two other more luxurious &beyond camps (more like chalet's to be honest!) and we were not disappointed.

My husband and I travelled here in May and found everything to be wonderful. Bear in mind, this is camping in the wilderness, albeit glamorous camping: you have a shower (heated once per day) and a toilet...and most importantly a lovely double bed! Please note, there is no running water, but you have as much bottled water as you want and jugs of water are provided in your room to wash your hands etc. and the shower bucket is filled every evening with warm water for a nice hot shower.

The food was fantastic- freshly baked bread, rolls, muffins, etc. everyday, fresh fruit, 3 course dinners. The chef gave us a tour of the kitchen and I am thoroughly impressed with the quality and standard of food that can be cooked on a camp fire!

The camp is small and exclusive, you will share meal times with your fellow travellers which is fun, and recount the days adventures around the camp fire with drinks flowing courtesy of the darling "Bee" who couldn't do enough for us!

The game viewing at Savute was the best, you name it, we saw it (except Rhino), including the near extinct wild dogs and a leopard and her 2 cubs...just spectacular!

&Beyond is definitely the best you can get! The food is great and the guides are wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingernutla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews