We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing big cats”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing big cats”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Savute in late July 2013 Weather was perfect, tent was very comfortable and clean, facilities were great, food was good and plentiful, and staff were efficient, and personable. We loved the cup of coffee at our 5.30am start, the" bush babies " to take on our early morning game drive to keep our hands warm,and our guide, Morgan, who was very knowledgeable about the local area and its wildlife. This led us to a viewing of a pride of 7 lions on our first game drive, who were eating a hippo carcass, closely followed by a leopard and her two juvenile cubs who were fighting over the remains of a spring hare which the young female had caught.! Wow...then lots of other great viewings followed. Thanks to Sam and his team for a great camp experience! It really was "glamorous camping"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Please please please ignore the negative reviews from several years ago! It almost put us off this camp, but we are so happy we decided to give it a try. We came to this camp after visiting two other more luxurious &beyond camps (more like chalet's to be honest!) and we were not disappointed.

My husband and I travelled here in May and found everything to be wonderful. Bear in mind, this is camping in the wilderness, albeit glamorous camping: you have a shower (heated once per day) and a toilet...and most importantly a lovely double bed! Please note, there is no running water, but you have as much bottled water as you want and jugs of water are provided in your room to wash your hands etc. and the shower bucket is filled every evening with warm water for a nice hot shower.

The food was fantastic- freshly baked bread, rolls, muffins, etc. everyday, fresh fruit, 3 course dinners. The chef gave us a tour of the kitchen and I am thoroughly impressed with the quality and standard of food that can be cooked on a camp fire!

The camp is small and exclusive, you will share meal times with your fellow travellers which is fun, and recount the days adventures around the camp fire with drinks flowing courtesy of the darling "Bee" who couldn't do enough for us!

The game viewing at Savute was the best, you name it, we saw it (except Rhino), including the near extinct wild dogs and a leopard and her 2 cubs...just spectacular!

&Beyond is definitely the best you can get! The food is great and the guides are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingernutla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our three night stay at Savute Under Canvas exceeded our expectations. The staff, led by Reuben, were helpful and attentive, and fun to be with in the evenings around the fire. Sam gave us lessons on the stars (incredibly bright in the cloudless sky), and Morgan, our guide, was knowledgeable, empathetic, and made every game drive special. Meals were simple but more than adequate. The food was good, and we were well looked after by our butler. Some of the staff and all the guests ate at one table, which we enjoyed.
Our tent, with flush toilet and bucket shower, was quite spacious and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable, with hot water bottles each night. However, our tent was well used and showing signs of age (a zip on the main entrance was very hard to close). There were other indications, (such as outlets for charging camera batteries in our vehicle that were held together with rubber bands) that &Beyond needs to pay more attention to regular maintenance, or replacement, of equipment going forward.
Game drives, our reason for being there, were excellent. Unlike many operators, &Beyond leaves the centre seat in each row unoccupied in their vehicles, and this improves both viewing and comfort. They gave us rugs and hot water bottles to help us cope with 6 degree temperatures in the early morning, and we had morning breaks with coffee, tea and muffins. Game and birds were plentiful, and Morgan made sure we had excellent viewing experiences, covering a lot of ground, and showing us a variety of different vegetation and landscapes.
Savute Under Canvas is recommended, but check the latest reviews to make sure their tents and other equipment are being maintained or replaced as required.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We came to Savute after visiting &Beyond sites in Sandibe and Naxbega. You can ignore the negative reviews from several years ago: as of March, 2013, everything is in excellent order (no, there is still no running water: you are camping! but you have hot water to wash with every morning, fantastic hot showers in the evening and a flush toilet- this is not hardship camping). The food was fantastic- freshly baked bread, rolls, muffins, etc. everyday, fresh fruit, 3 course dinners. The camp site (which varies, depending on what space they are assigned by the park service) was very pleasant with lots of shade trees. Sitting at dinner we could hear hippos in the river to our left and lions calling to our right. Magic.

One of the great things about Savute was the open plains, with huge herds of zebra, elephants, cape buffalo, wildebeast, and plenty of giraffe. We also saw ostriches ;-) This is what our kids were expecting to see when we said that we were going to Botswana! We watched a pride of lions (unsuccessfully) stalk a zebra, but our guide was also fantastic about showing us things such as arrow grass, which bore down into the soil when they are wet, or a grass that if you rub in a little water makes a sudsy soap.

&Beyond is definitely expensive- but we felt that we got value for money at all of the sites we visited. They are one of the most responsible safari operations going- in terms of the environment as well as the communities in which they. They are very well organized, and you can always contact them if you need anything. The food is great. And the guides are exceptionally knowledgable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We spent 2 nights here and had a fantastic time. Reuben and his team took incredible care of us. The tents are clean and comfortable and the food was AMAZING. The food was prepared for us in a small tent by a very talented chef. Fresh bread and cake baked for us daily over an open fire. We didn't see any big cats on our drives but loads of other animals- elephants, zebras, buffalo and loads of beautiful birds. A great experience.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank FrancesBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta/British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

With every passing week I am more aware of what an incredible unforgettable experience this was. (My trip was actually in 2009 but I love it more and more) To think that the camp is required to move every 5 days and they are able to set up flushable toilets, heated water, comfortable king beds with luxurious bedding and then prepare delicious food and try to anticipate and stock anything you might want - in plus 40 degree celsius heat. This truly felt like a safari - obviously you are subject to the dryness or the wetness of the weather and a "lawn" cannot be put in for you. This all added to the adventure. Adventure in tremendous comfort and with delightful "hosts". I will never forget it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberfeulen
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I don't know what people do expect, being in the wild, so close to wildlife and nature. This is one of the best experiences you can have. Amazing, how it is possible to put such amazing food on table in these conditions. The staff is very polite and help you where ever they can. We learned so much from Pat, our guide. We are so happy that we chose this camp !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brentener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.5 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
253 reviews
60.5 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
440 reviews
12.3 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.8 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
39 reviews
87.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
273 reviews
88.8 mi away
Liya Guest Lodge
Liya Guest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chobe National Park
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Savute Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Savute Under Canvas

Property: andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
Address: Savute Region, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — andBeyond Savute Under Canvas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable mobile safari tents with ensuite bathrooms (with flush toilet and steaming hot bucket shower) are positioned at secluded sites in Savute, a remote and wild corner of Chobe National Park. Secluded campsites provide a base for nights under canvas, filled with adventure and discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Savute Under Canvas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Under Canvas Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing