We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats fair price and nice atmosphere”
Review of Glen's Dinette

Glen's Dinette
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Babylon
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Long Island New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good eats fair price and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We love the old fashioned atmosphere and the Blue Monkey Pancakes. To die for. Always a hit. Also try the "Idaho", its a huge pile of breakfast potatoes with eggs cheese and bacon on top. OOOHH YEA!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnowH8er09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In a Hurry”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stopped in with my wife and daughter for quick breastfast and was totally disappointed. the waitress did not listen to what we wanted, theplates were old and scratched.ketchup bottles on the tables were dirty.and the coffe was cold.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Could Use Some Customer Service But Good Food”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was my first visit to the restaurant. I liked the way the counter area was set up for quick service and separate from the main dining area. Good atmosphere.

There was no real host but the waitresses did help seat you as soon as possible. The place was not busy for a mid Saturday morning. Seating was quickly available at 9:30 AM. They have milk on the table rather than cream for your coffee although they bring it when asked. Speaking of asking, words like "I will be glad to get that for you" would be a big improvement here. A 'good morning' or 'how can I help you' would be huge. There is no attitude that prevails but a good one would be well received. I did not feel like they cared if I returned. I had to ask for refill on coffee rather than having it brought by.

As for the food. It was good although the people I was with were served at separate times, weird way to serve food. You would think it would all come to the table at the same time. The food was very warm but not served hot. The food was cooked right. The omelet was oddly prepared.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The 1950's return as you enter Glens. Be prepared to wait, but you will be rewarded with good food and large portions.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sungodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This dinette takes you back to the 50s. The service is good. The wait staff is very kind. However they have made adjustments in their portion sizes. The portions are now smaller than normal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonicaK614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen's Dinette also viewed

Babylon, Long Island
 

Been to Glen's Dinette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing