We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food in the heart of the Babylon village”
Review of Gemelli Ristorante

Gemelli Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Gemelli Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 73 Restaurants in Babylon
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Oak Beach, New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in the heart of the Babylon village”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you haven't been to Gemelli in Babylon, you're missing out on great Italian food in a very cozy and tasteful atmosphere. We've been there a least a half dozen times and have never been disappointed. Great place to eat on a fall/winter Saturday night. Listen carefully to the specials because there's usually at least one or two that will catch your ear. Highly recomended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Owner at Gemelli Ristorante, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Really appreciate the recommendation, John! We're just getting active on TripAdvisor, but it's still great to hear you can always count on us for a nice night out. Looking forward to your next visit.

Our Best,

Patricia and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Very attentive waitstaff however we were dining with "regulars" so I believe we got a little extra special attention. Very accommodating to my kids who asked to order pizza off the lunch menu for dinner. However when I asked to substitute a vegetable for my mashed potatoes due to a dairy restrictions I had to order a different side dish and have the original put aside. The other diners were able to enjoy them so they did not go to waste. All of the food was cooked to perfection and the bread is the real deal. We frequently go to Arthur Avenue for bread an this was right from there. Dessert was great and I was able to have sorbet which is always nice since I often have to skip the dessert menu when it is filled with selections that have cream and/or milk. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachfamilybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Owner at Gemelli Ristorante, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Some time has passed since you left your feedback, but it's still great to hear you were loving everything about your visit with us. Creating an experience that has you coming back for more is a top priority for us, so we're glad you were already planning your next visit. Hope to see you back here soon.

Our Best,

Patricia and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Italian restaurant has been around for a number of years. This renovated previous Sizzler restaurant is run by a family that has had one of the best Italian butcher shops on Long Island. The bottom line is they should have stayed with what they know best running their original success. The restaurant has been very nicely remodeled and would never give you the impression it was once a fast food joint. The service over the years has improved dramatically. They seem to add more tables every year, a mistake, and the noise level is extreme on a busy night. The food itself is average and the prices are as high as some of the better restaurants in the area. My salmon was an extremely small portion and the rice with the shrimp entrée was dry and overcooked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golf472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my girlfriend on a Wednesday night. Unknown to us there was a
singer that night playing old standards. Our waiter was very attentive and fun, we were not
rushed and took our time through the meal. The food was very good and we will go back next time we get together.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Champagne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of our "go -to" places”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

One of the better restaurants in Babylon. The food is always well prepared and the service can't be beat. The wait staff has been with the restaurant for many years and gets to know the customers and always greats the patrons warmly. Whenever we bring guests, the waiters are very attentive to them as well.
The decor is like an Italian villa, cozy and warm with a working fireplace. They always decorate for the season, too. It's fun to go at Christmas time when they have a village set up along the wall.
As for the food, it is never disappointing. They feature a veal chop nightly, a signature dish, and they have great chicken entrees and their fish dishes are excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gemelli Ristorante also viewed

 
Lindenhurst, Long Island
 

Been to Gemelli Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing