We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Treasure!”
Review of Inn at Halona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Halona
Ranked #1 of 1 Zuni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our recent stay at the Inn at Halona was a true surprise! My husband and I felt as though we were staying at a close relative's home. We were in room 22 which is a very cozy and comfortable.There is such attention to detail and guest comfort. Every inch has been considered. The bed was comfortable. The library within this room is quite wonderful. There is a private bathroom with a great shower. Right outside the door is a snack and drink area with complementary snacks, teas and coffee which was appreciated on a cold November night. We also spent time in the common area and visited with some of our fellow guests, some who we had met in the village earlier in the day. Breakfast was cooked to order in a homey kitchen and shared with fellow guests at a dining room table in the common area. At check in we were encouraged to check off whatever items we would like for breakfast. We are frequent visitors to Zuni and will never think twice about spending the night here when there is a room available.

Room Tip: All 8 rooms have accurate descriptions and photos. We hope to eventually try them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guests,

Indeed, a "cold november night" it was.
I am always admiring of the way seasoned travelers like you are able to sum up all the key features of our Inn in just a short paragraph such as your Trip Advisor review… It takes me reams of words to produce the same! Of course I tend to be rather biased in regard to our modest Inn, and wax enthusiastic accordingly. But I simply do agree with everything you say in your well worded review!

The Inn at Halona is indeed a pleasant spot in a very unusual location. Our staff and the Zuni community very much help in making it a welcoming destination despite our limited amenities (only 8 rooms! at the moment) and Zuni's own still limited visitor's services. Most importantly, we think that our village offers the best, most genuine opportunity to get acquainted with a Tribal community within its own Reservation, and corresponding unique lifestyle, traditions and ceremonial practices.

"A true surprise"; that comment appears in TA reviews relatively frequently. Probably on account of the fact that our establishment, located in the heart of the community, features what seems to be just the right balance between standard lodging (in regard to amenities especially) and a format reflecting the lifestyle favored by community members, i.e. busy, sometimes multigenerational family homes in close quarters: thus the "shared dining room table in the common area", a feature that we value and which our Guests surprisingly appreciate as well.

We will appreciate your next visits, and have for a while now, observed that a greater number of Guests are making repeat trips to/through Zuni and the Inn at Halona, often times on their way between home locations in other States, and destinations throughout the Southwestern United States. Aside from visitors who elect to make of Zuni and the Inn at Halona simple, quiet 2/3 day weekends.

- Roger T / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place is very special! Everyone was so nice and genuine. Our rooms were lovely. and the breakfast was delicious. The Zuni People make beautiful crafts and we gladly supported them. We traveled to El Moro National Monument...make sure you visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shustonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guests!

A FAMILY of seasoned travelers, at the Inn at Halona: this deserves special comment here.
We do not get too many visiting families at the Inn at Halona, or for that matter in our community altogether. It probably has to do mostly with the fact that Zuni does not feature much in the way of what might sometimes be expected to be "children and especially teenager friendly activities"... Assorted amusements especially.

BUT, what we have found out , is that travelers who do show up in our Community with children (of all ages) are always outstanding, more purposeful families, in the sense that parents have been willing and able to instill a sense of travel into their children which includes appreciation of other cultures, unsuspected environments & circumstances, independently of the thrills and amenities to be expected and enjoyed... or lack thereof!

It was also a privilege to learn about your wholesome lifestyle, farming and other ancillary activities. A healthy family doing all kinds of healthy things! We do get good people at the Inn at Halona, and you "fit right in", and you are hereby vetted to stay with us again upon traveling through our area again! <g>

- Roger Thomas / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

One of the best B&B places I ever stayed. Very nicely decorated rooms, comfortable beds, and the best breakfast I had within the last month. A good reason to spend a day around Zuni. The breakfast table is a good place to share experiences and get new ideas where to go. Or even spend some time just talking and getting to know other travellers.
If you look up the direction it is not that difficult to find. From the main road follow the sign to the museum and stop at Halona Plaza.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamfhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brief yet detailed review... Always thinking that it would take me - with my enthusiasm for striving to welcome our Guests, and having great fun doing so - a whole lot more space to make the same points...

That breakfast table again... Yes, a setting that encourages easy conversations and fruitful exchanges of travel impressions and tips. All made possible since our Guests seem to become, perhaps even unusually so, ready to thus engage as soon as they enter our premises. Something about the easygoingness that prevails at the Inn at Halona and in our community in general when it comes to "people meeting people"... No pressure!

Ah, some welcome pointers again about directions to the Inn at Halona, Yes, "from the main road", i.e. the only four way stop sign on State Hway 53 through the village, follow the sign South to the great museum A:shiwi A:wan Museum and Heritage Center. Halona Plaza, the food market division of our company and the location of our reception office, soon stands right in front of you!
And, as I have pointed several times elsewhere on Trip Advisor, WATCH OUT for the directions your GPS gives out. If it enjoins you to continue way South past the Halona Plaza building, do not follow... Ask a friendly passer by for directions instead!

- Roger T, Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in October, 2013 and were delighted by the accommodations at the Halona Inn. We were give excellent directions over the phone and had no problem locating the Inn, but without them it would have been a lot more difficult. The rates are modest, and the room we stayed in was really overwhelming in the beauty and decor of the Southwest theme decorations and furnishings. The courtyard surrounding the Inn is very nice, and the people we met were all very friendly. Although there are meals available at the store adjoining the Inn, we walked about 1.5 miles to the only other restaurant in town, Chu chu's, and it was clean, friendly,and had good food at very reasonable prices. The Inn is located pretty much in the center of town, and although we walked quite a bit, it was a little intimidating to see several signs warning that entry was not allowed into this or that part of town without a Zuni guide. Not wanting to be an offense to any of the people we probably curtailed our walking more than we really needed to. Guides are available for hire, however, and I am sure this would be an excellent way to not only see the town but also meet people and learn some more of the Zuni culture and history.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailed comments. First of all, I shall pass around your remark about your pleasant phone conversation with our office Staff, as we have taken to include Trip Advisor Contributors' always well written remarks into our personnel, management and services review process. In that regard, yes indeed, we need to be reminded that it is not so easy to find the Inn at Halona without getting some prior directions.
Also, WARNING to GPS users: normally the information provided by such devices is quite accurate, but we still witness a number of cases where certain GPS mapsets pin point the Inn at Halona some 8 miles SOUTH of its actual location, past a cemetery. Quite worrisome when arriving at night for example! So, be aware: as this reviewer stated, "The Inn is located pretty much in the center of town", just South of State Hway 53 which bisects Zuni. More information on our website.

A very interesting "walking around" experience; yes, there are a number of signs about town, of the more or less standard type found in communities like ours. And, yes, they can project rather ominous messages; the local Visitor Center can certainly assist in inferring their full significance, and so can we at the Inn at Halona (our own staff if composed of Zuni Tribe's members, all well versed in the ways of their community) in our capacity and duty as the sole lodging establishment in the village, and according to Tribal tourism policies.
All in all, it must be noted that as our community has elected to remain relatively open for visitors to get around on their own (as opposed to many other Tribal communities which exhibit far more restrictions in that regard), reliance upon such signage, advice/instructions from the local Visitor Center (505-782-7238) as well as visitors' common sense, are all necessary. It is important to note that such signage often is found near areas of special significance at certain times of the year (and vis à vis Zuni's calendar of ceremonial events) and that indeed, access to and about such areas is limited.

Otherwise, our community has just "signed up" with Main Street

http://www.preservationnation.org/main-street/about-main-street/
http://www.zunitourism.com/mainstreet.htm

which is an initiative that should improve upon visitor information content and delivery, via public bulletin boards strategically located around the community. Stay tuned for this important development!

- Roger T / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This B&B is secluded, not easy to find, but definitely one of the most enjoyable experiences of our entire trip across the country. A huge breakfast at a communal table in a very comfortable common area, cozy and quiet rooms. Roger, the proprietor, is an affable conversationalist, with very high intellect and congeniality, and will arrange for anything you need. The rooms are surrounded by a wonderful, shaded garden with fountains and art. The Zuni town is an education for the average American - in art, history, and society - and the environs can be basically described as very large, breathtaking spaces with fantastic colors and light effects.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guests, to our Inn AND our community,

It is a privilege to be so honored in what appears to be - according to TA's nomenclature, your FIRST review here. And I must say that I admire the brevity and the precision of your prose: it would probably take someone as voluble as I am (and you DO know about that), much more text space to project your focused, valuable and useable points (to other potential Guests).

Yes indeed, "the Zuni town is an education for the average American", especially since it is among all the regional "Pueblo" Native communities, the one which allows for most comfortable quick view into the life of a busy Tribal community. We do not have yet much in the way of "tourism infrastructure" (the Zuni Tribe is working on coming up with its own tourism format), but community members are most generally delighted to learn about visitors and readily or sometimes even more directly engage with them. It is not uncommon for our Guests, to take a walk through the village and come back with great stories about whom they ended up meeting, or what they ended up doing and encountering... More sharing of such wonderful stories about all this at... breakfast time!

Your poetic rendering of our surroundings' description is much appreciated... The cooler temperatures upon us now impose some limits about lounging outdoors in the evenings... But trees and vegetation are still alive with colors. Especially in light of the additional rains we have received this year. September through November - and even early December - are a great time to visit: temperatures are lower, but the ambient light remains marvelous.

- Roger T - Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Inn is truly unique. It is part of an interrelated web of businesses (Inn, deli, grocery) on Halona Plaza. It is also located in a true, living pueblo. Our room on the second floor had windows on three sides; call it a tree house or a pueblo, both fit. It was clean, attractively furnished with local art and craft items, roomy, had all the amenities we could want, and the breakfast was delicious. We stayed on a Saturday night, so missed the museum, visitor's center, and guided tours, though we hope to be able to return some day and enjoy more fully this little gem. The town is friendly, to be sure; Ramona was a most gracious hostess, staff most helpful (when we got lost), and a couple eating near us in the deli twice shook our hands and welcomed us to Zuni. If you have the chance, visit this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Room 4 is great, though you need to climb rather steep steps up one flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

I have already shared your wonderful review with staff... Ramona in particular of course. Especially since we have made Trip Advisor reviews, critiques (always welcome) and suggestions (ditto) an important part of our current as well as new Staff introduction, training and periodic refreshing. Invaluable!

I am always very impressed and deeply grateful about the quality of the people who make the 80 mile (total, both ways - from Gallup) or 140 miles (both ways, from Grants) off Interstate 40 to our Community to pay the Inn a visit. A substantial detour, inasmuch as the rather large state of New Mexico offers a lot of very attractive features, but driving long distances to reach them often being the case!

Yes indeed, our operation is a tightly integrated one, including of course the core businesses you mentioned and that keep us busy, and our Guests... intrigued. Most importantly it is all also well integrated in and with our community and its own many facets and activities. And we pride ourselves for being thus connected and not merely another business with only its own focused aims.

- Roger T / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed the opportunity to stay in the Inn at Halona and travel back in time to the unique town of Zuni. We stayed in Room 23 - full of character and interesting art work. Thank you for providing the welcome coffee, fridge and snacks just down the hall from the room.

We appreciated the high quality of provision & service, however must mention that the 'en suite' separate shower and toilet rooms in Room 23 are both quite small and might cause problems for some. I should also mention the disturbance by dogs barking once or twice in the night. These are only a minor points and should not put anyone off coming to stay at the Inn even if just for one night, if at all possible.

The village museum is excellent, full of local history, free (donations) and just across the square from the hotel.

The tourist gift shops and street vendors vary (some are pushy) - look around and don't pay too much. Some of the local craft work is quite lovely.

We had take-out from the next door grocers - fried chicken, french fries and salad which was very good value. We ate in the Inn's garden. And for breakfast the blue corn pancakes cooked freshly at the Inn were delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for such an informative review (in all its aspects) from abroad.
Indeed it is fair to state that Zuni and the Inn at Halona are reasonably well positioned domestically - in print (all major American guide books, and their translations abroad) as well as on the Internet - but not so well elsewhere abroad, even though we manage to get visitors from all manners of countries (including Latvia, Lithuania this summer - a good opportunity to revisit the history of the defunct Soviet Bloc and the Baltic nations' momentous role in it) .

Of special note is your mention of the sizes of the bathroom spaces (separate toilet and shower facilities) in Room 23 which you occupied. Guests have occasionally commented about the limited sized facilities as "the head", referring to the nautical term employed to designate such spaces. As i am still discovering a few terms in the English language, I was not aware of this articular one. I checked its definition and especially its origin - which of course i find to be quite unsavory (the origin of the term, that is!) and fortunately not directly applicable to Room 23... But head sounds mysteriously good, even "airplane-size facilities" or "water closets", as other Guests have suggested in humorous sympathy!
I do appreciate your gallantly qualifying this detail as a "minor point". NOTE: adjacent Room 22 also is equipped with similarly sized facilities, originally all reclaimed from what was a rather large closet space between the two rooms.

Ah, the dogs... "Rez Dogs" as they are well known amongst Native American communities.
A nuisance occasionally. Not too disturbing most of the time, they do congregate here and then, in sudden impulses to hold meetings at night in several areas of the village; the corresponding barking resonates freely through parts of the village which of course does not exhibit much noise (traffic or otherwise) at night in any case.
A national initiative, called NAVS - native American Veterinary Services - does come to the Pueblo twice a year, spends almost a week here each time (comprised of volunteer vets, veterinary medicine professors, veterinary students, all usually affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania), and spays and neuters every warm quadruped body in sight, on the loose or brought in by local folks. It is starting to make a difference in the population of cats and dogs.... Stay tuned for improvement!

NOTE: as to the street vendors, good point. They can be insistent but it remains the visitor's privilege to elect not to entertain their offers to sell the items they made. No hard feelings if visitors decline to purchase good on the streets!

- Roger T - Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Halona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Halona

Address: 23b Pia Mesa Road, Zuni, NM 87327
Location: United States > New Mexico > Zuni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zuni
Price Range: $79 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Halona 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Halona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing