We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep in the Heart of the Pueblo”
Review of Inn at Halona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Halona
Ranked #1 of 1 Zuni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Deep in the Heart of the Pueblo”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a totally unique property affording comfort and warmth to weary travelers. The inn is filled with local Zuni art, and Roger and the staff provide tips and ideas for seeing the area like a local. Because each room is unique, be sure to read about them on the comprehensive website. We have stayed in all the rooms that have a connected--not shared--bathroom. Everything is squeaky clean and designed to welcome the traveler, and it all works, even the wifi! One of the best traits about this place is the incredible breakfast. Be sure to order the blue corn pancakes, and joke with the cook.

Room Tip: Be sure to peruse the website for room amenities--they are all different. Room 21 has a private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to count you a another of our distingished Guests (ALL of them that is!)... You are such an experienced traveler and your heartfelt comments are most welcome. Most importantly, you have detected and appreciated what we strive to project: a good insight into our community, its life, its people... And the laughter which permeates our lifestyle here!
- Roger T, Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    36
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
53
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It had been 15 years since last visiting Zuni. What a delight to learn about the "new" Inn at Halona located in the heart of the village. Even though the Inn is new, the building where it's located might be a century old. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was to die for. There was more food at breakfast, all pre-selected at check-in, than one person could eat. But, I did clean my plate. The Zuni staff were friendly and engaged our 2 grandchildren. The kids loved Zuni and claimed it to be the highlight of their SW trip. One downside is a cat that has access to the Inn during morning breakfast. If you have cat issues, you may want to consider another alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
First and foremost, it is always an honor for us to welcome families, with children that is. It initially puzzles us that travelers would come to a locale such as Zuni, devoid of obvious tourism attractions susceptible to entertain fickle, restless children in particular.
BUT the point is that your grandchildren are apart from the mass of such ordinary ones. it denotes attentive parenting and grandparenting indeed. We are happy to have met the challenge, once again, of having successfully exposed young ones to the intricacies of Tribal, Southwest US life and people.
Ah, the two CATS... Always attentive to incoming Guests as they cross the gate to the Inn... Especially those who exhibit sympathy toward them... They attempt (sometimes succeed) surreptitiously (sneakily!) to enter the building at b'fast time... And we eventually quickly shoo them out once we notice them: and they KNOW the way out!!!
Also, I explain them that they may THINK they are French cats (in reference to pets - dogs mostly of course - accompanying French people to cafés and bistros and kept nearby during meals, leashes tied to the tables!) BUT, this is not France and its loose café policies...
AND, most importantly, they know they are prohibited from Rooms and they uphold that policy!
- Roger Thomas / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Inn at Halona is a surprisingly quaint and classy little B&B in a completely unexpected place- the rundown and impoverished little town of Zuni. Roger (French from Lyon and pronounced Rojay) is a most welcoming and friendly host who adds touches of Zuni, Navajo and Hopi decore throughout the inn mixed with European touches and modern American appliances (TV, coffee makers etc.) Rooms are comfortable and quiet and Roger generously provides goodies and snacks for guest. Then there is breakfast which includes a vast array of wonderful choices like fresh fruit, smoothies, omlettes, french toast, croissants...you name it. Through our travels around the world we rarely have experienced a more sumptuous breakfast than the one at the inn- making the reasonable nightly rate a true bargain.
Come to Zuni to check out the kind and friendly Zuni people, their culture and purchase some of their magificent jewellry and carvings. Be aware that there is really only one restaurant in town called Chu Chu's although it is surprisingly good and affordable. A deli bar also provides a few possible options in the General Store next door to the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richjacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your concise, excellent review. We especially appreciate your comments about our breakfast... And you did not mention the Blue Corn Pancakes yet, which I am sure you sampled!
You emphasize the possibility our location offers to get in touch with local people and learn about the lifestyle of a typical Tribal Reservation community. In that regard, your remark about the, say "rural" character of our surroundings is taken seriously: in fact, the village and its leadership are in the process of aligning themselves with the Main Street movement, an initiative that make suggestions for and facilitate implementation of municipal beautification and revitalization projects... So, we are anxious to see improvements in the way the village presents itself to visitors! Stay tunes!!
- Roger T - Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After staying in several fairly luxurious B & B's, we stayed at this Inn on the Zuni Pueblo. We chose the room because it had a private bath, a not too steep staircase, and a queen bed (although this queen was on the slender side). We had to be careful rising from the bed to enter the tiny bathroom - careful to not bump our heads on the slanted ceiling. The door to the bathroom had a cutout of a crescent moon so one could see in as well as out. The room was cabin-like with a Pendleton blanket on the bed, beautiful Talavera sink accessories and a flat screen TV that brought in many channels. We were given menus to check off what we wanted for breakfast. The food the next morning was delicious and we were provided with whatever we requested including the perfectly made blue corn pancakes by a very friendly staff. There is a not too fancy but quite decent and very clean restaurant within two miles (Chu-Chu's) but not much else for miles. There were two downsides to our stay. First, at around 4 AM several dogs began barking incessantly, and second the surrounding Zuni living conditions were not pleasant and sad. Rain had arrived not long before we did and several of the streets were muddy. Nevertheless, I would recommend the INN for a different overnight experience.

Room Tip: Read the website descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowlby324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Certainly a "Different Experience" as you put it so well...
In many respects. We are located in the middle of the village and this does allow for an "unmasked" view upon a Native community's life, and, most importantly, its people and culture. Many other Native Reservation communities, better equipped in tourism infrastructure, smoothly shuttle visitors/tourists by bus or otherwise direct them, to selected points of architectural or cultural interest, and then point them back to the comfort and convenience of their hotels (often cum casinos), generally located away from the main villages. It is a good, pleasant, efficient was to deliver selected information to visitors.

Our community, on the other hand, offers casual contact with its inhabitants, who are always delighted to engage into direct conversations with visitors... The local Visitor Ad Arts Center also helps facilitating such contacts (especially with local artists) and points to our village's unique features, such as the Mission Church located right in the middle of Zuni (and featuring the famous murals on its inside walls, depicting in full size figures, seasonal religious events), and various sites of ancient habitation throughout the Zuni Reservation. Not to mention the local A:shiwi A:wan Museum and Heritage Center, which delivers colorful information about the Zuni culture!

The village is slowly but surely taking control of its appearance and we have already seen improvements thereabout. More to come with the Main Street movement, an initiative which works with assorted communities in their efforts to improve their appearance. Zuni is the very first Native community to be featured as a Main Street project!.

Ah, but the dogs... yes... A nuisance occasionally. Not too disturbing most of the time, they do congregate here and then, in sudden impulses to hold meetings at night in several areas of the village. "Rez Dogs" as they are labelled... A national initiative, called NAVS - native American Veterinary Services - does come to the Pueblo twice a year, spends almost a week here each time (comprised of volunteer vets, veterinary medicine professors, veterinary students), and spays and neuters every warm body quadruped in sight, on the loose or brought in by local folks. It is starting to make a difference in the population of cats and dogs.... Stay tuned for improvement!

Thank you otherwise for your effort to underline many aspects of our community and details about the Inn at Halona!

- Roger T - Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I finally made our way into the Zuni Pueblo that my family has been going to for years. It certainly is the most accommodating B&B that I have ever been in with an excellent breakfast--have the blue corn pancakes. If they forget anything, just ask again--the people are so kind.

At the check-in, is the only general store. There is a little deli with hot and cold food.

My husband had issues with the air conditioner directly above his side of the bed, but other wise if you can deal with the simple quirks of a B&B, this one is great.

You get your own bathroom.

Run by lovely people, very accommodating, great prices, and in my opinion very intelligent, well behaved people that stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you, thank you... For your cheerful comments.
And YES, very nice (intelligent, thoughtful, curious) people have indeed stayed here: seems that the folks who take time off the nearby interstate do have a little extra time to linger and learn... And talk at the b'fast table: that alone of one of the delights of the morning around here!
AND, thanks for pointing out little "simple quirks of a B&B"... Air conditioning: we have replaced several of the single room units with more efficient, quieter ones... yeah!
- Roger T / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Halona Inn was a perfect place for my family of 13 to stay at to celebrate our family reunion. My Mom and Aunt were with us and they had spent their childhood in the Zuni Pueblo, where my Grandfather Casey Kuipers taught and ministered in the 1930's. The Halona Inn used to be a house they frequently stayed in with their friends. It was a perfect stay for us to relive memories and make new ones. The rooms were cozy but delightful, the amenities great and Roger, the owner and his staff were so accommodating and informative. Our meals were eaten outside in the patio area and the service was excellent. We had use of the patio for our scrabble games and our coffee times. The Inn is very conveniently located in the town. I recommend this if you are traveling with either a large or small group.

Room Tip: In warm weather the rooms upstairs take longer to cool down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guests - All of You,

We do host a fair number of Groups throughout the year, especially in the warmer months when the patios and other outside areas are enjoyable. Thank you for the comments. We do LOVE to accommodate Groups, and out Staff responds accordingly.

And thank you for injecting some historical information about our premises into your narrative: more of that is available for those Guests interested in learning how and why our non-Tribal Member families have been living and operating in Zuni for over a century...

- Roger T - Innkeeper, and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Although we have visited Zuni Pueblo on several occasions, we had never stayed overnight. We booked a small group at the Inn and they could not have been more accommodating. We ordered a special chicken dinner for our group in advance and we enjoyed it in their conference room, which was delightful, filled with Zuni katsina dolls and an upright piano. We also ordered sack lunches in advance for the next day. They included turkey sandwiches, a drink, protein bars, chips, candy and oranges - you get the idea; ample. Very nice. We relaxed outside with friends, read books from their well-stocked library and strolled around the village in the late afternoon, feeling welcome and unobtrusive. The Inn is a comfortable, not fancy, unpretentious, unusually convenient place to stay if you are planning to go to Zuni Pueblo. It presents a unique cultural experience in that it is the only Indian Pueblo that I know of where you can spend a night in the village.

Room Tip: At least one room has a shared bath. Be sure to ask if that is an issue. It is a good idea not to ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ah, yes, Group handling in the cooler months of the year... May being still one of them.
Thank you for commenting upon our Conference Room-cum-(practically!) Museum
Your remark in regard to "we strolled around the village in the late afternoon, feeling welcome and unobtrusive." is quite appropriate: Zuni does not see large numbers of tourists, and therefore the Zuni folks tend to largely see visitors... Well, as just that... And Guests, too.
And as you stated quite rightly (still, I believe): "it is the only Indian Pueblo that I know of where you can spend a night in the village."
Thank you also for pointers to other visitors/Guests: do check our website for respective room amenities (all rooms are quite different).
- Roger T / Innkeeper and the "Halona Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Halona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Halona

Property: Inn at Halona
Address: 23b Pia Mesa Road, Zuni, NM 87327
Location: United States > New Mexico > Zuni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Halona 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Halona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing