We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable experience!”
Review of Inn at Halona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Halona
Ranked #1 of 1 Zuni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent a whole week at the Inn at Halona to rest and get away. On the way we stopped at
El Morro to walk and take pictures. The entire week at the bed and breakfast, we enjoyed Roger and the Zuni staff. The breakfasts were great, and all day long there were ample snacks available; including fresh fruit, beverages, granola bars, fresh bread, and more. Everyone was cheerful and we had time to talk and get to know some people. We had fun hiking around Corn Mesa, just east of town. At the visitor's center we obtained a photography permit, took a scheduled tour to see the artwork of the inside of a historic Zuni Mission church; and also had a guided historical tour (we scheduled a week ahead) of ancient pueblo ruins. We will go back!

Room Tip: Room 5 is a large, beautifully decorated suite; be aware that if you are taller than 6'1" t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 140 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very nice Inn. We commend the Inn keepers for displaying local art throughout the rooms and property. Breakfast was outstanding and very personable. The blue corn pancakes were a huge hit. Lots of books in the room and hallways, especially of local history. Our bed was a queen size, which we are not used to sleeping on, but, it was still comfortable. Everything was very clean and uniquely Zuni charming.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flylady114b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Two friends and I spent Thanksgiving weekend at the Inn at Halona. The Inn is lovely and provided all we needed to have a quiet warm holiday. We brought our food and heated it in their complete kitchen. The staff was very friendly and sweet to us. The house we stayed in was filled with local Zuni artwork and there were interesting books about the Zuni culture and art. The breakfasts were delicious, specially made. The blue corn pancakes and green chili omelette were our favorites. The surrounding countryside is spectacular. We hiked at the nearby El Morro National Monument. Excellent value, I recommend it. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeadazzlingArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Zuni. It's like staying in a museum. Roger, the host/owner is wonderful. Each morning breakfast was a labor of love. Didn't get to try the "world famous" Blue Corn pancakes, but just gives me an excuse to hurry back. For the $$, you cannot beat it. Stay here and then explore the amazing country around Zuni. Be sure and visit the Turquoise Store for some beautiful, authentic Zuni crafts. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank highndryinNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

On a recent trip to the southwest our group had the fantastic opportuniy of staying at the Inn at Halona. The host, Roger was most hospitable and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and filled with Native American arts and crafts. Beds were comfortable. Breakfasts were unbelievably great!!! If you ask, Roger will cook you a dinner that is amazing. Food, coffee and numerous variates of tea is available 24 hrs. a day in self serve kitchen areas.
All in all I highly recommend a stay.
As an aside, Holona Plaza which is right next door has the greatest Ice Cream and is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeddyBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I didn't have huge expectations, just looking for a place for my wife and I to spend the night after finishing work nearby. It's super charming. We had a room by the kitchen and were a bit worried about noise in the morning, but it wasn't an issue at all. Roger, the innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was one of the best I've had at an inn. The highlight, as others have noted, are the blue corn pancakes. But I also had a delicious overflowing, tasty fruit cup, and a fresh fruit smoothy. You could order just about all you want from the morning menu, but that was plenty. The room was comfortable, clean, and decorated nicely. There is a porch and several different secluded areas of patio that were very relaxing to hang out in. There is a really interesting museum of Zuni culture across the square. We took a tour the next day of the murals at the old church with a woman at the tourism office. She gave us a lot of insight, and she was about the most friendly tourism person I have ever met. Really made us feel welcome and spent a lot of time with us. I also enjoyed just walking through the supermarket, owned and managed by Roger. That's one of my favorite things to do to see what is different. Bought some blue corn flour to bring home, and some red chile spiced potato chips. The inn has history and character and is connected to the community--a rare combination today.

Room Tip: The website provides more info on the rooms than you will ever need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tuttidirezioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Roger is a marvelous host at this little bed and breakfast in the heart of Zuni. He helped us with our bags and was so down to earth and welcoming. The only suggestion I have is that you get a room in the main building if you can because our room (23) was very small and being 5'9" I didn't have super restful sleep in the small bed. Also, the bathroom was very tiny but the other rooms in the main building I saw were much larger. The nice part is you can go enjoy the wonderful secluded patios or the living room if you need more space.

Breakfast is served every morning and it is a feast that is prepared fresh an with love. You can order a huge variety of menu items but don't pass up the blue corn pancakes with real maple syrup! The only small negative was that we were not greeted in the most friendly manner when we checked in but hey, everyone has bad days so this was minor. The Zuni people were very friendly and they make the most beautiful inlay I have ever seen. The land around the pueblo is beautiful and I look forward to returning for a couple day backpack this fall.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DesertedPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Halona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Halona

Address: 23b Pia Mesa Road, Zuni, NM 87327
Location: United States > New Mexico > Zuni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zuni
Price Range: $79 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Halona 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at Halona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing