We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closest to Carlsbad Caverns”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Closest to Carlsbad Caverns”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you want to be absolute closest to the Carlsbad Caverns, then this is the place to stay. There is no other motel so close at the park entrance is right next to the motel. It is more or less what you can expect from a motel so close to an attraction. It is a little overpriced (it's not expensive as I paid USD 100 per night) for what it is. It's a little outdated, but has all you need. The positive item I find is that right on the premise of the motel, there is a small watermark. So, with kids it's good to stay there as there is something for them to do. Also, while the area looks pretty deserted it does have a small grocery store, gift shop and gas station. Lastly, the people who run the place are super nice and happy to assist with anything you may need.

Room Tip: Probably upstairs rooms toward the back is best, but doesn't seem to matter as at night it is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    113
    103
    44
    33
See reviews for
127
125
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were on a 2 week road trip and this hotel is right at the entrance to Carlsbad Caverns NP. The place was a dump. A total dump. The only "updated" part was a new a/c unit. The clerk was off getting dinner when we arrived and we had to wait 1/2 hour. The room was old and stank. The bed was old and hard and sunk in mattress. The bathroom was dirty, but I didn't notice that the toilet had feces stains running down the front until the next morning (it was late and we were tired when we got in). The wall had splatter marks as well right next to the toilet. All in all, the only good thing was that it was cheaper than other hotels in nearby Carlsbad, NM, which was 20 miles away. Take the drive and get away from this hotel! This crap-trap. Stick with better hotel chains. Really. Yuk!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whites City hotels

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I would recommend this hotel solely because of the location/ proximity to Carlsbad Caverns. My husband and I had two early morning tours at Carlsbad and I would not have wanted to drive back and forth to Carlsbad each time.

Having said that, this was a relatively high priced hotel for this trip and was definitely the worst one we stayed at. The bathroom had been renovated, and the general cleanliness was okay, but the bed and bedding were old, the breakfast was extremely limited, and the tv was old-school deeper than it was wide, with only a couple of staticy channels. The restaurant nearby was also not good- eat at the national park if you can!

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you are going to the caverns or hiking in Carlsbad or Guadalupe, you cannot beat the location. Check out comparably priced motels in Carlsbad, then check out the Rodeway Inn. The first thing that impresses, is the size of the room. Ours had 2 queen beds, a table and chairs, a low table with tv and there was still room to easily walk around. There was a slight perfume smell (as in all older motels) that quickly went away. There were good darkout shades to make sleeping easy, but the noise level was slightly high. The unit was old, but recently redone with textured walls, good art for a motel room and large tiled dressing and bathroom. Great hot water and good shower head. The room was clean and had minimal toiletries (1 bar of soap and 1 shampoo). It had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker with 2 coffee packets. I didn’t checkout breakfast, as I knew it was coffee and a packaged roll. If you’re looking for a luxury resort, keep looking. If you’re looking for value and location, you’ve found it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footloose42Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here while exploring Carlsbad Caverns and Guadalupe National Parks. The title of my review refers to the fact that the boom in oil and gas exploration has used up every available hotel room in Carlsbad, so we ended up at the Rodeway Inn by necessity.
That being said, we were put in a spacious, clean room that had recently been remodeled. The huge fridge in the room gave us a place to put food and beer for traveling. Occupancy was pretty low, so it was quiet.
A huge plus was being at the parks so quickly and without the additional drive form Carlsbad.
It is only a basic motel, and there are very basic services available, so bring stuff with you, but otherwise it is okay for travelers.

Room Tip: Ask to be put away from where remodeling is going on. The front desk will put you in a newly remode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaptorDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I reserved this motel only because it was rated higher than typical Roadway Inns
but I could not justify the rating or price.
Yes, it is close to caverns but it is run down, dingy, bare minimum kind of place. The room was big enough, beds are good. There are refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in room. ( Bring your own coffee with you.)
There's nothing around - few shops, 1 unattended gas station, 1 restaurant or so. We end up driving to Carlsbad for dinner anyway which is about 20 min. away. We did not see the bats because they migrate to other location during the winter... I am sure the rates will be up for the hotels in high season but if you are traveling in off season like us I suggest to stay in Carlsbad.

Breakfast - sweat pastry and brown water (coffee) which we skipped totally.

Room Tip: Ice machine is in covered walk way (in front of our room) - it can be noisy in busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The guy at the recepción office can be a little moré friendly. he is help full but that set not a custumer care oriented or too friendly.

Rooms are Clean, Yes smell a little but but not something you can not deal with it If you are in a rush and budget to get a room.

Beds are OK, A little bit old and noisy but OK to pass a night.

Bathroom are Clean but not 100% spot Clean a dirty towel with hairs was left to welcome us on the semi closet area. bathtub has soap scum stains. only one little soap of bar in it. No conditioner to hair at all. But I think you get what you pay.

The front door lock it doesn't lock completely leving you with a not safe feeling indoor. Room 132

But Yeah a Good place to spent the night.

walls are spot clean and looks brand new.

I recommended but don't expect a 5 stars place to stay. they have their limitations.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whites City
19.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
16.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
18.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 6 Carlsbad Caverns Hwy., Whites City, NM 88268
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Whites City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn White's City, NM is under new ownership as of September 2009. The Rodeway Inn is the closest accommodations to Carlsbad Caverns National Park, and Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We offer a complimentary breakfast to help you get a fresh start on your exploration of the Carlsbad Caverns. The Rodeway has newly remodeled bathrooms and wheelchair access. The Rodeway also partners with Walnut Canyon Water Park to allow visitors a special discount on admission. The Rodeway is also walking distance from: the Cactus Cafe, White's City Grocery, White's City Arcade, USPS Post Office, and White's City Gift Shop. Within only minutes of driving are notable hiking trails, park and recreation areas, and Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor's Center. We take pride in helping enhance your Carlsbad Caverns adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Whites City
Walnut Hotel Whites City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing