We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Available.....Clean, comfortable, and quiet”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Available.....Clean, comfortable, and quiet”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here while exploring Carlsbad Caverns and Guadalupe National Parks. The title of my review refers to the fact that the boom in oil and gas exploration has used up every available hotel room in Carlsbad, so we ended up at the Rodeway Inn by necessity.
That being said, we were put in a spacious, clean room that had recently been remodeled. The huge fridge in the room gave us a place to put food and beer for traveling. Occupancy was pretty low, so it was quiet.
A huge plus was being at the parks so quickly and without the additional drive form Carlsbad.
It is only a basic motel, and there are very basic services available, so bring stuff with you, but otherwise it is okay for travelers.

Room Tip: Ask to be put away from where remodeling is going on. The front desk will put you in a newly remode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaptorDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    114
    105
    45
    33
See reviews for
132
125
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I reserved this motel only because it was rated higher than typical Roadway Inns
but I could not justify the rating or price.
Yes, it is close to caverns but it is run down, dingy, bare minimum kind of place. The room was big enough, beds are good. There are refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in room. ( Bring your own coffee with you.)
There's nothing around - few shops, 1 unattended gas station, 1 restaurant or so. We end up driving to Carlsbad for dinner anyway which is about 20 min. away. We did not see the bats because they migrate to other location during the winter... I am sure the rates will be up for the hotels in high season but if you are traveling in off season like us I suggest to stay in Carlsbad.

Breakfast - sweat pastry and brown water (coffee) which we skipped totally.

Room Tip: Ice machine is in covered walk way (in front of our room) - it can be noisy in busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whites City hotels

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The guy at the recepción office can be a little moré friendly. he is help full but that set not a custumer care oriented or too friendly.

Rooms are Clean, Yes smell a little but but not something you can not deal with it If you are in a rush and budget to get a room.

Beds are OK, A little bit old and noisy but OK to pass a night.

Bathroom are Clean but not 100% spot Clean a dirty towel with hairs was left to welcome us on the semi closet area. bathtub has soap scum stains. only one little soap of bar in it. No conditioner to hair at all. But I think you get what you pay.

The front door lock it doesn't lock completely leving you with a not safe feeling indoor. Room 132

But Yeah a Good place to spent the night.

walls are spot clean and looks brand new.

I recommended but don't expect a 5 stars place to stay. they have their limitations.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here for our trip to the caverns. It is so close to the park.

We were traveling from Denver and got delayed for weather highway closures. Roy at hotel was super helpful and helped us move our reservation to the next day without penalty since they had rooms available.

The rooms were very nice and bathroom recently redone and beautiful.

Enjoyed this stay with them an would stay here again as it was an excellent rate.

Only negative - beds could be a bit better but overall pretty good! And service was incredible!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jd707700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review!

At the Rodeway make every effort to ensure that your stay is as convenient and comfortable as possible and are glad to hear that our hard work made a difference for you!

If you would like to further share your experience in White's City we would invite you to post on our blog at whitescity.net.

Again, thank you for your helpful feedback!

-Rodeway Inn - White's City, New Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

It's a great place to stay if you're visiting the Caverns. Quiet, out of the way in the middle of nowhere. Great place to relax. However there's no common area for visitors to socialise - it would be a bonus if they had a bar in the area. I am on my own so pretty much just watched tv in my room at night and when finished with the Caverns. There were stains on the walls, however everything else was very clean and the bed was comfy. Very large rooms. Table and chairs to sit and eat if you wish. Coffee and prepacked muffins are provided for breakfast. Not a bad place to stay actually. Fridge and microwave in room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This motel is not the typical Rodeway Inn design, but then, it was not originally a Rodeway Inn. However, it is a very comfortable, very clean motel in a very quiet, very serene location. About the only thing that is worth mentioning, though it is not a complaint, is the lack of electrical outlets in the rooms. The rooms are very large and comfortable and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, especially in such a quiet, out-of-the-way and dark location. It is extremely dark at night in Whites City and I found that to be a plus. The registration desk employee was very congenial and I enjoyed talking to him. a person has to want to stay in a remote spot like this to really enjoy it due to the lack of restaurants and other amenities in Whites City. Carlsbad is only 18 miles away, so that is a good option for dinner, but it takes away from time to spend in this peaceful spot. There is only one small cafe in Whites city and one gas station that sells a few items, but they close early, so a person needs to be prepared. I think this property should consider serving a full breakfast to its customers in the morning, instead of muffins and orange juice due to its location, but that may have deleterious effects on the town's only cafe.
I am already trying to find a time in which i can stay here again, even if it is just for a 3 day weekend because i would like to spend more time in this area and enjoy the solitude of the Whites City area.

Room Tip: some rooms are currently being renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brushcountrydweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review!

At the Rodeway make every effort to ensure that your stay is as convenient and comfortable as possible and are glad to hear that our hard work made a difference for you!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location here in White's City. We love being so close to Carlsbad Caverns and Guadalupe Mountains National Parks and we hope you were able to visit both destinations and enjoy what they have to offer. This part of the world really is one of a kind!

If you would like to further share your experience in White's City, then we would invite you to post on our website at whitescity.net or on our Facebook page at facebok.com/CarlsbadCavernsHotel.

Again, thank you for your helpful feedback!

-Rodeway Inn, White's City, NM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I first tried to get a room iin Carlsbad (the city) and was suprised to see the very high rates. I was arriving late, spending one night and getting up early to visit Carlsbad with the family. I happened to notice that there was one poperty located in Whites City very close to the entrance of Carlsbad Caverns National Monument. I assume the city is named after Jim White, the cowboy/cave explorer that put Carlsbad Caverns on the map. I was concerned with the single star the hotel had, but decided the good price and close proximity made it worth a try. The room was large, clean and had two queen sized beds. The bathroom had obviously been remodeled very recently. The breakfast consisted of just coffee, OJ and packaged muffins, but what do you expect for a sub 100 rate. The property worked out great for us and we were one of the first through the park gates in the morning!

Room Tip: We were in room 225. Not sure if all bathrooms have been remodeled, but I can confirm this room. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOCfromBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whites City
19.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
198 reviews
16.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
17.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
19.6 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
18.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 6 Carlsbad Caverns Hwy., Whites City, NM 88268
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Whites City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn White's City, NM is under new ownership as of September 2009. The Rodeway Inn is the closest accommodations to Carlsbad Caverns National Park, and Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We offer a complimentary breakfast to help you get a fresh start on your exploration of the Carlsbad Caverns. The Rodeway has newly remodeled bathrooms and wheelchair access. The Rodeway also partners with Walnut Canyon Water Park to allow visitors a special discount on admission. The Rodeway is also walking distance from: the Cactus Cafe, White's City Grocery, White's City Arcade, USPS Post Office, and White's City Gift Shop. Within only minutes of driving are notable hiking trails, park and recreation areas, and Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor's Center. We take pride in helping enhance your Carlsbad Caverns adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Whites City
Walnut Hotel Whites City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing