We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only place in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cactus Cafe

Cactus Cafe
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bartlesville, OK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only place in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went for breakfast the morning we left. Service was okay and the food was good ( we just had the usual breakfast items). There were only two other couples in there when we were there. It's the only restaurant in White's City which is essentially a few buildings and an RV/campground. Carlsbad, NM is about 20 minutes north so you do have options.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    35
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
231 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average but the only place in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I was scared after reading all the horrible reviews on this place but I had 4 very hungry kids so we decided to chance it. I was pleasantly surprised. The service was adequate but not overly friendly. The food was average but not bad, the prices were fair to a bit high. There are better places to eat in Carlsbad but if you are not headed back that way, Cactus Cafe may be a decent place to fill your belly, just don't set your expectations too high.

Helpful?
1 Thank 64familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We waited forever for a burger and some flautas. The service is terrible, and the place looks like it needs a remodeling job pronto. Avoid!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“The only place to eat in town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

What I liked: the restaurant was right next door to my motel. The food was inexpensive.
What I disliked: the food was bland and there wasn't many choices on the menu. It was the only restaurant in town. The next nearest restaurant is in Carlsbad which is about 20 miles away.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It was alright”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Pros: Only place to eat in Whites City, BUT, the cafe at the Carlsbad Caverns visitor's center (7 miles away) was MUCH better.

Cons: Food was bland. Only one vegetarian option which is strange for a Mexican themed restaurant. Servers couldn't care less, they just looked sad. 6 tables and 3 servers, and we waited for 10 min for the check to arrive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing