We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT small waterpark for our kids!!”
Review of Whites City Resort

Whites City Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whites City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whites City Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Reviewed June 24, 2009

OK, I read all the bad reviews about this place. However, I look at motels/hotels in this price range as a PLACE TO LAY MY HEAD at night. And the fact that it was closest to the caverns got my interest.

Also, we had 3 kids (7,9,17) and they have a small clean waterpark in the middle of a hot area. They also have a very clean indoor putt-putt area in the lobby. You get one game free, others are $5. But you wont see a cleaner (or AIR CONDITIONED!!) putt-putt course anywhere. Our young ones are crazy over putt-putt so they jumped up and down excited (and we knew $20 bucks just left our wallet)--- no lines, we didnt have to hurry when the 7 yr old took 12 turns to get it in the hole....the lobby, btw, is across the street from the hotel / waterpark. Several reviewers don't like this? --- it is MUCH closer than some lobbies in large hotels, and it is a nice big clean lobby with internet, arcade, putt-putt....if you need something you don't walk to the lobby anyway -- you CALL. There were employees walking around anyway, we just asked them for towels and got them 10 minutes later.

I called and tried to speak to the NEW owner several times before we even left Texas. He didn't even know what Trip Advisor was; neither did the staff. I wanted to talk to him about changes he has made and possibly highlight some of them.

You are LITERALLY sitting outside the caverns if you stay here. I would absolutely stay there again. Grounds were clean, room wa sclean, staff was nice.

If you are driving in from far away with youngsters, then I'd plan to arrive early to use the WATERPARK that closes at 7pm. You only get one day use (pool is currently drained due to state regulation about drainage system but so are several other pools in the area) ----- there is a small pirate-ship, a mushroom that pours water and 2 water slides. We had them all to ourself! We had to drag the kids away to go watch the bats. Shade trees, picnic tables, plenty of lounge chairs. I will add pics later.

I give this place excellent because it WAS excellent for what we wanted/needed for our family. As little driving as possible and a waterpark for the kids. Standard restauran on grounds (usually closes at 8:30pm, so HURRY back from watching bats at night!!) ----- or take food in (we would've picnicked on hotdogs if we ad known) -----

Overall, I don't know how it was before this pwner. But we liked it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank texastravelAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2009

Stayed in RV parking. was charged twice for one nite's stay. Better accomodations at Carlsbad. The store staff not real friendly. Hotel person who overcharged me, very friendly?
Was told is under NEW managment, but they have a LONG ways to go!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kosher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The hotel is close to the caverns, and so is sort of stuck out in the middle of no where. It was clean, but had no refrig. or microwave. The restaurant is ok - somewhat limited menu. We stayed there 4 nights and were pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgiadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Chose hotel as it was nearest to Carlsbad Caverns, but should have stayed in Carlsbad. Room was dark and cleanliness suspect. Signs along road advertised shop and other facilities, none of which were available. Staff insisted on a $20 deposit against damages to room despite us paying cash in full before occupation. As we are a couple in out 60's and unlikely to trash the place we took exception to this. Alcohol was unavailable as a management policy so a glass of wine in the evening necessitated a 20 mile trip to Carlsbad to purchase.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PensionersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed at White's City Resort over Thanksgiving. When we arrived, the room we were given had not been cleaned and made up. Same for the second room. The room we finally wound up in was in a poor state of repair. The was water damage in the bathroom and stains and spots on the walls. Also sound travelled much too easily through the walls, as we found when a family arrived late in the evening and took the room next to us. Their screaming children sounded like they were in our room. While White's City is close to the park, it is not close to good food, so we had to drive into Carlsbad every night anyway.

With that said, if you want to be close to the caverns and Guadalupe Mountain, and you don't mind a down a dirty room with few amenities, this is a fine choice, but don't take your lady with you. There is a small cafe attached that we did not eat at, and apparently a restaurant that was not open when we were there. Maybe if that was open you could save the trip into Carlsbad for dinner. The cafe at the caverns has fine lunch fare.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plain_zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

The place was a dump. The hotel was overall dirty and old. The room had cobwebs on the walls and ceilings. The walls also seemed blank and dull, needing wall paper or paintings, but overall needed some decor. The staff seemed as if they didn't care about their guests and have "given up". The water park seemed way out of budget and needing more staff. Going down either water slide was very uncomfortable. The arcade across the street along with a gift shop was permanently closed. White City is pretty much a ghost town in the making. The only good thing was the restaurant. The food there tasted great and the waiters/waitresses were nice. Overall, I would stay in Carlsbad and just drive 20 miles to the caverns.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank steviewer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

The hotel is old and it shows. Not very many amenities. The infrastructure has aged and has not been kept up. You are paying strickly for the location...which is right outside the entrance to Carlsbad Cavers. I would go to Carlsbad and stay in a chain hotel instead.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpd132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whites City
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
364 reviews
16.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#7 of 22 in Carlsbad
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whites City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites City Resort

Address: 17 Carlsbad Caverns Highway, Whites City, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Whites City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Number of rooms: 195
Also Known As:
Whites City Hotel Whites City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing