We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hermon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fabulous setting and wonderful service. I was a little disappointed with the food as I heard such amazing things. Most vegetarian dishes were made with meat stock and even the meat dishes were not that special. The breakfast preserves were outstanding. Lots to do on farm and the game drive was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the setting and service.I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the food as you had heard so much about it. Louise our head chef has a very high standard in our kitchen and always endeavors to cater to the highest levels, and too cater to the specific needs of our clients. I'm sorry that we didn't deliver on this and we will make sure that this is addressed by the kitchen team.

Thank you again for staying and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

The service and friendliness of the staff was oustanding - Bartholomeus Klip is a rare gem set back in time underneath the beautiful Elansberg mountains - you are so well looked after and papered. We will most definately return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thanks so much for your superb review! We are so glad you felt pampered and that the staff took good care of you during your stay.We are so glad to hear that you will stay again and look forward to welcoming you both back.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staying at BK in the self-catering Wild Olive Cottage is a wonderful country retreat, and evokes memories of all our favourite childhood things such as milk in glass bottles, with cream on the top and cookie jars with peanut butter biscuits. Bicycles are parked outside the cottage, and cycling on gravel tracks through the nature reserve and well maintained farm is fantastic. Although the cottage is self-catering, having a few meals in the conservatory is highly recommended since the food is excellent (adults only), and the conservatory a treat, especially in spring when weavers build their nests in the surrounding trees. The staff will however cook and serve meals in the cottage for families with younger children on request. The staff provide excellent service which is efficient, yet friendly and sincere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay in Wild Olive House and that it reminded you of your child hood days!It is a great house for family and friends to enjoy and we are so glad that you joined us for meals in the conservatory .We are always delighted to hear that the staff were friendly and that they delivered good service.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Bartholomeus Klip is the perfect place to unwind, with its marvellous old farmhouse, beautiful surrounds (a lovely mix of farmland and fynbos, and different from the winelands, dams etc), and absolutely fantastic food. It is also all very relaxed. The room was extremely comfortable but nothing special. There are lovely touches such as sherry and port in the rooms and a good selection of wellington boots to use - useful in the winter. While we would undoubtedly return - hopefully to the Wild Olive House which welcomes children and possibly in another season - there were a few small things that made it good but not great.

One is shown the set dinner menu with suggested wine pairings during the fabulous high tea. We both said the menu sounded great and indicated that my husband would have the wine pairing but that I wouldn't. When the first course arrived the wine was duly poured and the waitress then asked if she should leave the bottle with us or put it in the fridge. My husband reminded her that he was just having the one glass and she said that they only sold that wine by the bottle. We found this extraordinary. My husband wanted to have a glass of the suggested red with his main and thought best to clarify only to find the same story: that wine only available by the bottle. Were we really expected to drink two bottles of wine over dinner and in this case, just one person? Perhaps guests put the remainder of the bottle in the fridge for their next dinner but is the same wine likely to be suggested as the next pairing?

During dessert (wonderful) one is asked if one would like a hot water bottle or electric blanket in bed, which is a lovely thought and the idea of climbing into a warm bed was very appealing. Unfortunately the water bottle was not checked and was leaking. I climbed into bed to find a hot wet puddle surrounding the bottle! The staff were quick to change the bedlinen but it was an unwanted interruption.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscowLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying and we are always glad to get good feedback although we do have a few points we definitely need to improve on. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the setting and the food and delighted you would like to return to stay at Wild Olive House.

We do apologies however for the hot water bottle incident that happened during your stay and will ensure the housekeeping staff check these properly before placing then into the beds.With regards to the recommended wines with dinner unfortunately not all our wines are available by the glass so the host and waitresses should have informed you of this before dinner. But taking your comments to heart we will now include "per glass" and or "per bottle" on the menu so that guests know what is available when we recommend wines with the menu.

Thank you again for staying and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at Bartholomeus Klip over a cold and rainy weekend. When it stopped raining we went for walks and cycled otherwise there are loads of magazines and books to read. We sat in front of the fire in the lounge which was really cozy and lovely. The afternoon high tea is fantastic - especially on a cold afternoon. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the lounge with the other guests and then a delicious dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampsBayApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you had a good stay with us although the weather wasn't great. It is always lovely to hear from our guests that the food was a highlight for you and that you managed to enjoy a walk and cycle on the property during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This one is simply a must. A real “farm in Africa” feel, this a world of fly screens on green-painted doors, wide vine-covered verandahs, big lawns and plentiful indoor and outdoor seating areas. If you were privileged enough to spend time on a South African farm during your childhood, this experience will take you right back there. Bartholomeus Klip (see www.bartholomeusklip.co.za) backs onto the Elandsberg Nature Reserve and here they live out their respect for the natural and traditional world.

The combination of superior luxury in a farm setting which respects the local environment is an appealing one. There are (piping hot) solar geysers, underfloor heating in bathrooms, a heated towel rail and fine linen on the wide beds. I stay in the Orchid Suite, which has a cerise orchid with matching floral cushions in the lounge. The scheme is calm and sophisticated, with taupe and white stripes and florals. A generous and inviting couch and a sink-in wingback chair complete the full open-plan lounge. In the bedroom there is a white cast-iron bed. The bathroom is both traditional and luxurious, with separate shower and a ball-and-claw bath. In the suite there are 3 sets of double doors – in the bathroom, bedroom and lounge. They all open out onto a private pergola patio with views to the mountains and nature reserve.

Despite the loveliness of the décor and architecture, gourmet food is the main attraction here. Locally grown produce is artfully combined into modern and fresh flavours. Decadent use of salted caramel and butter elevate these meals from worthy to worshipful.

Accommodation Experience:
Lying in the bath at dusk, double doors flung wide open, I take mindful stock of every sense. I feel a cool breeze coming in from outside, on which I hear the sweet whistle of a Spurwing Goose. There is the sound of crickets joining their choir one by one. I taste an intense strawberry and drink clear spring water. I smell the locally produced fragrant soap and I appreciate the view of the mountains turning pink, the golden grass in front briefly lit up in a last glow. And I feel like the luckiest, happiest little being on the planet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your very thoughtful review and we really appreciate all your feedback regarding your stay with us.I will definitely pass on all your comments and we will endeavor to give each and every guest the same experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have enjoyed a 4 night relaxed and well fed stay at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse.
You can add Bartholomeus Klip to your good food route bucket list you will not be disappointed.
We have stayed in The Wild Olive House a quaint separate self catering cottage and enjoyed all our meals at the Main House.
We prefer to stay in The Wild Olive House it is spacious and private and you have all the luxuries that the Main House offers and more.
Bartholomeus Klip is well known for their delicious cuisine. Louise and Lesley Gillett (twin sisters) Lesley the manager and Louise the chef at Bartholomeus Klip has recently published a cookbook. Life on a Cape Farm, it is no ordinary cookbook it is a story cookbook with lovely photos of the farm and mouth watering recipes. I have personally tried and tested numerous recipes from the cookbook and they work, I am very impressed with the end results.
The cookbook has also won the Gourmand International Award best cookbook of local cuisine in South Africa, well done ladies.
The Muesli Breakfast tart is Bartholomeus Klip’s signature dish served at Brunch a must try and the recipe is in the cookbook.
The dinner menu changes daily and the wine list are mostly wines from the Riebeeck Valley region and very reasonably priced.
Daniel was our guide on the nature drive and he is very knowledgeable and passionate about the farm.
The solar Consol jars are a nice addition I have not seen it at any other establishment and it is very practical.
The last night we were the only guests on the farm and we were spoiled in The Wild Olive House, at 18h00 drinks and snacks was delivered and the table was laid. At 19h00 a fully prepared 4 course dinner was delivered to The Wild Olive House to enjoy.
To Lesley, Louise, Vicky, Attie, Daniel, Sanna, Corli and the rest of the staff thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: The Wild Olive House on a full board basis, private and spacious
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are over the moon that you had such a great stay with us in the Wild Olive House and that the staff took such great care of you and that you enjoyed all the meals during your stay.We appreciate that you bought a copy of our cookbook and hope you remember all the fond times with us when preparing the recipes at home.We also appreciate that you noticed the small details like our solar lamps!.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and Thank you for staying

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermon
10.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
303 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 23 in Wellington
285 reviews
9.1 mi away
River Edge Accommodation
River Edge Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Breede River
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Shiraz Estate Guest House
Shiraz Estate Guest House
#1 of 15 in Riebeek Kasteel
70 reviews
15.9 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
14.2 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse

Address: | Elandsberg Farms, Hermon 7308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Hermon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hermon
Price Range: $254 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bartholomeus Klip is a charming small hotel for only 16 guests on a working wheat and sheep farm just over an hour away from Cape Town – ideally situated for exploring the famous winelands. There is a 4,000 hectare fynbos nature reserve, with a spectacular backdrop of mountains, to be explored on game drives or by mountain bike, and beautiful gardens with a unique swimming pool. The food is renowned, with lavish brunches and high teas, and a gourmet three-course dinner. The separate Wild Olive House, with its own swimming pool, can be hired on a self-catering or full-board basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartholomeus Klip Hermon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing