We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm Style in Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hermon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This one is simply a must. A real “farm in Africa” feel, this a world of fly screens on green-painted doors, wide vine-covered verandahs, big lawns and plentiful indoor and outdoor seating areas. If you were privileged enough to spend time on a South African farm during your childhood, this experience will take you right back there. Bartholomeus Klip (see www.bartholomeusklip.co.za) backs onto the Elandsberg Nature Reserve and here they live out their respect for the natural and traditional world.

The combination of superior luxury in a farm setting which respects the local environment is an appealing one. There are (piping hot) solar geysers, underfloor heating in bathrooms, a heated towel rail and fine linen on the wide beds. I stay in the Orchid Suite, which has a cerise orchid with matching floral cushions in the lounge. The scheme is calm and sophisticated, with taupe and white stripes and florals. A generous and inviting couch and a sink-in wingback chair complete the full open-plan lounge. In the bedroom there is a white cast-iron bed. The bathroom is both traditional and luxurious, with separate shower and a ball-and-claw bath. In the suite there are 3 sets of double doors – in the bathroom, bedroom and lounge. They all open out onto a private pergola patio with views to the mountains and nature reserve.

Despite the loveliness of the décor and architecture, gourmet food is the main attraction here. Locally grown produce is artfully combined into modern and fresh flavours. Decadent use of salted caramel and butter elevate these meals from worthy to worshipful.

Accommodation Experience:
Lying in the bath at dusk, double doors flung wide open, I take mindful stock of every sense. I feel a cool breeze coming in from outside, on which I hear the sweet whistle of a Spurwing Goose. There is the sound of crickets joining their choir one by one. I taste an intense strawberry and drink clear spring water. I smell the locally produced fragrant soap and I appreciate the view of the mountains turning pink, the golden grass in front briefly lit up in a last glow. And I feel like the luckiest, happiest little being on the planet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your very thoughtful review and we really appreciate all your feedback regarding your stay with us.I will definitely pass on all your comments and we will endeavor to give each and every guest the same experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have enjoyed a 4 night relaxed and well fed stay at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse.
You can add Bartholomeus Klip to your good food route bucket list you will not be disappointed.
We have stayed in The Wild Olive House a quaint separate self catering cottage and enjoyed all our meals at the Main House.
We prefer to stay in The Wild Olive House it is spacious and private and you have all the luxuries that the Main House offers and more.
Bartholomeus Klip is well known for their delicious cuisine. Louise and Lesley Gillett (twin sisters) Lesley the manager and Louise the chef at Bartholomeus Klip has recently published a cookbook. Life on a Cape Farm, it is no ordinary cookbook it is a story cookbook with lovely photos of the farm and mouth watering recipes. I have personally tried and tested numerous recipes from the cookbook and they work, I am very impressed with the end results.
The cookbook has also won the Gourmand International Award best cookbook of local cuisine in South Africa, well done ladies.
The Muesli Breakfast tart is Bartholomeus Klip’s signature dish served at Brunch a must try and the recipe is in the cookbook.
The dinner menu changes daily and the wine list are mostly wines from the Riebeeck Valley region and very reasonably priced.
Daniel was our guide on the nature drive and he is very knowledgeable and passionate about the farm.
The solar Consol jars are a nice addition I have not seen it at any other establishment and it is very practical.
The last night we were the only guests on the farm and we were spoiled in The Wild Olive House, at 18h00 drinks and snacks was delivered and the table was laid. At 19h00 a fully prepared 4 course dinner was delivered to The Wild Olive House to enjoy.
To Lesley, Louise, Vicky, Attie, Daniel, Sanna, Corli and the rest of the staff thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: The Wild Olive House on a full board basis, private and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are over the moon that you had such a great stay with us in the Wild Olive House and that the staff took such great care of you and that you enjoyed all the meals during your stay.We appreciate that you bought a copy of our cookbook and hope you remember all the fond times with us when preparing the recipes at home.We also appreciate that you noticed the small details like our solar lamps!.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and Thank you for staying

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse is one of the most exceptional places I've ever been too. Their food is delectable, the service friendly and professional and the farmhouse radiates wondrous style. I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frankiblack2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Reviewer

It was lovely having you both stay and we are so glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the food and hospitality with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards and Thanks

Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is one of my favourite and most charming places to stay in South Africa. It is a hidden gem! It is well worth the 1.5 hour drive from Cape Town, less if coming from the airport. Dramatic scenery, fantastic home-cooked cuisine, beautiful Victorian farmhouse and personal yet discreet service. There is so much to do in the region, if you can drag yourself away from afternoon tea, we went on evening walks around the dam to watch the sunset on the Elandsberg Mountain backdrop, cycled through the nature reserve (alongside oryx, zebra and springbok), game drives in their private reserve, visited the buffalo breeding project, went wine tasting at the fantastic nearby wine estates in Riebeek Kasteel and soaked up the timeless ambience from the stoop of the farmhouse. I would highly recommend for anyone who is in Cape Town and wanting to spend some time on an unspoilt working farm in style. It is not big 5 safari (they do have lots of wildlife) but it is very good for the soul. Go, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Safari_girl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely feedback and your comments really does summarise what we are all about and we are so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy every aspect of the farm and of course to explore our wonderful wine region.

Thank you so much for staying and Louise , the BK team and myself look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Excellent, as always!
No need to elaborate, above says it all...
I am often there for dinner and/or lunch and it's the second time my parents have stayed there - venue, food, service, hospitality, rooms...setting and area fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Reviewer

It was so lovely having your parents stay with us again and we are so glad you had a lovely stay and enjoyed everything!We hope it wont be too long before we can welcome you all again to our farmhouse.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

What a wonderful place! Lovely old Cape farm house full of character. And the suite is perfect with stunning view over the valley and mountains! The quality and service we experienced were excellent. The staff were extremely friendly but still professional. The food is sublime. We will return and stay a few more nights.

Room Tip: If you can stay in the suite, do so - a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hennielene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us in the Suite.We are delighted to hear that the staff were professional and you enjoyed all the meals.

We look forward to having you stay again in the near future!

Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is an expensive place to stay, on a par with the big-five game lodges in Mpumalanga. They are doing excellent conservation work which IS expensive, and the lodge is conveniently close to Cape Town which is a major advantage. The food is excellent and the Victorian farmhouse is full of character.

The game drives were informative and interesting, focussing on some rare flora and interesting birds, zebra, antelope and tortoises.

What was lacking whilst we were staying there was the obvious presence of a manager. That said, the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your comments and that you found our facilities of a high standard.We are so glad that you found our conservation projects interesting and that you enjoyed the drives, food and staff.

I'm sorry you felt that there was a lack of management during your stay with us, Louise and I live and work very close to the guesthouse so are always onsite.Unfortunately this year, we had made other plans over the Easter weekend so were unable to be here. I'm sorry we didn't get to meet you, but please know the staff are always here to take care of our guests and that we do our utmost to always know what is happening daily even if we aren't on duty and will strive to get the perfect balance with the staff and duty managers, so that guests will never experience this in the future if we are away.

We hope to welcome you again and thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermon
15.3 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#4 of 17 in Tulbagh
326 reviews
11 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 24 in Wellington
294 reviews
5 mi away
Fish Eagle River Lodge
Fish Eagle River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hermon
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse

Address: | Elandsberg Farms, Hermon 7308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Hermon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hermon
Price Range: $480 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bartholomeus Klip is a charming small hotel for only 16 guests on a working wheat and sheep farm just over an hour away from Cape Town – ideally situated for exploring the famous winelands. There is a 4,000 hectare fynbos nature reserve, with a spectacular backdrop of mountains, to be explored on game drives or by mountain bike, and beautiful gardens with a unique swimming pool. The food is renowned, with lavish brunches and high teas, and a gourmet three-course dinner. The separate Wild Olive House, with its own swimming pool, can be hired on a self-catering or full-board basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartholomeus Klip Hermon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing