We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Riebeek Kasteel)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
$99
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
232
18
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
18
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbartholomeus klipgame drivesthe reservehigh teacape townwild olive houseworking farmattention to detailthe main housecourse dinnerout of this worldorchid suitewonderful staffself cateringcakesfood is excellentfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 253 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's the second time we stayed in this lovely farm/ nature reserve where we booked the suite overlooking the lovely scenery . This is a really special place with terrific hospitality, genuine friendliness and delicious food.
There's plenty to do to fill 2 or 3 days. You can walk or mountain bike in the reserve, walk round the lovely dam and watch the sun go down against the mountians or simply relax in the lovely garden, by the pool and verandah . There are drives around the resrve too but we were happy just to absorb the peace and beauty of this special place.
Everything runs like clockwork as the place is so well managed.
Thank you Lesley and all the staff for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: the suite is well worth the extra cost. you have your own private patio with great views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are delighted to have had you stay with us for a second time.We are so glad to hear you enjoyed taking part in all our activities and that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility aswell. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

As a local, I think that there is nothing to match this experience in the area. The service is outstanding, the food excellent, and the vibe is what you want it to be. You can just relax, or keep busy walking/hiking/kayaking or exploring the surrounding area. We prefer to relax, fully enjoying the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, General Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and positive feedback to your stay at Bartholomeus Klip. We are delighted you had a good experience with us and we hope to welcome back in the near future.
Thanks again for staying!

Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What an outstanding place to visit. Well away from the hustle and bustle of towns this is a real gem of a hotel. The staff are so friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is outstanding, lovely brunch either before or after your game drive, delightful afternoon tea and then an innovative dinner. As the main house was fully booked we were accommodated in the Wild Olive House (fantastic) but all meals were served in the main house. Somewhere really different and well worth a visit, we will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed your accommodations in the Wild Olive House.Louise our chef is also very happy that you enjoyed her meals and that all the staff were friendly and made you feel welcome!Thank you for touring our beautiful part of the world and we do look forward to seeing you both again.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband, son and daughter and I spent two nights at Wild Olive House in early June. The house is absolutely charming and very well appointed. It has three bedrooms and two bathrooms as well as a large kitchen equiped with everything you could possibly need to cook a feast. The house is well stocked with all the basics such as bathroom amenities, tea, coffee, milk plus a few treats.
We arrived on a chilly evening and they had a nice fire going in the fire place. Prior to arrival we had arranged for dinners to be served at the house. The food was hearty (beef tenderloin one night and ham the other) and the portions were insanely large. They delivered it on time and said to leave everything where it was and they'd clean up the next day which of course, they did.
My kids are older but I noted the house is well equiped for babies and small children. There was a high chair and changing table. One room has bunk beds with space to accomodate a crib.
We spent our time relaxing and reading. During a few rain free hours we were able to borrow the bikes (the bike selection included kid size and baby seats) and ride around the area. It is incredibly peaceful, quiet with beautiful views that go on forever.
The staff is quick to respond and seem happy to be as present or absent as you desire. Wild Olive House is ideal for a group or family that wants an easy carefree get away. I'd love to experience it in warm weather when you can enjoy the pool and outdoors more.
Overall, it's a perfect wine country get away. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your family in Wild Olive House. I do agree that coming in the hotter months would be better to be able to enjoy the pool and to do more outdoor activities although you did do a great job of going cycle between the rain during your stay!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future
Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We and our Australian friends spent 2 nights here. Gorgeous authentic decor. Amazing staff. Marvellous food what more can you say. It is also a complete surprise, as to what a historical farm this is. Bartholomeus Klip offers something for everybody from rare game sitings to fly fishing at a very high standard. Food and wine pairings superb. Small personal touches just add to the atmosphere . I would love to return someday for a special occasion

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments and very happy to hear you and your friends from Australia enjoyed your stay with us .We are thrilled you liked the food,atmosphere,staff and hearing all the history of the farm and of course enjoying the nature drives and activities on offer. We do look forward to welcoming you back for that special occasion and thank you again for visiting!

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews