We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“How pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Very warm welcome from the Grootbos Garden Lodge Team. Comfortable room with great view ou to Gansbaai. Tasty meals, helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay at Grootbos.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    60
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
157
367
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

I wasn't sure exactly what to expect prior to our trip to Grootbos. I had met the owner and was well aware of his eco and social friendly projects, but still wasn't sure what to expect from the lodge.

We arrived relatively late on a Friday night, to a very chic and quiet Forest lodge. The welcome was great (sparkling wine and snacks) and was followed up by an exceptional meal.

We then made our way down to our room (actually a fully independent chalet/cabin) which was enormous and had a large lounge (with roaring fire), a deck as well as a nice room with a massive en-suite.

However none of this prepared us for the phenomenal view that greeted us the following morning. The chalet feels completely secluded and stares out over an enormous expanse of fynbos on the the ocean below. We did very little over the next couple of days, but relax and read on the deck, and enjoy the sumptuous fare the the kitchen churns out.

We did do two of the organised tours; one an informative walk through the grounds, which highlight the abundant local flora (and some fauna) and the variety of social projects that Grootbos is involved in. The second was a horseback ride through the grounds. I would recommend both.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Grootbos to anyone who was really looking to get away from it all and just completely relax for a few days. Don't expect too much action, and don't expect large animals, but take it for what it is; a wonderful natural sanctuary in the middle of a pristine fynbos landscape.

I certainly look forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campsbayrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

Wonderful surroundings! Panoramic views! We stayed in a Garden Lodge suite which was beautiful. Very spacious, magnificently situated amongst the trees with a sweeping view down to the bay. Flowers and candles placed strategically around the suite, and a roaring log fire at night make it very romantic too! The staff are extremely helpful and really work hard to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

Lots of tours are included in the price so a stay here represents great value. Make sure you go on a guided beach walk as well as a guided walk through the reserve itself. A 'social awareness' trip is also an absolute must. All the guides have come through Grootbos' own training programme and are just one testament to the fabulous work that is done here. The owner Michael is a trememdous character with a very clear vision about the future of South Africa.

We will definitely try to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolateloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

Just stayed for three nights and loved it.
Service was excellent, the rooms were very spacious with a wooden chimney that was started right before you finished your dinner, and a great bathroom.
Everyone was very helpful and shorted all our excursions professionally.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Grotbos exceeded all expectations! the food was sublime, the rooms were absoultely spectacular and the staff were willing to care for your every need. The infinity pool over looking the draw dropping view of the beautiful beach was gorgeous especially in the setting sun! But one thing that i always remember is the amazing food that was served there! I would definitely go back there again due to the amazing facilities, helpful staff and spectacular accomadtion! MAKE SURE YOU GO THERE ON YOUR HOLIDAY!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i_love_holidays1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

I chose to stay at Grootbos because they offer several activities on site (I had no car) and meals were included. Found a special rate online, which made the rates more in line with what the stay was worth. I had anticipated staying in Forest Lodge, but arrived to find that lodge closed and that I was to stay in the Garden Lodge. The Garden Lodge is set up to accommadate families with an emphasis on the needs of children. I was initially unhappy about the lodging situation, but ended up enjoying my stay none the less.

Food was good, service throughout my stay in South Africa was generally much slower than I am used to coming from the US, and this took some getting used to. Overall, staff were quite friendly and engaging. I had assumed lunch was included in my package, but found out at checkout that it wasn't. Fee was reasonable, probably my fault for not reading the details a little more closely.

The rooms can be a bit of a walk from the front desk, but I didn't mind. Some rooms are right next to the central area. Wandering around the extensive grounds was a good way to exercise.

I explained to the guides that I wanted to be kept busy over my 5 night stay and they were quite successful. The lodge also has arrangements with local companies and so I was able to charge the fees for a boat tour and shark cage diving to my room. Transportation to the activities was included which was nice.

Rooms at the Garden Lodge were a tiny bit dated, but very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
782 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

We saw this hotel as a sort of high point of our roundtrip through SA and turned from the highway to the small private road with high expectations.
The start was pretty good. Friendly people greeted us, car and luggage were taking care of and we found ourselves on the terrace of the hotel to enjoy the stunning view down into the bay, a glass of champagne and a well prepared lunch. Afterwards we were introduced into the activities and set our plan.
The lodge which we were shown then was a well apointed apartment with a big terrace overlooking the bay, a big living area, a nice bathroom (but only that, nice, nothing really special) and a bedroom which was actually a bit on the small side. Everything was clean and all you needed was in place but it lacked a bit being something special (compared to Hog Hollow for example). It also lacked privacy imo since you always had other apartments in your view. The minibar was stocked but by far the most expensive on the trip through SA that we made.
The staff was friendly and nice all the way. Especially the young man who did most of the excursions was a jewel telling us a lot about the nature and the area.
I can truly recommend the trip to the caves. We did see a lot of whales on the way down (of course this is depending on the season) and the caves and the beach are stunning. Be careful though, they told us that it would be an easy walk while in fact some climbing is needed (not that serious as long as your legs are ok but they better should).
The dinner in the evening once again with the beautiful view was pretty well the first evening but on the second we received the same menu leaving us with the second best choice of course. The wine is not included and even though they had some pretty nice wines the prices were way above what you pay anywhere else in SA.
The lunch at the terrace was always nice.
A big downside was the pool which looked pretty nice but was so cold I could hardly get in (around 16 C as estimate).

Sadly after a pretty good start not all our expectations were matched and after having some more comparisons (Southern Ocean Lodge on Kangaroo Island for example) I must say that for the price you pay upfront I´d expect less charges during my stay and some more privay and room at my apartment

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
11.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
8.5 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Property: Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Address: | R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing