We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Grootbos for our final 2 nights on our honeymoon. The location is secluded, epic, diverse and beautiful. The lodges are extremely comfortable, very spacious, modern yet intimate with fire places and huge bathtubs that look out to the wilderness, flora and landscape beyond. Activities are great and there is plenty to do for a minimum of 4 days and a maximum for a lot longer if you want to just relax, have great food and wine and take it easy with the activities. We went on a flora safari (which is very unique to Grootbos with many flowers found only in that reserve), horse riding, whale watching, beach walking and a short walk into a cave. We could not do the shark diving due to weather but that is also very easy to do from Grootbos.
Due to its seclusion, staying at Grootbos is full board, which, often worries me. I was quickly convinced as the food was fantastic and service al-carte style, evening meals were 5/6 courses with choice of starter and mains.
Would thoroughly recommend and would definitely go back. Well done Grootbos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallivanter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Gallivanter1

You certainly packed in a host of activities during your stay with us. Grootbos has such a diverse range of activities that one really does need time to get to do them all. I do hope you had a chance to relax and enjoy the last days of your honeymoon. We look forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary celebration in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    61
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
167
387
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our travel agent found Grootbos for us. With no real idea what to expect, I was prepared for an ordinary hotel experience, but this was so far beyond that, it's hard to put into words. From the exceptional, helpful staff to the "cabin" that was actually a small house, complete with amenities, to the well-informed and accommodating guides and, finally, to the world-class food in a photographic setting in a restaurant overlooking the bay, this was the perfect place to relax, unwind, and get started on our African journey.

Room Tip: We were in the farthest cabin from the lodge, which meant for longer walks to get to activities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackyardBunnyWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the amazing review! You've covered everything and we're so happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Best regards from our whole team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at Grootbos for one night as part of our honeymoon, after being booked in as a gift from a family member who had been previously. We weren't disappointed! Although the weather wasn't great we didn't see any whales from the cliff tops, the whole atmosphere was welcoming and relaxed. The sparkling wine in the whale watching house on the afternoon excursion was unexpected but very welcome! The morning flora & fauna jeep drive was great fun, and we even persuaded our guide to take us to the top of the hill to see the views - fantastic! The panoramic views of the bay from the Garden Lodge are also amazing, although with the wind blowing it was a tad chilly by the window.

The food was lovely, with a lunch buffet on arrival and a great evening meal, after which we returned to our cottage to find the fire lit and a hot bubble bath with candles! A good buffet selection for breakfast was also on offer, with good pastries and juices.

We'd love to go back again sometime and stay for longer - one night just wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear JB and Amy

I'm sure you've had a wonderful honeymoon in South Africa. I so glad you friends persuaded you to visit us. The whale viewing from our "Whale House" viewing deck have been spectacular this week too. Lots of mothers and calves in the Bay. I can't think of a better way to enjoy this sight than with a glass of bubbly in hand. I hope we'll see you for a few anniversary celebrations in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a wonderful, luxurious, very pleasant hotel. I have nothing but good things to say about it. But it also has a sister hotel right next door, the Grootbos Garden Lodge, which, though older, is even lovelier. It's probably a matter of taste--the Forest Lodge is newer and more polished, but the Garden Lodge is set amidst a beautiful garden, and some of the rooms have a treehouse feel. Both are nice, but I'd go with the Garden Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winstonthecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Winstonthecat1

We're often faced with the same question- which lodge to chose? You are quite right. It all ends up as a matter fo taste. Garden Lodge has a wonderful warmth and cosiness, more traditional with it's thatched roof and rounded lines while Forest Lodge has a contemporary, edgy feel. We love them both too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had no idea what else there was to do in Gaansbaai besides diving with the sharks, but turns out Grootbos had a veritable smorgasbord of activities on offer, from horseriding, whale watching, spa treatments, cave explorations and community-based activities. And at the end of an activity-packed day, the food - oh, the food! Think pork belly, lobster, handmade pasta and warm, fresh baked bread rolls for dinner with excellent local wines and the compulsory sundowner. I could go on and on about the food but I won't - just go find out yourself! The staff were all so attentive and friendly - one of the nights we were there was cold, and I came back to my lodge to find a hot water bottle in my bed! We stayed in a cosy Garden Lodge with its own fireplace, rainshower and huge bed - absolutely delightful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutDecadenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear AbsolutDecadenT

Food, glorious food! What a wonderful memory to take home with you! With summer around the corner back home, the fireplace and warm bed will hopefully entice you back here again next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of 2A and 2C (aged 10 and 8) visited Grootbos for 2 nights, 1 full day in August. My husband and I had very pleasant memories of a previous visit pre-children, including sipping sparkling wine whilst sitting on the cliffs whale watching as well as wine tasting before dinner. We also wanted to introduce our children to the fynbos.

We were meet on arrival and taken through the list of activities, available to us (no more whale watching from the cliffs though). We arranged for a host of activities including a 4x4 drive through the reserve, a tour to Klipgat Cave and boat-based whale watching out of Gansbaai. Then the children raced off to try pony riding quickly.

Unfortunately, the weather was not on our side and we were unable to undertake any of the activities. Whilst this was obviously not anyone's fault, it was extremely disappointing as the activities were the precise reason we revisited Grootbos. To their credit, an alternative tour was arranged which turned out to be very interesting involving a visit to the local Strandveld museum, Danger Point lighthouse and the local perlemeon farm. But I did leave feeling like we'd paid a substantial amount of money for something that couldn't be delivered and this is a risk which needs to be factored in to a visit during the winter months.

Activities aside, we had a very comfortable stay. The rooms at Garden Lodge had been substantially upgraded since our previous visit and provided a lot of space with a high degree of comfort. Those with younger children might find the 2nd bedroom of a 2-bedroomed suite to be situated too far away from the main bedroom but not a problem for us! The fire in the lounge was very welcome as was the underfloor heating in the bedroom.

The food was delicious! Special children's meals could be taken in the playroom at dinner, in front of a movie (my kids thought this was such a treat!) allowing parents to enjoy a 6 course dinner in peace (though no longer any wine tasting before dinner). There was a good selection of local wines and great service from the Zimbabwean barman!

Staff were hospitable and professional but some lacked a natural warmth when dealing with guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandsy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sandsy 40

Thank you so much for your detailed comments. I'm so glad to hear that you were impressed by the upgraded facilities since your stay here years ago!

As you had extreme rainfall in the UK this year, we've now had the wettest August in 20 years in the Western Cape. This of course has affected our day to day activity schedule but I'm happy to hear that Albertram kept you and your family busy with alternative "dry" activities in the area. I do hope you'll be able to return one day and continue the exploration with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The forest lodge is a marble in design and a real eco lodge. Rooms are large and invite you just to stay put. Well equipped and you wake up to a beautiful view of Gaansbaai. Lot of excursions organised by a very friendly staff. Food is more than plenty and of very good quality. Come in August, September, as the Proteas are in full bloom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear pzan

Thank you for joining us on this side of "the mountain". I'm glad you got to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The reserve really is alive with all sorts of flowering plant species. Spring is in the air!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
11.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
13.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
613 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
2.6 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Property: Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Address: | R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing