We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
700
65
16
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
65
16
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest lodgehorse ridingwhale watchingwalker baycape townnature reserveshark cage divingsouth africawine cellarstunning viewstwo daysour honeymoonsee whalesthe main lodgelocal communitycourse dinnerthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 800 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Truly excellent, tranquil location offering superb tasting menus a host of organised activities and well appointed accommodation in a great setting overlooking Walker Bay. Well informed and friendly staff make this an idyllic location for those wanting to get away from city life.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilandKimR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a 4 night stay for three girlfriends wanting to enjoy a short vacation. We were picked up in Cape Town and transferred to Grootbos by road transfer. The drive took just over 2 hours by the N2. We arrived at Grootbos Forest Lodge and after a short check in we were taken to our cottage. The room was very spacious, clean and had a beautiful view of the beach from the hillside. We spent 4 days trying to fit in all of the inclusive activities that they offer and succeeded by scheduling one activity in the morning and one in the afternoon. The spa at Forest Lodge had opened the day we arrived and we took advantage of it several times. Ana and Mirko are great massage therapists and the setting is very peaceful listening to the birds!

All of the staff at Grootbos did an outstanding job and were very attentive but I would like to give a special thank you to Christoff, our guide and Sean, the manager for making our stay enjoyable and memorable! Christoff is full of so much knowledge of the areas plants and animals and his passion for the job is refreshing! Sean was quick to correct a couple of glitches we had during our stay in order to make our trip the best it could be and we appreciated his commitment to customer service. The only suggestion to make Grootbos even better would be to make beverages included in the price like they do at many safari lodges. Charging for water, wine, beer and soft drinks seemed a bit unnecessary. All in all, a lovely place to spend a few days whale watching and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcianluanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful place this is. We stayed for 5 nights. The cottages are perfect with a fab wood burner. The food is superb and wine excellent. We did some wonderful things including whale watching and horse riding. A special pace

Room Tip: Make the most of all the activities and the beach horse ride is great if you like riding.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Grootbos Garden Lodge as part of our 20-day family tour of SA's Garden and Wine routes in Sept-Oct. 2012; the Lodge is lovely, with winding pathways among meticulously maintained gardens of local fynbos and other flora, leading to the lodge and the suites; the Family Suite was beautiful and accommodated us 5 very comfortably; the suite's balcony was huge, with sweeping views of lush fynbos leading down to the sea on the horizon: very satisfying just to sit, look and relax; in addition: excellent food; an animal petting corner with rabbits, a pig and wandering hens and ducks (perfect for our 8-yr old); riding horses (though, sadly, the weather was against us and so we were soaking wet when we returned); kind and attentive staff; good spa (had a revitalizing full-body there); in short: a rewarding experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyal_Schiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Grootbos Forest Lodge at the beginning of our holiday and we impressed by the quality of the accommodation, the friendliness of the staff, the impressive local produce at mealtimes and the activities on offer. The nature walks, 4x4 drives to explore the flora, beach cave excursion, coastal whale watching, social responsibility tours and horseriding were such fun and thank you to our guide Jo for putting up with our sense of humour! We also did a whale watch cruise and saw several of the gentle giants up close. Three nights is just too short and we'd love to return at some stage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassiefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews