We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I wish there were more words in the dictionary to explain my experience but there aint.

I spent a few days at Grootbos and had the best time of my life! The service was beyond amazing, the staff friendlier than any I have ever seen and the quality of food, décor attention to detail and everything else was just wow, from the top shelf is an understatement.

To add onto that I was also quite lucky to experience the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises over the fynbos from the confort of my own bed and from the whale house where we had sparkling wine and some snacks. I did all the activities and of course took advantage of the horse riding (I love it soo much!), everyone was really helpful and made my stay there just soo good that it was really difficult to check out. I give Grootbos a 20 out of 10 all around! Amazing place!

Room Tip: Both Garden Lodge and Forest lodge is amazing! If you love being close to nature Garden lodge is whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisCaptivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 754 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Grootbos provides five star service, food, and activities. Nestled within the side of a rolling hill facing the ocean, your private villa and dining lodge provide spectacular views with great amenities. The strongest asset of Grootbos is the staff. Everyone remembered who we were and which room we were resulting in great and thoughtful service. We went at the end of August, which was an excellent time to visit. It was a bit cool, but the flowers are blooming, the crowds are small, and the aquatic life is abundant (whales with calves, great white sharks, penguins, and seals).

What sets Grootbos apart from other luxury lodges is their focus on ecological and sociological values. Your tourism dollars provide you with local, organic meals and support institutes focusing on providing people from local impoverished communities new opportunities. In fact, 80% of Grootbos staff come from local communities. Our favorite feature was having a roaring fire waiting for us whenever we came back to our villa. Grootbos has friends and patrons for life. I can't wait to return and am planning to come back for a romantic getaway (Forest lodge) and a family trip (Garden Lodge).

I would suggest coming Late August through October and staying for 4 nights before moving further north in South Africa for a safari. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: The forest lodge is great for couples who want a romantic getaway (double shower heads in the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When planning a vacation in South Africa for me and a friend, my And Beyond travel consultant suggested that between our stay in Cape Town and safari at Kirkman's Kamp in Sabi Sands we should go to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve. I checked out their website and said, "Why not!"
What a wonderful couple of days we had! From the moment we checked in, the service of every member of the staff was superb. There are spectacular views in every direction. Our stay in a Garden lodge was very comfortable, made even more so with a roaring fire made by the staff for when we returned from a truly gourmet dinner each night. The food at every meal was outstanding, as was the wine offered. Whether it was horseback riding or seeing whales on the whale coast drive or on the whale cruise, or exploring the blooming vegetation of the nature reserve or relaxing with a massage or just watching the sunset over the ocean, you can't help but feel that you have arrived in paradise. No need for a fitness center, a walk through the reserve is more than a aerobic workout, it will give you a sensory experience. And you might just have to
let Michael (the owner who lives on the property) know how grateful you are to have spent a little time as a guest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLC33496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

we staid in Grootbos for 3 days and really loved it. The lodge were we slept in was beautiful en we had a nice view. Also the indoor playground for the children was great, while the children were playing a bit we can still talk a bit on the table after dinner. Dinner was super en there was always a solution if the children didn't like it. Whale watching was super, also the ponyride, plant a tree en flight was super we saw lots of whales, dolphins en sharks, they also arranged a pick nick on a beautiful beach... to much to do... need to come back. Thanks for having a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamVanLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a treat. I had planned a surprise weekend away for my wife and was not diasapointed. As soon as we arrived and sipped the first glass of wine overlooking the fynbos all the way down to the ocean we felf like we had arrived in Heaven!

We stayed in the Forest lodge and had a stunning time, horse riding, spa treatments, 4 X 4 on a open vehicle. The food was great with brilliant hospitality and service.

I really did score some points with the wife this time and will certainly be back!

Thank you Groot Bos for a superb weekend!

Room Tip: The Horse ride through the Fynbos is spectacular and you dont have to be an experience rider to enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanonkopHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Grootbos is one of our most memorable vacation locations and we intend to return for future visits. The five-course dinner is superb. There are activities abound from which to choose. If you want your stay to have more of a private feel, the free-standing suites are remote, peaceful and comfortable. We enjoyed days filled with activities and evenings capped off with amazing dinners and then quite-time by the fireplace. Travelers should take advantage of all that Grootbos has to offer (activities, dining and spa). The service from the guides to wait staff is impeccable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistie-and-Frap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A resort Highlighted in 1000 places to see before you die, they were right! The chef selections for our five plus course dinner each evening were astounding, the eggs Benedict for breakfast unsurpassed, and the service flawless, from the welcome bubbly on arrival, to the fireplace set each evening in our room. A perfect place to base ourselves for shark diving and exploring the whale coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
12.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
769 reviews
11.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
13.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
13.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
12.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Address: | R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $854 - $1,593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing