We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

Stayed here for two nights, November 10-12, 2007. The resort was extensively damaged by fire within the past year, and much has been rebuilt. Decor is minimalist, beautiful, very modern. Rooms were gorgeous and clean. This was our third reserve, and guides/naturalists were good. Food was good. The real problem is service, and I think it must be a management issue, as it was a problem in the dining room, bar and reception. I was ill upon arrival, and requested, pleasantly, to be allowed to go to my room as soon as possible. I was told by Derdre it would be ten minutes or so. I lay down on a sofa in the lobby while the rest of my group went on into lunch. About 30 minutes later, I asked Derdre when I could go to my room, and was told in about 10 minutes. At this point, Michelle, another receptionist, took pity on me, intervened, and took me to my room. Another example was no person at bar to get a diet coke---again, Michelle intervened and got someone. Dinner service was fine, but we waited a long time to give breakfast orders every morning. Coffee took probably 15 minutes to arrive, and refills did not seem available. At times, we'd go to the kitchen door to knock for service!!! I don't think they are understaffed--just seem untrained, and not especially motivated. Resort is beautifully sited, but it is a ?mile to the beach. There are guided tours by the requisite Landrovers, but they aren't especially interesting. They do arrange whale-watching tours; will drive you into nearby towns, to the beach, etc. If I hadn't been part of a large group, I would have been bored here.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonymsrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    60
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
157
367
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

Having spent 2 nights at Grootbos Lodge in 2004 and enjoyed every minute of the experience we decided that we wanted longer there on our trip this year....we dont often visit the same location twice for fear of dis-appointment...no chance of this...
The service, food, staff and experience were as good if not better than 2004.....even 4 nights wasnt long enough...amazing room with view over the sea...watching whales breach.....nothing was a problem with the staff...and on 2 evenings we came back to a log fire in our appartment.....
Would reccommend this experience to all.........and will always visit when back in Capetown....

  • Liked — Spotless clean, huge amount of room in appartment
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything.......
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WITHIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 07. It was in a fantastic location - high up on a hill side overlooking Walker Bay in the distance. Went out on a boat trip to see whales (additional cost ~ £50), but you could see whales from the coastline if the trip was not for you. (We went out with a family who were all sea sick). Food was very good and the staff were very friendly. When we were there it was bright sunshine - not certain what it would be like if it were cold and damp. The suites (we stayed in the garden lodge rather than the forest lodge) were very good - large lounge area with the private balcony, bedroom and bathroom (where you could lie in the bath and look across at the bay - as the sun set). The whales were the main reason for us to go here. There is also horseriding included if you want and there are guides who will take you through the grounds (including an old milkwood forest) looking for birds and flowers. The food was very well prepared and presented - a little too fancy for us (but that is just personal taste) in some regards. This is full board location - which does not include any drinks (alcoholic or not), apart from a welcome drink on arrival - and we felt that for a little extra it could be all inclusive (like Rovos Rail and Royal Malewane were - see other reviews!) to make it a completely relaxed stay. I do not think that this would be a good location for a longer stay as there were only limited 'things to do.
Summary - definitely recommend this for a short stay as a high quality base for viewing whales.

Helpful?
2 Thank dshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

Fabulous reserve. Stayed for 2 nights and would have happily stayed for longer. The staff was very friendly. Our rooms were amazing with fantastic views of the Atlantic Ocean. The reserve prepares an itinerary of activities to suit your stay length which was great. Regrettably, the weather was poor and we missed out on whale watching and horse riding.



Following our drive on the garden route and speaking to friends who also drove the garden route, we agree that staying in Grootbos gives one a better appreciation of the nature existing in South Africa than we would have got if we just stop off in different towns en route.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJEIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

We were so looking forward to Grootbos, as it looked as if it offered something a bit different to end our tour of S.A. Unfortunately I had to complain several times during my stay and had to write a letter when i got home to express my dissatiafaction (this is the first time I've ever felt so strongly). I never recieved a response! For example, when we arrived at 2 .15pm after a 5 hr journey, we were told that the kitchen had closed at 2. And arriving back after a day sightseeing to find that the maid had left our door wide open all day. Ordering scallops and getting mussels, and the reason - the scallops are finished! (not told , they just arrived). really disorganised tours with random 'experts'.
Having left Hog Hollow which was a wonderful experience, Grootbos was the biggest let-down ever. Interesting concept, frightful delivery.
Vergelegen winery - a must for lunch and tour.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank harrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

From the second you arrive at the lodge you are immediately made to feel welcome, the service is simply superb. The suites are exceptional and luxurious. They are spacious, comfortable and private. The views from the five-star suites are beautiful, one can experience the wonders of nature but at the same time relax in five-star luxury. There are also a large variety of activities, from nature drives to walks along the beach with a glass of champagne; there are a huge variety of activities. Grootbos really is spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mushis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Lodge in a treetop suite which was absolutely fantastic. From the minute we arrived we received the
highest standard of service. Our car and luggage were whisked away to our suite and we were given drinks on the terrace. We were introduced to our guide and shown around.

The area is stunning and the walks and drives in the reserve are good fun aswell as informative. Pinwele and Nzuzo, the two guides were met were excellent, telling us all about the fynbos and also about their own experiences and lives in South Africa.

Aswell as the reserve we went on a boat trip to Dyer Island to see the fur seals, penguins and sharks - excillerating and fun. We saw a shark killing a seal - nature in action.

The restaurant at Grootbos was fantastic, with a different menu each day. Our suite was huge, with our own living area, bedroom, small kitchen, walk in wardrobe and terrace looking out over the milkwood.
The whole experience was wonderful - relaxing, fun, exciting, interesting - we'll definitely revisit in the future.

  • Liked — Tree top suite
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
11.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
8.5 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Property: Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Address: | R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing