We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to nature on horseback”

Horse Riding Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
London
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Close to nature on horseback”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were taken in a small group for around 45 minutes through the fynbos. It was late afternoon, so the sun was dipping down and the light was stunning. Be warned that, no matter how hot it is, do wear full length trousers, as otherwise your legs will get scratched as you get taken through the fynbos. The horses didn't seem to mind!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horse riding through pristine wilderness”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The horse riding is a great addition to the Grootbos experience. The trip through the property is lovely although the horses are a bit sluggish. There are a couple of places where the horses can gallop, but for safety reasons the majority of the time you slowly slumber through a wonderful natural setting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horse riding”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I did the ride for experienced riders. Very good horses, which are well kept; nice guide; there were only the guide and I, which allowed me to enjoy the nature from horseback very much!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bibi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Nature and luxury at it's best.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent 4 days at the Grootbos Private Nature Reserve. The Forest Lodge.
We absolutely enjoyed the customer care, great food, stunning nature and excellent accomodation.
I can recommend this to anyone who would like to combine nature and 5-star luxury. Horse rides, nature excursions and beach walks are all included.
Beautiful. Can't wait to get back again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horse riding 4x4 style”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Honeymoons don't get better.Bongani was our guide on the hour and a half fynbos 4x4 adventure which was world class.

Every meal a gourmet experience and the accommodation fit for royalty.

Wow, wow and wow again.

Thank you Michael and all your staff for an unforgettable experience which is highly recommended to all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horse Riding Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing