We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay @ Crayfish Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek
1 review
“Stay @ Crayfish Lodge”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

What a fantastic stay.It is highly recommendable.I showed and told all friends about the lodge.When ever we are in Cape Town again and have some time to spare,we will be back,for sure.
Auf ein baldiges wiedersehen.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roswitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
351
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lexington,kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Crayfish Lodge is a beautiful architect designed house perfectly located for the Walker Bay whale watching during the season or a restful stop for the traveler interested in hiking the coastal trail or seeing the great white sharks and seals during the rest of the year. Your hosts Sandra and Reinhard do everything possible to make you stay enjoyable and active. The breakfasts are excellent and offer everything one could want to start the day. Highly recommended. Would absolutely stay again if we were in the area. Ausgezeichnet!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stemcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Crayfish Lodge for three nights as the first leg of our two week honeymoon in South Africa. The Lodge wildly exceeded our expectations (and we have traveled a lot and stayed in many great places - so we had high expectations).
Room & View: We had the top floor room with a panoramic view of the ocean complete with a good size balcony where we enjoyed watching the very pretty sunsets with a glass of wine or beer. Even the bathroom made use of the views, with a nifty double shower design open to the ocean. The room (and entire lodge) are very modern and designed really well.
Food: At our first breakfast, we thought the impressive continental spread was the breakfast, until Sandra brought out delicious omelet muffins followed by decadent French toast. We thoroughly enjoyed all three of our gourmet breakfasts, especially as we ate while taking in the beautiful view of the water from the table on the balcony.
Service: Sandra and Reinhard, the owners, could not have been better hosts. Sandra welcomed us on our first afternoon there with a glass of wine out on the balcony while she walked us through what we could do while there.They were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended restaurants and other activities that we liked. They helped us rent a canoe for the afternoon to paddle down a river and made reservations for us everywhere we went. We particularly enjoyed walking along the cliff walk to the practically deserted sandy white beach where we picnicked on cheese and crackers for a local dairy farm and beer from a local brewery - all recommended by Sandra.
I would recommend the Crayfish lodge to anyone going to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

One of the best stays you could ever imagine - Just outstanding! I would recommend everyone to stay there and enjoy the beautiful view from the lodge. The people are really welcoming and always wiling to help :)



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I can honestly say Crayfish Lodge is one of the best kept secrets in the Cape province. The management couple understand their guests needs, they are around when you need something, otherwise you experience complete privacy. I cannot wait to return! Being a solo traveler guest houses can be daunting. I felt like I was in my own apartment with friends close by.

Room Tip: Top floor for privacy, room 5 for access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stralsund, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very friendly and excellence stay! One of best breakfast ever! If we will come back another reservation is for sure. This is a great hospitality in a great landside...
After a awesome day watching the great white a realy nice place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bautzen
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

the Crayfishlodge is situated of the cliffs over the beach of Hermanus.
The lodge provided an excellent Service, modern and verry clean rooms with a great view over the beach. From all rooms you can wotch the wales.
The hospitality was great and the homemade Breakfest was delicius. Also on the evenings we could get a wide selection of drinks.
Fore our daily activitis we got a lot of interesting informations.




Room Tip: al rooms are very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
405 reviews
1.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House

Property: Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Address: 2 Killarney Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant modern true 5* sea front guest house with superb sea views. 2 Panorama Suites, 3 stylish Atlantic Garden Rooms, all sea facing. Being directly sea-front with not even a road in front, you will enjoy here some of the finest sea+mountain views in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing