We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guesthouse in South Africa - ambience, style, service, food and location”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #8 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best guesthouse in South Africa - ambience, style, service, food and location”
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stanley and Lainy share this beautiful space generously - rooms are light and airy (the front suite a real treat), and the views spectacular. Lots of local info - winery trails a specialty, Kloeks @ Home agreat place for dinner. Eating in is a treat for both breakfast (perfect eggs) and dinner (grappa panacotta to die for), and all in all the best guesthouse both this trip and 5 years ago!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
193
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The view alone is worth the price of a room, but add in the best breakfast ever had at a B & B, the wonderful room, and the most helpful proprietors, and you will never want to leave. Don't just book one night because you will regret it having to leave so soon. Plan to stay two or more.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandachelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

If you visiting South Africa you have to stay at Whalesong Lodge!! For all those who wanna realx at its best, have good food and wine, a stunning, beautiful and breath taking view at the ocean (you can even see the cape of good hope from there!!) in a familial and very friendly atmosphere (even if you travel on your own like me) THIS is the place to go!! Lainy and Stanley (the owners of whalesong lodge) are very warm, friendly and uncomplicated hosts! In the whale season you can watch whales and dolphines from the veranda while enjoing a very good glass of south african wine. Even though I was there at the end of december I saw them (Whale babys with the mother) right in front!!
If you wanna do some exciting acitivities I can recommend the great white shark diving (10 Minutes by car from the whalesong Lodge). I did it and it was AMAZING!!! What I also did was horse riding along the beach and through the dunes! The horses are very friendly too! :) And you can enjoy the sourounding area from a back of a horse! Stunning!
Also you can have walks at the beautiful beaches (and you will be the only people at the beach!!) next to the Lodge!
I celebrated my 30th birthday at the Whalesong Lodge and it was one of my best birthdays ever!!! Big thanks to Lainy, Stanley and the staff! I WILL come back very soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leni_Boubbli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We have stayed at Whalesong four times already, and every visit was a highlight. Whether one visits in summer to watch whales (and the whales are right on your doorstep) or in winter when the indoor fireplace and a bottle of red wine stimulates the cozy atmosphere, Lainy and Stanley always make us feel extremely welcome! They have created a home from home - elegant, spacious, comfortable. And their food is to die for! I would recommend Whalesong Lodge to any friend or colleague, South African or international.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

This was our second trip to South Africa and Whalesong was the only guest house to which we returned (not because the others were not all excellent but because we didn't think we could beat this little gem of a place). It's position on the shore front overlooking Walker Bay was unbeatable and after 7 nights in Cape Town we were ready to just sit on the terrace with a glass or two and binoculars all day watching whales (this dream was not to be as it rained most of the time we were there though we did see loads of whales). Our room at the front of the house was very good with a tiny balcony but the main emphasis is on the living space downstairs with its floor to ceiling glass doors and the front terrace. It felt like your own living area and there was always someone on hand to make you a hot drink and there was a very well stocked honesty bar. If you want more privacy, then just try the luxury suite with its own private terrace (with the same views as the main terrace - you can stay in bed and watch whales through the floor to ceiling windows there. Stanley and Lainey are very welcoming and the house is immaculate. Last time we visited Stanley cooked, and a superb cook he is too, but this time they had a chef. At first I was disappointed until I sampled the food - absolutely wonderful, and shared with the other guests which made for a very convivial evening. On the nights food is not provided in the guest house, you take a little stroll around the corner to the only restaurant within walking distance and there we had the best steak I have ever tasted - sorry I can't remember the name. Also next to the Whalesong is a cafe/lunch spot with the same amazing views. If you want amazing night life then this is not the place for you - de kelders is very quiet, but if you want a relaxing stay in a perfect spot, then stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Although the location and whales are fantastic at Whale Song Lodge we found our room to be a big disappointment. The reason for our trip was whales and although the balcony at the front of the lodge is a perfect setting the rooms at the back of the hotel only have a very limited sea view. As there is no price difference with these and the rooms at the front of the lodge with full sea view it is the luck of the draw which you will receive.

We found the service to be a little erratic, sometimes helpful and friendly and others a little stand offish, we were never to find the under floor heating or tea and coffee making facilities?? Breakfast was lovely and we had a nice dinner cooked by a local chef, not by our hosts as the website suggested.

If whales are your number one reason for visiting Gansbaai then make sure you book a lodge that gaurantees you a full sea view.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twiggyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We only stayed here one night after we did a shark dive in Gansbaai (we used Shark Diving Unlimited which was recommended and booked for us by Whalesong Lodge and was amazing).

The room was lovely - we had a view of the sea and as the guest hourse was located right on the sea front we had an amazing view of whales playing in the bay. We spent a couple of hours on the rocks outside the hotel watching the whales - at one point there were 8 or 9 we could see.

For dinner the owners recommended a local restaurant which was walking distance away - we were a little dubious as it sounded like it was a bit out of the way and in someone's front room but as we didnt want to drive anywhere we decided to go. We couldnt have been more wrong - the restaurant was beautiful - fully booked so make sure you reserve a table and the food was divine. Sorry I can't remember the name of it but it's the only one around so just ask the owners. Take a torch though to walk back in the dark!

The only thing to note is that there was no door to the bathroom and the wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom stops about a foot from the ceiling which is fine but not so good if you like your privacy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandSontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Property: Whalesong Lodge
Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing