We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #8 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent find”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

On the basis of ratings from trip adviser we chose to stay at this spotless gem of a place. We were met by competent staff and given a fabulous cup of coffee. Our room was comfortable and the reading matter available in the room and the lounge was of an high standard. The breakfast prepared by Stanley lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Make no mistake we will be back to this great find in Gansbaai.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
193
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a little lovely stay at the whalesong Lodge, just after our trip to Capetown and before shark diving in gansbaii. The place was clean, the couple that run the place are THE definition of chill and easy going, and the surrounding coast line is rugged and like a moonscape, great for exploring. I really couldn't recommend this place more, especially if you are going to shark diving the next day. A great way to break up the pretty long drive from Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamthecoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were lucky to stay 2 nights at this wonderful B&B. The atmosphere is very warm and personal: Lainy and Stanley are very eager to find the right "tourist program" for each of their guests (there is something for everyone to choose from just relaxing to shark diving). In the morning all guests gather around the big breakfast table for a wonderful breakfast - created with great love. The rooms are full of light and nicely decorated in a modern way. We hope to get back to this place one day!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A beautiful place to spend relaxing holidays. We were there in early December 2013, and still had the great fortune to observe whales from the room window! Beautifully decorated rooms and a tastefully designed guest area with very nice hosts. The interesannten talks , the great breakfast and the helpfulness in supporting other activities have made ​​our stay a great experience. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Room Tip: habe a look at the website to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 2013w_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent only 2 nights at Whalesong Lodge. Next time we will certainly go for a longer stay. Lainy and Stanley are wonderful hosts. They were warm, welcoming and very helpful, giving ideas of places to visit with enthusiasm as though they are doing it for the first time. Breakfast was wonderful and Lainy does a cold platter in the evenings if you want to stay in. There are not many places to eat in De Kelders but with Lainy and Stanley's guidance we enjoyed our evening meal at a small restaurant round the corner. The rooms are lovely and the views of Walker Bay are stunning. Thank you Lainy and Stanley and all your lovely staff. We will be back. Carole and Tony

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Car0le_R365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying for 1 night in February as we made our way to Cape Town, we wish it could have been longer, The rooms are very bright and modern and the views over the bay are fantastic. There is an honesty bar which is great as you can get yourself a drink and sit on the balcony chilling or watching the sunset. There is a place next door which we called into for a light meal, Stanley then recommended and booked for us a table at a small restaurant around the corner, this again was really nice. Stanley was really helpful offering his advice and local knowledge, I have always wanted to do the Great White cage diving, Stanley booked me in with Marine Dynamics, again a great company and a fantastic experience (see my review). Unfortunately this meant an early start so we missed Lainy's fantastic breakfast, her words not mine. I would definitely recommend this B&B, it is in a nice place and run by a nice helpful couple. We will hopefully return in November 2015 for some whale watching and this time for a longer stay, Thank you to Stanley, Lainy and the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cmp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Rooms and bathroom are very nice.
Great view over the ocean.
Great owners,
Delicious breakfast.
Very friendly and hospitality is very good.

We enjoyed our stay, even it was only one night,
Thanks so much

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfi19631963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Property: Whalesong Lodge
Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing