We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautiful home with an incredible view over the ocean. Delicious breakfast as well! Very much enjoyed our stay, even if it was only one night. Wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks so much, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 285 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

It's a B&B where dreams come true. Great owners, fantastic location, wonderful breakfast, top rooms. 100% satisfaction. Excellent restaurant close by (Koek...).
Thank you, Stanley and Lenie...we will be back !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Dear Lainy!
Dear Stanley!

It has been seven nights since we went away. Although we really enjoy traveling through South Africa, we must admit: we miss you and the Whalesong Lodge in every second. It is always good to discover new things, but still: we miss you and the Lodge. We had some great days with you, your family, your friends and your wonderful staff. You all create a magical place that is so unique in every aspect - wow, we just do not want to leave this place. Your deep interest in food, new trends, healthy and biodynamic lifestyle and your good knowledge of how to create and sustain good vibrations and energies has always been an indefinite inspiration for us. You achieve in meeting all expectations and yet also succeed in surprising us with new input. We are very grateful that we met Brett this time - his massages were outstanding.

It is really devastating, because throughout the last days we were constantly discussing our next visits in august and december. Cannot let alone. Until then we keep you in our hearts and dream of a little bit of Whalesong in our every day life. Cannot imagine a better way to exist.

Kisses to De Kelders,
J&S

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aetherfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and the whales were playing for us at dining time while sitting on the balcony! It was an awesome experience.

we will come back if it is possible. Lainey and Stanley are very nice hosts and helped us to find the best places to go (even for kiting!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank s_blender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have spent 2 Nights there in the honeymoonsuite, wich was fantastic. We could see whalesong directly from our bedroom and the whole Place is wonderful, charming and you just feel like being at home! Very recomandable! The hosts are very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed one night at the lodge but I had the feeling I wanted to move in forever! The room we stayed in had a fantastic view over the ocean, open plan bathroom with spa bath, king sized bed, small seating area and a protected balcony. We spend hours looking out over the ocean, how it changed colour and even the lighting at night was stunning. Lainy and Stanley booked a lovely restaurant close-by and bring along a torch as there no street light! After a good night of sleep we were treated on a big breakfast with cheese, home made jams, home made bread, croissants, a hot breakfast and delicious coffee. We didn't want to move anymore....but really enjoyed a stroll around the cliff tops and finding a lovely protected beach for a swim. We will definitely be back because we are only 2 hours away from you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LalapanziLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It’s probably worth checking out Whalesong Lodge’s website before you arrive just to get a feel for the place - it made me feel relaxed every time I clicked on the site.
It was also true to its name as from the moment we arrived we could see Southern Right Whales frolicking right in front of the lodge’s main balcony. On both nights that we stayed there we went to bed listening the whales surfacing and blowing out water - it was really magical.
Decorated to an incredibly high standard (we found articles on it in photography and design magazines and you can easily see why) the Lodge’s owners Stanley and Lainey have created a human sanctuary. We were lucky to be staying there on a night when the pair cooked and it ranks as one of our most memorable and reasonable meals of the holiday, with excellent brandy and wine also available. Breakfast was also memorable with homemade bread served and a delicious of fruits, cheeses and cereals.
The staff at the Lodge were also very friendly and helpful and couldn’t do more to make us feel comfortable and ensure our stay was perfect.
Unfortunately we are separated by 10,000 miles and a nine hour flight, otherwise we would be rebooking our return journey to Whalesong Lodge VERY soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
11.7 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 31 in Gansbaai
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#6 of 31 in Gansbaai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $148 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing