We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #8 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked Whalesong after checking out reviews on Tripadvisor and so glad we did! Fabulous location, food, accommodation and service by hosts and staff. Unfortunately we only had one night there and that was our big mistake - not staying longer! The weather was wet but because of the location, the open fire, books to read and relaxed comfortable atmosphere this added to the experience so can only imagine any time of the year spent there would be special.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back but still had views but would imagine the front rooms would be magica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
193
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Whalesong Lodge - imagine a magical landscape and a stunning view over a bay, then add a nice and comfortable home you want to snuggle in and finally add the most wonderful and cordial hosts you've ever seen. That is something close to the Whalesong Lodge! We used to travel all over the world and never returned to one specific place. But now the african virus grabbed hold of us and we fell deeply in love with both this very place and Lainy & Stanley, who not only run one of the best BnB's we've ever been to - they are also foodies and provide you with more tea than you can imagine, more good advices where to eat than you can bear and a reasonable selection of some of the best wines from SA. And if you are extra lucky they will cook for you and beam you up to higher spheres with their tasty food. Thanks for an outstanding christmas dinner and an unforgattable evening with you, your family and other guests. Definitely one of our ten places we must revisit before we die.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aetherfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our third stay at Whalesong Lodge and we are sure to be back again very soon as this is one of the most special places we have stayed at throughout all our travels.

So what makes this place so special?

1. Location, location, location. The guesthouse is sitting literally on the cliffs, with only the tiny beach road separating the building from the cliffs. This is a residential little street, no big traffic and sitting on the deck or in the lounge room you cannot even see the little road but rather have unimpaired fantastic views of the colorful cliffs and stunning Walker Bay. I cannot quite describe it (and I am not a spiritual person at all!) but this place has a very special energy.

2. The food. This place is foodie heaven. The breakfasts are stunning, so much choice of sweet and savory, fruit, muesli, yoghurt, eggs of your choice, everything organic and literally hand chosen or handmade by Stanley and Lainy, the hosts. If you have the opportunity to have dinner there (they only do dinner on some nights during peak season), don't miss it, the food is just absolutely stunning. There are two restaurants in walking distance as well which I have heard to be good but have not had the opportunity to try and there is a café right next door which serves lunch.

3. The rooms. The rooms are very sweetly appointed and the beds are really comfy. You can fall asleep and wake to the sound of the waves, the honeymoon suite has stunning panorama windows facing the sea and a bath tub with the same views. All the other rooms do not have immediate sea views from the bed but rather have small private decks to the sides of the building from where you can see the sea. You probably will not be spending too much time in the room though with nature on your doorstep and the stunning deck downstairs! Note that all rooms have open bathrooms, i.e. only separated from the rest of the room by a half wall. If absolute privacy is a must-have for you in this respect, then the place will not be right for you. There is a guest toilet though downstairs which is absolutely private!

4. Last, but surely most importantly: STANLEY and LAINY, the most amazing hosts. They are great, warm-hearted, friendly hosts going out of their way to accommodate you every need. They are multi-lingual, speaking English, German, Afrikaans and I guess Dutch (?) and they know the area inside out and can recommend any kind of activity you are looking for from shark diving, whale watching cruises, drives in the greater area, hikes in the nature reserve, penguin watching and so on. My favorite activity is just sitting on their deck staring out to the sea, whether there are whales around or not!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is just fantastic and an amazing panorama view with a small private deck directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sw972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this Guest house on the reviews from Trip advisor and we were not disappointed!
The house has the most amazing views and is very relaxing.
My only disappointment was we didn't stay longer! We only booked overnight as we were going Shark diving!
The owners went out of their way to welcome us and make our short stay comfortable.
Would recommend to any one going to the Gansbaai area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stanley & Lainy have put together an excellent little guest house in the centre of De Kelders. The breakfasts are great, they are warm, friendly, multi-lingual and helpful. They can recommend things to domain the area. A ha done boy for a massage, shark diving, whale watching walks and beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a first class bed and breakfast. Stanley and Lainy were great hosts. Breakfast was served in the dining room that had a view that would take your breath away. Nothing beats having breakfast and seeing the Southern Right Whales swim by.... the rock formations that unfold below the deck and into the sea are incredible. Ah, and as for breakfast, it was absolutely brilliant. Lainy is a dynamic chef and some of the jams and condiments were out of this world. Fresh fruit and homemade muesli were splendid. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and very comfortable. Oh, I have to mention, there isn't anything better than being able to sleep with your windows open and to be able to hear the sound of the ocean all night long, simply magic. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone. I would definitely return next time I am in that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: I didn't get to see all the rooms, but any room that faces the ocean would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenMM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen, scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had stayed in a fairly bland guest house in Cape town so this was our first experience of excellent South African (sorry Lainy) even Namibian hospitality. We arrived fairly early to drop our bags but were welcomed by a shout from the balcony and promptly offered a glass of wine which set the scene for a splendid couple of nights. Breakfast is served around a communal table which makes conversation interesting - the omellettes were great. Stanley was very helpful in providing local information and our one true adventure in ZA.. Really nice couple and amazing location.

Room Tip: We had a fantastic room (1?) along the whole frontage. Fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Property: Whalesong Lodge
Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing