We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un grand MERCI”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Your lodge is just amazing, beautiful. Not to mention the room, the breakfast, the Meadowsweet products in the bathroom, the view (even outside whale season), everything is WOW! Every piece of furniture, books, detail is so carefully choosen. Your place was my little paradise in South Africa. Merci Laney, Stanley, Staff & other travellers. Thanks for having me. I was soooooooo lucky beeing able to stay with you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nabiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 280 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

We want there 3 times and we loved everytime.Its not just the room,the lodge is very pretty and you have breakfast together.Its like a family style.The Owners Lainy and Stanley are such nice
people.All what you need you have there.Good Location,the Ocean close and good Restaurants
in Gansbai.Thanks for the Friendliness and the really perfekt Hospitality.This Place is unique.We go back and enyoed again.Thanks for make our vacation so nice.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite with the view to the ocean,nice balkony on the site to whatch the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

...is how I would describe this boutique lodge situated a stones throw from the ocean. Lainy and Stanley are great hosts, and after the first evening we felt like we were staying with friends, rather than being in a guest house. The rooms are spacious, very clean and modern and the whole feel of the lodge is one of home from home. The view over the bay is beautiful and delivers some of the best sunsets along this coastal region. If you plan to head to this area for Whale watching, you must stay here, you will not need to leave the comfort of the house to enjoy the display in the bay, and if you book the suite room, you won't need to leave your bed! The communal breakfast is a great way to meet all your fellow travellors and compare your route along the South African coast. Great lodge, great staff, amazing hosts....we will be back!
(PS- the bathroom and bedroom are open plan, with just a small wall seperating them, so if your a little prudish, this is not the place for you!)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want something unique, this is the place. The personal touch on design, food and atmosphere is unique. The view is gorgeous and brings peace to the mind. We very much enjoyed the common meals. Breakfast was among our "best ever" and to have the opportunity to share a meal with fellow travelers is a treasure. We enjoyed every minute and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dear Lainy and Stanlex, it was the first stay at your lodge. When we arrived it was as if you´re at home! The atmosphere was amazing! The whale watching from the veranda and the cliffs were phantastic! The advicing on things for looking are very good! The rooms are perfect, the breakfast and the service are great! Thank you so mutch for the very good time! We will come again! Georg and Gabi

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabi350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first stay at Whalesong Lodge and it definately will not be our last. From the moment you arrive, Lainey and Stanley the hosts, make you feel really at home. The location of Whalesong Lodge is absolutely perfect for land based whale watching situated on top of the cliffs at De Kelders and it would be very hard to find better. We had room 1 which is an absolute delight with panoramic views overlooking Walker Bay. Breakfasts are a real treat and set you up perfectly for the day. Lainey and Stanley are always ready to give advice on things to do and places to visit, so if you want a real treat go and stay at Whalesong Lodge.

P.S. Enquire about a 'Beachcomber Walk' with Jason!

Room Tip: Room 1 for a suite with panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosthom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Dear Lainy & Stanley & the whole W-S-team!!!

from the very first moment whan we arrivied we felt that very warm welcome from the whole team. The service and atmosphere which Lainy & Stanley (the owner) providing is amazing. You feel being at home but with the service of a 5 star guesthouse!!! Our room (the panorama / honeymoon suite) is so beautiful and superb arranged. Breakfast in the morning and homemade cakes every afternoon on the terasse close to sea gives you the feeling: that must be heaven on earth. THANK YOU - we are counting days to see you again! Big hugs O&K

Room Tip: Suite Nr.01 - The most beautiful place at walker bay!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriette-Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#2 of 2 in De Kelders
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $153 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing