We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if carlsberg made B&B...”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2007

What can we say, we loved it. contempary decor, great hosts beautiful views (we watched whales in the sea below the balcony). We were also luck enough to stay in for an evening meal which was excellent and great company as well. The room was also of a very high standard and would recommend upgrading to the front room which has a glass window across the entire front and a bath with a sea view like no other. The honesty bar was also well stocked and our hosts made us very welcome and helped sort out our shark dive and dinner reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LindaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2007

After another long drive across south africa's N2 motorway it was a wonderful to arrive at WhaleSong Lodge nr Gansbaai (not to be confused with WhaleSong lodge at Plattenburg bay). The property is straight out of a design magazine, mixing modern design touches with simple earthy colours and the odd 'ethnic' feature. We walked through the door to Nina Simone playing and a cup of fresh coffee as we watched the sun go down over the sea. This is a classy place only 5 minutes from Gansbaai so an excellent choice if going shark diving. It really is like staying at a friends house. Highly recommended. Not a location for sitting on the beach or wild night life.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leazy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasdavidviddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das mittlere Zimmer, zugleich das größte im Haus, die anderen sind kleiner und haben keinen so schön...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Best views from room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin_fl_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 30 in Gansbaai
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#2 of 2 in De Kelders
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $153 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing