We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Relaxing!”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Cliff Lodge for 2 nights in early January 2011. We stayed in the North Room, which is well appointed and has a great view overlooking the sea. The room was clean and in excellent condition. The same can be said for the remainder of the house, which was tidy and nicely decorated. Gideon, Gill and staff are awesome! They went out of their way to insure our stay was relaxing and worry free! Next time we'll be sure to book our excursions through them instead of doing it on our own. Overall, a great stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank privotpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Cliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 622 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay over my 30th birthday. No better location to celebrate such a day. Friendly and courteous staff, delicious breakfast (try the special blend of rooibos tea) with everything you dare to think of, stunning view (perfect for sundowners) and great rooms. A pool is also available, overlooking the ocean. We will go there again during whale season.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bllehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

During our trip through South Africa we stayed at the Cliff Lodge, De Kelders, near Gansbaai. A fantastic place! Wonderful views of the bay and the whales, a superbly epquipped Ocean Suite, which had all that you ever wanted. Super service, very friendly, wonderful breakfast. In short: not to be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrolijkereiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

At the end of our 3 week honeymoon last week. myself and my husband rated all the different places we stayed in and definitely Cliff Lodge was up there with the best. Our hosts were very helpful, breakfast was superb and the the fact that we could see the whales while we had our breakfast on the terrace , well that kinda of speaks for itself.
Our room was very comfortable and clean. while Gill & Gideon were excellent hosts in booking our trips and restaurants for us when we arrived

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

THE best place to spot whales. THE best place to relax. THE best place for atmosphere and the warmest welcome you will ever receive! Being a true brit, we did feel a little sold to on arrival, but I would recommend you LISTEN! Gideon KNOWS his local community, and the restaurants he picks, well, oh my, they were truly divine! There is also the facility to book a massage (Big tick!), have your laundry done (handy when moving around on a longer journey), and truly beautiful rooms, each with their own balcony overlooking the bay. With at least 5 whales at a time doing their stuff only 50 yards from your pool, along with the calmness and serenity of this place, I truly believe there aren't any more words to describe this as THE best lodge. Just one more thing..... Nico, you are THE greatest coffee maker in the world..!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Gideon, Gill and team made our stay perfect. The rooms and communal areas were very nicely presented and the breakfasts were excellent. Gideon makes the best cappuccinos in South Africa (and we have dined at La Colombe). The bedroom was very comfortable and we had a great opportunity to view whales from our room balcony and again from the main balcony overlooking the sea.

Gideon booked us some excellent restaurants whilst we stayed and recommended trips, meaning that we were never at a loose end. The excellent personal service even went as far as dropping us off by car one day to start a walk further along the coast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonDinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We could not fault anything, perfect place to stay!
We went to sleep at night in the most comfortable bed we have slept in, listening to the whales 'spouting' in the bay.
We sat and watched the whales from our balcony.
We enjoyed the Shark trip, we saw 11 different Great white sharks.
Many thanks
Diane and John

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank CaseyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
11.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $217 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing