We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, amazing, words cannot describe!”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2009

When we arrived at Cliff Lodge we were met by Gideon and two glasses of gorgeous chilled Sauvingnon Blanc! He then showed us our room or I should rather say rooms! I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world but I have never stayed in such beautiful accommodation with a view to die for!

On the day that we checked out, a part of my car key from my rented car had fallen out and I was unable to start the car...and everytime we went near the car the hooter would go off! Gideon and his wife were fantastic, they got their entire team to help us search for this part of the car key. We sadly couldnt find and the rental company sent us a replacement car. Gideon told us to relax and enjoy the facilities until they arrived with our new car which only came at 12:00pm!

I think what makes this place so special is the attention to detail that they provide for their guests. Nico also deserves a special mention, he was fantastic as well.

This beautiful hotel is the Western Cape's biggest secret....its probably one of the best places on the planet to view whales and to simply chill out.

I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snigalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 640 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2009

My husband and I visited Gansbaai to see the Great White Sharks. I found this Inn on the internet and yet again, the reviews on Trip Advisor were accurate and helpful. This Inn was absolutely beautiful -- the views are spectacular, the service was impeccable. Nico greeted us upon arrival and he is absolutely wonderful, he is professional, kind, extremely helpful with local reservations, etc. The Inn is beautiful, the breakfast was wonderful. The location was really nice for us because I like to go running and I felt very safe and the neighborhood is very nice where the Inn is located. Our room was just lovely, it was very nice, clean, had nice amenities, etc. Our porch with the ocean view was perfect and a wonderful place to read a book. We would highly recommend this Inn to others and we would definitely come back. The Inn owners live across the street and they were around often and also extremely kind and helpful. We were incredibly happy with our stay.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank KJWeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

This was an excellent 2 night stay, at a top quality B&B.

The view from the balcony at breakfast would take some beating anywhere in the world, with Southern Right Wales and their calves passing within hailing distance of the breakfast table. The breakfast itself being the best we had throughout our SA stay.

Gideon, Gill and Nico could not have been more friendly or helpful. A whale watching cruise was organized by Gideon and was superb.

Evening meals were booked by Gideon, taking the strain out of scouting for somewhere suitable.

The whole atmosphere was relaxed, and is one that we hope to sample again in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

This is yet another property we selected initially after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, and yet again it exceeded our expectations. Gill and Gideon are the perfect hosts, and they simply cannot do enough for you. They advised and booked superb local restaurants for our evening meals, they advised us on excursions, providing maps and excellent tips, and Gideon talked us out of taking a cage diving trip on one particular day, telling us the conditions would be 100% better the next - and they were! He handled the cancellation of our existing booking, and the making of a new one with a different company. He even lent us extra coats in case we got cold on the trip!
The accommodation sits on the cliffs overlooking Gansbaai - we could watch whales swimming close inshore while eating our breakfast. We chose the Ocean View Suite, which has fantastic picture windows looking out over the bay, a large balcony/terrace and a telescope to view the stars and/or whales.
The property is actually in De Kelders, a few minutes from the town of Gansbaai, from where you can do your great white shark trips, and about 15 miles from Hermanus, a pleasant little town and a wonderful place to get amazing views of Southern Right whales from the clifftop paths, as they swim, spyhop, breach, everything, really close to the shore.
Cliff Lodge was one of the very few places we have stayed that we would describe as perfect, with no scope for improvement - they have everything absolutely right.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samthetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed here for three nights at the end of our two week holiday in South Africa and just loved the place.

The rooms are comfortable and nicely designed, the suite on the top floor is just stunning! I want to live in that suite!!! Any room we peaked into looked quite nice, only the one on the lower floor by the pool looked a little cramped, but still above average.

The views to the ocean are amazing throughout and the service is friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were excellent (best scrambled eggs i've had in a long long time!) and drinks and buiscuits/snacks were available throughout the day (from staff or, if unavailable, from the honesty bar in the kitchen). The place is relaxing and comfortable.

De Kelders is just so relaxing and only a few minutes drive to Gansbaai and Kleinbaai. Should you feel the urge to drive to Hermanus (though it is, to be honest, a little grotty) that is only half an hour's drive away.

Jill and Gideon's recommendations for meals, trips, walks and excusrisons were always spot on.

What a place! I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelgianIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

It might have been stormy outside but the welcome at the Cliff Lodge was fantastic. Gideon and Gill run a welcoming and comfortable bed and breakfast in De Kelders.
Our room (North) overlooked the waves crashing onto the rocks below but all was peace and calm within. The view from the room was hypnotic with the ever changing sea and sky. A telescope was provided to spot the wales passing in the bay.
Breakfast was excellent and Gideon was full of suggestions on how to spend our day.
There are plenty of walks in the area and if you like dogs, Gill and Gideon will lend you their red setters for a walk alon the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mostyn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

We found Cliff Lodge through the Greenwood guide, which we used alot on our 3 week honeymoon trip in SA. We arrived as Gideon was having his new coffee machine installed but we were warmly welcomed and offered a drink on the balcony. As per previous reviews, we found Cliff Lodge absolutely wonderful in every way. We didn't see Gill so much but Gideon was just a fabulous host. They live in a separate house across the road, and so you really feel you can make yourselves at home, there is tea/coffee/ drinks on tap, CDs, books, games available in a lovely lounge area too. The rooms were very clean, spacious, with very comfortable beds (an important one for us) and the views just spectacular. The weather was pretty awful when we arrived but the crashing waves just 50 or so metres away were mesmerising nevertheless. Breakfast was very good, with nothing too much trouble. The rest of the team (this was the only B&B we found that did not refer to its "staff" as such) were really friendly and helpful. Gideon booked restaurants for us, let us loose on the cliff walks with their two wonderful red setters and was really attentive. It was one of the best B&Bs on our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Broteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.8 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
11.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 31 in Gansbaai
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#7 of 31 in Gansbaai
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 31 in Gansbaai
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $204 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing