We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a fantastic two nights in the North Room. The views across the ocean and Walker Bay national park are just amazing. There's a great cliff top walk (with some interesting caves to explore) just outside the doorstep, and this is also a very convenient place to stay if you're planning to go diving with the sharks in Gansbaai as it's only a 10 minute drive away. All of the staff at Cliff Lodge are so lovely and really do go out of their way to help their guests, and the breakfast is also fantastic. Cliff Lodge is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed in around the world and we definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
459
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Cliff lodge has sea views to rival any property, anywhere.
The North room was spacious and comfortable, with a large balcony, inviting you to sit and enjoy
the spectacular views. The bathroom was excellent too.
The welcome from Nico and the owners Gideon and Gill was exceptional. They were helpful and charming
The kitchen area was really well stocked with snacks, cakes and an array of local wines and beers.
There were lots of little touches that made the stay so pleasant, too many to mention them all.
We were very sorry we had only one night in this beautiful spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmf36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

It is seldom that I feel inspired to write a review but our experience was so wonderful that I had to! My wife and I spent a Saturday night at Cliff Lodge and from the second we walked through the door we felt like we had come home. Gideon and Jill are the most charming friendly hosts and made us feel both welcome and special at the same time. The views are awesome, the outside shower great, the breakfast was scrumptuous and the coffee legendary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

There are no words to describe the unforgettable experience we've had at Cliff Lodge.
We've been welcomed with so much enthusiasm and kindness that we already felt like we were at home. Our room was perfect, the breakfast was more than perfect, the staff was amazing. A special thanks to Nico for his kindness & special cappuccino :)
The view from the B&B is impressive and takes your breath away.
We've been truly spoiled by everyone who works at Cliff Lodge.
You can also enjoy a relaxing walk from the B&B and wander along the coast and find a very interesting historical site.

We will come back !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joffrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Impossible not to be impressed by the location and views. The furnishings, facilities, comfort were all first class with a great breakfast. The coffee was particularly good! Chantelle, Nico and Gideon were great hosts and made us feel welcome throughout. Lots of great places to eat - especially Kloeks@Home and Blue Goose. Food was good at Rosemary's but we were not so keen on the ambience.

I would have awarded 6 stars (!) for larger towels ( there were lots of lovely fluffy towels but the bath towels were a bit small for us ).

No hesitation to recommend or return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teaeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cliff Lodge for one night. We had the room near the pool (I think it was the West Room). The room was clean and had contemporary furniture. We liked it. The view to cliffs and ocean is incredible, you just counldn't get enough watching the ocean.

The team was lovely - we got so many great recommendations what to see and do before we left.

Breakfast was very good, too. And Nico's remark that coffee will get worse after Cliff Lodge was absolutely right :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pmi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to spend a weekend at the spectacular Cliff Lodge. The views are breathtaking as was the magnificent sunset. We stayed in the Ocean suite which is huge and has a large balcony where one can relax enjoying sundowners.

Breakfasts are lovingly prepared and you have a wonderful choice of juices, fruit and hot breakfast. The rolls are homemade, as well as the delicious chocolate chip cookies in your room which I so enjoyed with my cup of tea. The room fridge bar is well stocked and very reasonably priced.

Gideon, Nico and Chantelle were incredibly warm and hospitable; Nothing too much trouble. We have stayed here once before and I look forward to returning more often.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing