We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

all was perfect - from A to Z. What else should I say... Gideon the perfect host. Gideon the perfect tour advisor. Ah, what a breakfast. The path along the rocky shore is just magnificant, though a bit too hot when we were there. Unfortunately we had to leave the day after and could not give it another try.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are on the sea-side. so there is no difference
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Cliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 622 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

People who think luxury in SA means Cape Grace are deluding themselves.
If you want the ultimate, then stay here.
The most amazing sea view you could ever have.
Great breakfasts
Amazing deserted beaches
No crime.
..but the most important of all, the best hosts you could ever wish for.
Gideon, Gill and their staff (Nico and Chantelle) are so friendly and welcoming.
Nothing is too much trouble for them.
An absolute gem.
This place is amazing

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-Howlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had such a positive experience - from the moment we booked until we checked out. The service is very professional but still friendly and accessible. With no road (and traffic) separating the guest house from the cliffs and ocean, it's the ultimate location for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful scenery. And the best breakfast ever (and we are foodies!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Location amazing. Service, second to none. From the first greeting to the last goodbye. Very modern and spacious rooms, East Room has own balcony over the sea and extra outdoor shower. Excellent restaurants nearby. Very quiet area. Amazing cliff top walks and deserted beaches. Don't go anywhere else in this area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice reception by owner and explanation of how to reach the beautiful, practically private beach. Superb views over the spectacular rocks and deep blue see. Beautiful room with private terrace and close to the small swimming pool. The breakfast was served by owner and included the best ever poached eggs! A wonderful tranquile spot. During the September-December season you will be able to watch the whales from the deck right in front of you. Compliments to Gideon and his well trained and very kind staff!

Room Tip: Room on groundfloor close to swimming pool is superb!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had another great stay at Cliff Lodge and again our time there was too short. The Ocean Suite is wonderful, loads of inside and outside space with great views, so much so that you just don't want to leave the room! The staff are all great and looked after us extremely well. And the breakfasts are amazing, the poached eggs are a work of art! So thank you to everyone and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turkishfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

From the moment you arrive you are aware this is somewhere special. Nothing is too much trouble for the Gideon and his excellent team. The uninterrupted view of the sea and rocks below the house is magical. De Kelders has a really pleasant unspoilt atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RGBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
11.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $218 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing