We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Retreat”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ocean Retreat”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Enticing breakfasts on the verandah a few yards from the waves dashing against the rocks make for a memorable start to the day at Cliff Lodge. Gill , Gideon and staff strive to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible and are most helpful in suggesting local interesting venues which are worth visiting. Cliff Lodge is simply a wonderful retreat by the Ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
459
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

If I could give it 6 stars I would
Firstly location - absolutely amazing
Secondly hosts - charming, welcoming, so helpful
Thirdly staff - friendly and helpful
Fourthly breakfast - to die for

My only reservation about a good reservation is that I want it all to myself,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob-Howlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fantastic hotel with an amazing view! The rooms were very nice and the staff was tentative and friendly. We had a wonderful stay and loved the surroundings. One of the best hotels we stayed at in South Africa.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SthlmTraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heiloo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been recommanded to the Cliff Lodge by friends and felt welcome from the first moment, we arrived . Gideon and Gillis are very good hosts, making your stay immediately very comfortable Nico teached me to make his capuchino, which is more than Italian. We stayed in the Northroom with balcony and a magnificent view on the ocean. We were too late for the whales, so this is another good reason to come back

Room Tip: North room with balcony on breakfastroom level is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel-Benken, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We (my son and I) stayed two nights and were overtaken by the wonderful view over Walker Bay. We enjoyed observing the night sky and intricate movements of the the various Atlantic currents and waves. Gill and Gideon are very caring hosts and offered great support in making the most of our stay on the souther tip of the coast. My son really loved the room, the comfortable bed, and the lovely chocolate chip biscuits. The breakfast was extraordinary and we ate to our heart's content. A guest house well worth returning to. Renée & Llewellyn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RENEE-DESIREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Breathtaking location and superb service and great hospitality. Everything was perfect. Absolutely loved the Ocean Suite - like a beautiful dream come true. Very lucky to have seen such a brilliant southern hemisphere night sky too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nessie0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived late morning and were welcomed by Gideon who immediately made us welcome by offering us superbly made ground coffee. Wonderful after a long drive. We were only staying for one night and were shown to the Ocean Suite which was magnificent, having spectacular views over Walker Bay. We decided to enjoy the afternoon outside on the large terrace, exclusive to the suite, taking in the panoramic vista of the bay. A shoal of dolphins passed by and we were brought binoculars so as to get a better view. If you want privacy and comfort this is for you.

We travelled around the Cape, including Winelands, the Garden Route and further inland for three weeks, staying at a variety of establishments. Gideon is a champion breakfast maker, fresh juice produced to order, fresh fruit, cereals etc. but most importantly a magnificently produced cooked breakfast!

The staff were friendly and Nico was very helpful

Gideon and Gill run an excellent establishment. Well worth a visit for a single night or longer.

Room Tip: Ocean Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing