We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb even without the whales”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb even without the whales”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited Cliff Lodge near the end of our two week stay in South Africa in July 2012. We had planned a boat trip to see whales but the weather was so stormy that all boats were cancelled and whales were difficult to see from the lodge. Yet we both agreed that our stay there ranked among the top three things we did on this trip (along with Victoria Falls and Safari at Notten's Camp).
We arrived at dusk after a long drive and Gideon had already made tentative dinner reservations for us. His welcome made the long trip and stormy weather fade into the background. The Ocean suite was everything the reviews say about it and more. If you have the money go for it. The views of the stormy roiling ocean water were awesome. Gideon and Gill worked with us as if they were our relatives. They sat with us at the delicious breakfast and found out what we were interested in, and presented alternatives to the postponed (and then cancelled) whale watching trip. Gideon made calls to check on winery tours and he helped us become familiar with the area. His inside tips even helped us plan a scenic drive to Capetown later. Breakfast every morning was superb with fresh fruits and all sorts of hot and cold options. You eat with a view of the ocean and Nico will help you spot whales (he even saw a few in the storm) while you enjoy your food. My wife enjoyed the bathroom soaps and lotions so much that she purchased several lotions as gifts for our friends.
Cliff Lodge was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. We cannot imagine anyone not having a superb stay.

Room Tip: The Ocean Suite is stunning but if your budget limits you, every room has special charms and great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psych0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
460
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here last march This place is fantastic and is up there with one of the best places I have ever stayed..The hosts Gill and Gideon are great and even upgraded us to their Ocean suite one night which is out of this world. Everything about cliff lodge and De Kelders is perfect..
Will definitely be coming back here in the next couple of years absolutely loved De Kelders and cliff lodge.The coast line is fantastically wild and the views picture perfect..
Run out of superlatives to describe this place but will definitely be back in the next couple of years...can't wait..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traunstein, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I am a travel agent and I have visited, inspected, reviewed and stayed at many hotels. But Cliff Lodge is for sure one of my absolutely favorite ones. We stayed in the Ocean Suite for 4 days as an extension of a business trip in Cape Town. The location is a dream and the views from the rooms are amazing. The local coast line is one of the most beautiful in SA and Cliff Lodge is sitting right on the edge of the ocean. No other house is closer to the ocean. You can watch the whales breaching while enjoying your breakfast on the porch. Breakfast, by the way, was excellent....homemade muffins and fresh juices. The rooms are decorated very tastefully with lots of little details...One of the best things was looking over the ocean right from your bed. The owners Gill and Gideon do an excellent job guiding you around the area. They have great tips guiding you to places you would have never found on your own. So in short everything was perfect....the location, the rooms the food, the people, the service, the food. I can be a little picking sometimes but I couldn’t find a single thing to complain about. This is the perfect place for a romantic, relaxing and quiet getaway.

Room Tip: The ocean suite is absolutely fantastic and worth every penny. I would only stay in the ocean suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location on the cliff! We were very lucky to see the wales from the balcony. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast and one of the best coffees I have ever had. Beds are too short though. Nice outdoor shower at the East room. Gansbaai great to see whales, but don't go there for action

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Else T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for our last 2 nights in SA on the recommendation of my parents and were not disappointed. Perched on the top of the cliffs overlooking Walker Bay, this place is amazing! The rooms are very nicely decorated in neutral tones, a huge comfy bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and each room has a view and our room (North Room) had its own balcony looking out over the bay. The welcome and service was warm and so helpful, breakfast was delicious. But the real highlight was just how close you are to the Whales! At breakfast on the last morning, I counted 8 Whales swim right past in front of the lodge whilst eating my poached eggs! The area is quiet but there are a couple of nice restaurants nearby and a lovely walk you can do across the cliffs that leads to beautiful secluded beaches (where we also saw whales). We'll be going back!

Room Tip: North Room or Ocean Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodallTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eggelsberg
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

On our 14-day trip we just had very good accomodations but Cliff Lodge was by far and absolutly the best!! Situated above the cliffs (with whale-watching from the deck) it is just breathtaking.
The splendid breakfast in the modern designed wintergarden or on the deck outside is a everydays morning highlight. But over all there are Gill and Gideon and the staff who made us feel like beeing at home or stay with friends. When ever, by chance, we come back to SA we`ll find us at the Cliff Lodge!
Marianne and George

Room Tip: the best room would be in the 1st floor / saeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great breakfasts and from the Ocean Suite we could view whales without leaving our room! Gideon, Jill and staff were absolutely wonderful The position must provide the best view of whales in De Kelders if not Walker Bay. The restaurants recommended to us were also top class!
Met others in the bush who also used Aardvaark Safaris and had visited Cliff Lodge. They were also totally complimentary about Cliff Lodge.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean Suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing