We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We have just returned to the UK after spending a month travelling around the Western Cape in South Africa - and by far our favourite place was the Cliff Lodge in De Kelders, next to Gansbaai.

Such an incredible location, with breathtaking views of the ocean, cliffs and the whales! The accommodation was perfect, everything we could possibly need, they had thought of! And breakfasts were just wonderful, on the deck with fresh coffee, fruit, pancakes, bacon... watching the Right Whales swim past with their calves. Just magic.

Gideon, Gill, Finn & Murphy were the perfect hosts, and had even booked us into restaurants when we arrived. Our first night we went to 'Kloofs @ home' just up the road, and had one of the best meals in our whole month in SA. So good we went back the next night too!

I just wish we could have spent more than 2 nights here - it really was idyllic and nothing could be faulted. I hope we dont' have to wait too long to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Painters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 633 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

Cliff Lodge was a beautiful place to stay on our honeymoon and Gill and Gideon were great hosts. This was one of my favourite spots on our SA trip and I wished we'd stayed for more than 2 nights!

The penthouse suite is enormous with full windows of glass looking right out over the sea and across the dunes of the nearby beach. You can whale watch from your very, very comfy bed, or curl up on the Chaise with a telescope in the living room. The room is calming and romantic (the double ended bath, lovely toiletries and big fluffy towels were particularly nice) and we loved the champagne Gill had ready for us when we arrived. Great minibar and lovely, lovely breakfasts. In fact, I could live in Cliff Lodge quite happily.....

We'd intended to get out and explore the Overberg while we spent a couple of days in de Kelders - but somehow we couldn't quite get ourselves off our large balcony.... The whalewatching from the hotel is quite splendiforous. We watched whale calves with their mothers breaching just a few hundred yards off shore.

de Kelders (just outside of Gansbaai) is really quiet and laid back and much, much more beautiful than Hermanus. Excellent whale boat trips from Gansbaai too.

If you want a bit of luxury (and great views) while in the Overberg I couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fi0nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We were ment to stay for 2 nights, but could not resist another night. We only wish we had had more time. A fantastic B&B. Spectacular location, wonderful rooms, great attentive service. We would go back without hesitation. The view from the day bed in the ocean front suite is amazing. Such a relaxing place to spend a few days at, we could not fault it. Do not stay in Hermanus, far to commercial. We did the shark diving and eco boat trip and really enjoyed them, and it is only ten minutes down the road from Cliff Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

The perfect place to stay - our favourite in our travels of the world. We stayed in 2005 and returned in 2006. Unparalelled for accommodation, service, hospitality, and of course location - as close as you'll get to viewing whales from the land anywhere in the world. Forget Hermanus (the better known location just around the bay) and come here. The guesthouse is immaculate - small enough to be personal, but also respectful of your privacy. Thanks to Gideon & Gill for making such a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MiriZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simone2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suite im Penthousestil und der North Room haben diesen einmaligen Blick aufs Meer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 635ulfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.8 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
11.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 31 in Gansbaai
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#7 of 31 in Gansbaai
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $199 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing