We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”
Review of Blue Goose

Blue Goose
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in a 100 year old limestone fisherman's cottage, the owner and staff welcomes guests into a warm and cosy environment, serving freshly prepared dishes, using fresh, local and sustainable produce. It's like having dinner with friends, the way it's done in the Strandveld.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Don't let the outside looks fool you, the inside is warm and cozy. Great enclosed area with a fireplace for winter! Staff are amazing and food is some of the best I've had on the garden route. Try the ribs!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FindingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    103
    40
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

During our Honeymoon we stayed 2 nights in a wonderful B&B in De Kelders and on our last night we decided to go to Blue Goose for Dinner. It was just spectacular! The delicous Food, the great Wine and of course K and Riaan made that evening to one of the best on our beautiful Honeymoon. We will definitely come back and already recommended you guys to everyone we know. Thanks for a lovely, unforgettable evening with phenomenal food and pefect atmosphere!
It felt like a 3 Star Dinner with friends!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herentals, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and very nice from food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

At the outside you wouldn't say you find such a nice restaurant at the inside! The staff and the personal is very friendly and the food is also very nice. Price/quality it's certenly a rate from very good ! One of the best restaurants in Gansbaai!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alainandannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agulhas, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
“The yummyest and tastiest”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to Blue Goose for lunch on St Patrick's day and started off with some Baby Squid which were delicious. We heard the Spare Ribs were very good so we ordered it for our main meal. I have never ever tasted Spare Ribs so soft and tender without a millimeter of fat on it. You did not even need a knife to cut any pieces off, it actually just fell off the bone. The basting sauce were to die for an literally finger-licking-good. The service is excellent and it feels like you are at home among family. No one should miss out on the experience to eat out at the Blue Goose

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soooo good we went back the next night :)”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From a recommendation from the guesthouse we were staying at in Gansbaai we were Not disappointed. From the friendly, attentive service to without a doubt THE BEST Spare Ribs we have ever eaten in our lives, we had to go there twice out of the 2 nights we were staying in the area. The Blue Goose is a must have place to eat if you are visiting the area.
Thank you so much to Ke for all the fantastic information that he gave us not to mention his own home made African pudding for dessert which was simply divine!
We will be back on our future visit to Gansbaai :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Goose also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
De Kelders, Western Cape
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Blue Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing