We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb location for Christmas Holidays”
other travelers have booked this property
Xairu is situated on Walker Bay with panoramic views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Xairu is situated on Walker Bay with panoramic views.
Glass doors seamlessly withdraw to blend the outdoors and open-plan dining room and kitchen. The upper west-facing deck is a perfect spot for whale watching and sundowners.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Xairu is situated on Walker Bay with panoramic views.
Glass doors seamlessly withdraw to blend the outdoors and open-plan dining room and kitchen.
The upper west-facing deck is a perfect spot for whale watching and sundowners.
The upstairs lounge frames extensive views across Walker Bay, and window seats to savour them from.
Crisp, flora-inspired designer linens in the spacious master bedroom suite.
Upstairs guest bedroom has an en suite half-bath, generous closet space and a private balcony.
The 2nd bedroom bed can be used as a king or two full-sized beds, a large closet and private balcony
A bouquet featuring the fynbos flora that are endemic to only this part of the world.
An intimate lounging area downstairs
Sleek and modern with appliances that appeal to the eye and deliver a relaxed holiday
Xairu provides directly access to the cliff path and Klipgat hiking trail
A sunset from the upper west-facing deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gansbaai, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Andre R
1 review
“Superb location for Christmas Holidays”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A great house in an awesome setting with incredible views: small architectural detail just to add to our experience. It is true that there is no Wi-Fi, and what a delight! The veranda invites you to sip wine and just drown in the panoramic view, and when it get a bit chilly there two fire places to warm-up the conversation. The house was really clean when we arrive, the weber brand new, and the manager always willing to assist. I would definitely recommend the house for a family holiday and can't wait for our next trip to Xairu!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Thank you, Andre. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to have you as a guest again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
findingnu...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Could have been five stars if.....”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

You cannot but be blown away by the position of this home. The best views and accessibility to wonderful walking paths.
The rental agent,Lizette Louw, was polite, helpful and pleasant from my first phone call to our last goodbyes.
The home is large and can fit up to eight people. The kitchen is well kitted out with washing machine and tumble dryer which would be handy for longer stays with children and family.
So why not five stars? I felt the detail of quality was absent: broken blinds,broken windows, broken Weber braai, musty smell due to internal damp and bubbling walls,leaky fridge,chipped crockery,dirty windows and spider webs.
The beds were comfortable and clean, the towels were thin. The rugs were old and tatty.
I would consider renting this home again but it would have to be 'polished' to a higher standard.
P.s. Please consider a blackout covering for top window of the bedroom upstairs as the street light lit up the bedroom at night.
P.p.s For this rate per night I would have expected wi-fi

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Wi-if/internet access and very limited DSTV ( we were not made aware that we could have brought our own card)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
Dear Searching,
Thanks for choosing Xairu for your holiday, and for letting us know about where we fell short. We apologize for any inconvenience during your time in Xairu. Since your stay we have replaced all the blinds, fixed the small broken window, replaced the old braai with a brand-new top-of-the-line Weber, and brought in a lovely new rug for the master bedroom. More upgrades are in the offing, including wifi. We have doubled down on cleaning and are confident that when you return you will be pleased.

Finally I would mention that Xairu is very well-priced, as any review of accommodations in the area of similar size, aspect, views and amenities will quickly reveal.

All the best,
Jay (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P
1 review
“Fantastic whale watching and home base to visit surrounding areas.”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for 7 days and enjoyed every one of them. Having rented a car, we were able to travel easily to Cape Agulhas (southernmost tip of Africa where the Indian and Atlantic Oceans meet), Betty's Beach (where penguins are plentiful), Hermanus and the surrounding winelands. Within 15 minutes of our arrival we saw Sourthern Right whales putting on quite a show in the bay. On several occasions, we took walks along the coast by simply walking out the gate of the yard. We enjoyed braai every single night at the house and the fireplace kept the upstairs plenty warm for our comfort. We will certainly return on our next trip to South Africa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Xairu for 4 days with the family. The house is very modern, clean and well equipped with everything you need. You will find a spectacular view on the ocean from the upper floor and we have seen whales very frequently when entering the bay. They did not come very close to the beach but it was still very pleasant to watch. We did a white shark diving as well but this was the most boring and expensive thing I ever did. You will see the sharks maybe for 30 seconds in total but have to stay in the water for 2 hours. Take the money and spend it on food or rather give it to some people but DONT do this!!!!! Don't miss to eat a burger in the local pub!! Thanks Tanya for all the beautiful information you provided to us. We would come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view on the ocean
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend but some dissapointments”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I actually find writing this review hard. Firstly I need to say that the view from Xairu is unbelievable and you can literally sit on the patio for hours staring at the waves and we had the privilege of seeing whales a few times. With regards to the amenities I however believe that there are some improvements that need to be made. The shower in our room was completely blocked, so we tried another room's shower but it had just about no water flow. The washing machine also had no water flow and thus could not be used. In South Africa candles are an absolute necessity with our regular power outages. When we arrived the agent showed us the candles but all of them were completely burned out and could not be used. The biggest disappointment was that we could not use the fireplace in the living room. Xairu is advertised with a fireplace and this was a big attraction for us. Only after booking we were told it may not be used. There is a wood burning stove downstairs and it does warm the house but it certainly does not give the atmosphere a fireplace does. So this was a huge disappointment. When you are looking for a nice summer house I would recommend Xairu but in all honesty I believe for the price tag that comes with Xairu you may want to consider a few other options, especially during winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedding and mattresses
Liked least: Showers blocked and fireplace not in use
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank you for choosing Xairu for your stay, and for your feedback. We were unaware of any issues with the water pressure in the showers or washing machine, and have now had a plumber come to fix the pipes. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your stay. We are confident that everything has been fixed and will be in good working order for your next stay.

Regarding the candles, we have asked the caretaker to restock so that we may keep a supply on hand. The house is of course advertised as self-catering, but South Africa is experiencing an extended period of energy insecurity.

We have clarified that the fireplace is usable for guests. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Finally regarding the price we trust that if these items had not surfaced for you that you would have found Xairu to be good value for the price. We are confident that Xairu is priced most competitively compared to other self-catering houses on Walker Bay, and in fact is more affordable than most given the views and proximity to the sea, the amenities and the architectural significance. Thank you again for your honest feedback, and we look forward to your return visit to Xairu.

Best,
Jay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireeB6...
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This house is located on a prima spot in Gansbaai, with unspoiled views over the ocean. The house is very comfortable and spacious. We loved to spent time on the balcony overlooking the ocean. Wished I could have stayed longer...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobnob72
Winterthur
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High expectations - pretty much as expected”
Reviewed February 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After spending a couple of days in Hermanus two years ago, we decided to try something different this trip. We traveled with 2 kids, 11 and 9, to de Kelders and stayed at Xairu for three nights. The property was clean and well kept, there were many rooms to choose from and plenty of room in the evenings to sprawl and read a book in front of the fireplace. Obtaining the key was simple enough with a GPS device and the lady who showed us to the house (forget the name, sorry!) was very friendly and more than helpful.
While the house has a modern architecture and hints luxury and contemporary style, there were a few weird "features" that made me wonder like the door to the room with the wardrobes when open would block the passageway to the bedroom; lying in bed the walls appeared overly massive with unnecessary and impractical niches and corner windows (?!) that can impossibly be cleaned properly. Just off the terrace a lovely natural garden with fynbos and sand but alas some haphazard, half-finished brick wall of sorts which looked like building rubble. Admittedly very trivial issues with an otherwise nearly perfect residence. Definitely a great place to stay in De Kelders.

Do the spectacular and very adventurous, scenic cliff walk which will take you to a beautiful beach in the nature reserve (three or four hours with kids who want to climb rocks, collect shells and stones and a father who wants to photograph every one of the 50 whales ...) - take enough water and food because the cafe at the other end of town might be closed. Try your luck at Grootbos for a sunset dinner - very much worth the extra expense. Another restaurant in town is brilliant: Rosemary’s Thyme. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the top terrace, the upstairs fireplace/living area, comfortable bed, nice bathroom
Liked least: Different levels in the house, chaotic architecture, rubble (or wall?) outside
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing