We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Shark Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Couldn't have been more helpful”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The GH is in a perfect location for the early morning shark dives which start at 7am. The owner let us leave all our stuff in the room and come back at 11.30 after the shark dive to shower and check out which was perfect.
Fantastic facilities, way more than we would ever use during our 1 night's stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    47
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
251
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Quiet location and it felt we were the only one in the guest house. We decided to upgrade the room to a higher floor. The bathroom had some bugs which we removed and there were some annoying crickets in house. The host was very kind and helpful. Location excellent close to the Shark tour operators for which we came. Stay was short and OK for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dubai_meadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went for a shark cage diving expierence. The ratings given was based on that purpose. Guest house staff could give us details and advice on which company to use. Staff was friendly and accomodated our request to use their facilities after booking out time as we returned from our trip on the ocean after this time. Very quiet town, but very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent just one night in the White Shark Guesthouse, but we enjoyed it very much. The hostess is just great and very helpfull - she gave us many usefull advises. If its free, ask for the room called flamingo's nest, it has an amazing view!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank w_Angelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thank you Rene for such a relax vacation. Lovely place, helpful staff and owner. Very clean, lots of space for everybody. Great location, rich breakfast. Keep going like that and see you soon. Frank v Bergen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna187462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Rene is a fantastic host, at a fantastic guesthouse, with fantastic rooms and...very close to the white sharks. Definitely a recommendation to stay and explore the beautiful nature around. A Great White Shark trip is a must have if you are there...


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Decided to stay here as the location appeared very convenient for our shark trip. The quayside was only 200m away and we thus avoided a very early pick up and bus trip from Cape Town.
Rene our host could not have been more helpful and we felt "at home" from the start. Room was spotless and well decorated. If wine tasting is to your liking a visit to Hamilton Russell should not be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
4.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
613 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
2.5 mi away
Franskraal B&B
Franskraal B&B
#9 of 29 in Gansbaai
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Shark Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Shark Guest House

Property: White Shark Guest House
Address: 2 Geelbek Street | Van Dyk's Bay, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Shark Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring views of the Atlantic Ocean, White Shark Guest House is located in Kleinbaai/Gansbaai, 400 metres from the harbour where shark cage diving and whale watching takes place. It offers elegant rooms, a large living room, and free WiFi throughout the property. Each room is decorated in a mix between rustic and contemporary, including exposed brick walls and modern furniture. They all offer a private bathroom, and some come with a private deck and spa bath. Breakfast is served every morning on the deck overlooking the ocean. Dining options are available upon request, and guests have access to a communal kitchen and BBQ facilities. Activities like shark cage diving and whale watching can be arrange on behalf of guests. A nine hole golf course and the African Penguin & Seabird Sanctuary is 1 km away, while Walker Bay Nature Reserve is 10km away. The property is 155 km from Cape Town International Airport and a shuttle service can be organized upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your White Shark Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing