We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted..and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Shark Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted..and more”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We drove to Gansbaai from Capetown in our rental car, an easy and picturesque drive. On arrival at the White Shark guest house we were greeted and shown to our respective rooms. They are big and beautifully furnished. our room had a beautiful view over the ocean and along the coast. The bathroom was well appointed with a lovely shower and spa bath. All the candles and lovely smelling accessories were a plus. There is a lovely spacious shared lounge with a great view along the coast also. it is possible to see the boats returning from their shark experiences. Breakfast is served in the White Shark Hotel across the road which was also the local restaurant and cafe, a historic building that probably once serviced the fishing village. It is a two minute walk to the boat ramp where the boats can be watched. All the local departures points for shark
diving are very close by, only one to two minutes walk which is good if you have a 6am departure. Renee booked our shark diving experience for us after we emailed her once our booking was confirmed.
Thank you Renee for a lovely stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    47
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
246
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stopped here en route to beginning Garden Route and really enjoyed the stay. Rene was very friendly and provided recommendations on the best places to view the spectacular sunset as well as a running route for the morning. She was spot on about both! Room was comfortable and very clean, bath products smelled great, and the included breakfast was tasty. I also loved the decor of the entire guest house, which had plenty of common areas for all to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This guest house was simply amazing! We checked-in in the late afternoon and we straight enjoyed the very comfortable room: jacuzzi bathtub, large bed, comfortable armchairs and especially the beautiful, well furnished, common living room! The owner was a charming woman who treated us like family friends! We had a shark cage-diving in the early morning (around 06 am) and she allowed us to have a late check-out (after 12) in order to take shower and get refreshed after the cage-diving experience! I have to specify that we had the diving experience with a competitor firm, not with the one belonging to the guest house's owner! She was totally amazing! I would love to return at this guest-house ASAP :)

Room Tip: Pay few ZAR extra and get a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an absolute wonderful time at Gansbaai/Kleinbaai. We stayed for 3 nights and when we saw our room it really felt wonderful. There was champagne on ice and chocolates waiting for us to enjoy. Rene even helped us to choose a perfect day for shark diving.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
15.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
14.7 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
392 reviews
4.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Shark Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Shark Guest House

Property: White Shark Guest House
Address: 2 Geelbek Street | Van Dyk's Bay, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Shark Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring views of the Atlantic Ocean, White Shark Guest House is located in Kleinbaai/Gansbaai, 400 metres from the harbour where shark cage diving and whale watching takes place. It offers elegant rooms, a large living room, and free WiFi throughout the property. Each room is decorated in a mix between rustic and contemporary, including exposed brick walls and modern furniture. They all offer a private bathroom, and some come with a private deck and spa bath. Breakfast is served every morning on the deck overlooking the ocean. Dining options are available upon request, and guests have access to a communal kitchen and BBQ facilities. Activities like shark cage diving and whale watching can be arrange on behalf of guests. A nine hole golf course and the African Penguin & Seabird Sanctuary is 1 km away, while Walker Bay Nature Reserve is 10km away. The property is 155 km from Cape Town International Airport and a shuttle service can be organized upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your White Shark Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing