We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight Ship and Beautiful Whales”

Ivanhoe Sea Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.89*
and up
Whale Watching from Gansbaai
More Info
$59.10*
and up
Big 5 Sea Safari in Walker Bay from Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A typical trip will have you exploring our magnificent coastline and bay while looking for whales, dolphins, sharks, seals and seabirds. Apart from the Southern Right Whales, we are able to view Brides Whales, Humpback Whales and possibly even Great White Sharks.There are many Cape Fur Seals, African Penguins, Dolphins, Sunfish and plenty of coastal marine birds to been seen whilst out at sea.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tight Ship and Beautiful Whales”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I went out on Ivanhoe with our 4 children between 7 and 3. We had close interactions with several groups of whales and a school of dolphins. It was wonderful to hear and see these creatures in their own waters. The ship is comfortable and was operated by the owner and an equally able partner. Ivanhoe is a family-run business so friendly, personal service is no problem. They are very conscientious of the weather and will reschedule based on sea conditions. Even though rescheduling can be disappointing, it shows their commitment to safety and good experience for customers. They also went out their way to find and reserve a shark diving trip at last minute. Ivanhoe and shark diving at Gansbaai were at the top of our long list of enjoyable experiences in the Western Cape.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    5
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Ivanhoe is the way to go! Trust me!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second whale watching experience this month and there was truly NO comparison. We had a miserable time on the overcrowded boat with Southern Right Charters but Ivanhoe provided us with an experience that we will remember positively our whole lives. From the moment I contacted Michelle, I knew we were going to have a good experience. Michelle was friendly and professional and gave us ample notice when our Saturday trip was going to be cancelled due to weather and worked with us to reschedule on Sunday. Their boat holds 40 people including the crew but our skipper, Jason, said they never take more than 25 adults out at a time. This makes for such a pleasurable experience. People aren't climbing over each other trying to get a look at the whales. You can EASILY move from side to side or front to back of the boat to get a perfect view of the magnificent creatures. Another thing that really impressed me about Ivanhoe was that when the whales had satisfied their curiosity and moved on, Jason said "okay, folks. we don't chase our whales...we like to leave them in a good mood so let's go find some others." I loved that they respected the whales whilst still giving us a wonderful experience. The other gentleman on the crew (I feel bad that I didn't get his name) made us feel welcome and offered us water throughout the trip. To me, it really seemed as if each person associated with Ivanhoe actually loved what they were doing as opposed to just looking at is as a "job." Make the trip to Gansbaai instead of Hermanus and have access to places only Ivanhoe is able to go. It is SO worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank azhootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hooked!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ivanhoe are great.
This is an experienced team who know exactly what they are doing, are obviously concerned about the well being of the great sea creatures we are going to see, and make the whole whale watching experience really worthwhile... This reviewer has been on the Ivanhoe boat for the 4th time now and will definitely be coming back for more.
The trip starts at 11:00 am from Gaansbai and lasts about 3 hours in Walkers Bay. If you're lucky you will also see Great White Sharks.
You can whale watch from the shoreline... but it's not until your are in the water next to them that you really appreciate the experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank derekandsabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Excellent whale watching in Gansbaai”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Used these guys after much recommendation from TA users. Surprised that there werent too many reviews.
Got in touch with them through their website and they were extremely helpful and very quick in answering my queries. Booked it by email and paid them when we got there.
They do 2 to 3 trips a day but it is weather dependent.
The boat is a reasonable size with toilet onboard.
We saw numerous whales on our trip. The boat goes near the whales but not close enought to touch and the whales approach the boat rather than the boat chasing which i guess must be good for whales.
Overall can thouroughly recommend these guys if you want to do whale watching in Gansbaai.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivanhoe Sea Safaris also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Ivanhoe Sea Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing