We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent excursion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dyer Island Cruises

Dyer Island Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.61*
and up
Marine Big 5 Safari from Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Discover & Protect"Dyer Island Cruises is a world-recognized 5-star boat based whale watching company operating in Kleinbaai, WC, South Africa. Our exclusive tours of a maximum 24 passengers offers everyone the same experience of personalized service, exceptional views, and only the best.Our team of guides/skippers/marine biologists is unique to whale watching in South Africa. Our vessel, Whale Whisperer, is custom built for boat based whale watching and superior in safety and comfort. We pride ourselves in our passion for conservation as well as customer service. And we also live by our boat's motto: "Life - an adventure to be lived, not a problem to be solved!"
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

A very slick operation - lovely crew, welcome coffees, and boat perfect for viewing. We saw several southern right whales, one of which swam right up to the boat close enough to touch. Headed to shark alley to see the hundreds of seals playing in the water and noisily chattering whilst crowding together on the rocks, and finally ... The humpback whale, spotted by our tracker at 2.5 kilometres away. Hot soup and sandwiches ready on our return. A brilliant experience :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review!!! Our staff are highly trained and experts at spotting and locating marine wildlife. It is our passion to share knowledge and educate our clients about our wonderful coast line and everything it has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    69
    16
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well organised outfit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fully recommend this whale watching tour for the following reasons: -

Well organised, processed people & payments quickly.
Ratio of staff on board was high (12 guests, 4 staff members).
Return soup to warm up, was just what was needed.
Modern company providing dropbox link to video if purchased (keeping costs down).
Fund raising talk at the beginning was non-obtrusive.


Plus we saw a load of animals (whales, shark, seals, penguins).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo_and_Franny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your great recommendation!!! Sounds like you had an awesome trip and also saw 4 of the Marine Big 5! We strive to make your trip as memorable as possible and educate our clients from a conservation point of view. We "Discover & Protect" and by choosing Dyer Island Cruises, your choice makes a difference. Please do visit us again :)

Warm regards,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
“wonderful well organized professional trip ,highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were in Hermanus for few days and our hotel recommended this company.My husband and I were so glad they did. It was very well organized with welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Wind and shower proof jackets were provided to wear over our life jackets if needed, a welcome addition as weather was very blustery. The Captain, Peter and his crew couldn't have been nicer and we saw what we wanted to see Whales and seals and penguins. We were very lucky to get out as the next 2 days trips were cancelled due to weather so safety is their main concern.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the awesome review! Our winter storms has had quite a big impact on our trips in the last month with many "no sea" days. Mother Nature sure knows how to shake things up during whale season :). Non the less, I'm glad to hear you guys had a gap in the weather and could experience this absolutely stunning wild life we have to offer. Please come visit us again!

Warm regards,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great but no Greats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked the whale/shark and penguin watching trip.The weather always impacts on these tours so sadly we didn't see one shark which was really a shame however we did get up close to some southern right whales which was good enough to make the trip worth while and seal island was stunning to view.

A very nice touch is the owners short pre tour talk on the plight of the African penguin which we found to be very touching. You don't have to but we did in fact donate to this and have sponsored a nesting box which we found to be a nice thing to do given we had visited the penguins the day before at Boulders bay. So anyone else going do please consider this as a good cause and give them some help.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the review! We sadly can't guarantee sharks on our whale watching trips. But if you are interested in meeting eye to eye with the majestic Great Whites, be sure to book a shark diving/viewing trip with Marine Dynamics @ www.sharkwatchsa.com to avoid disappointment.

Cheers,
Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This experience was something I have been longing to do since I can remember, seeing whales in their natural habitat!! Dyer Island Cruises didn't disappoint me, their professional crew took such good care of us and showed us more than what we bargained for. Whales, great white sharks,penguins, seals and dolphins! Each encounter was natural, no need for baiting and disturbing them. There was always a member of the crew to explain the animal we were admiring, giving all kinds of information which kept the children and I captivated until the very end and I had 5 children with me that ranged from 4 yrs old to 13. They are also involved in saving the African penguin population of Dyer Island which I encourage all visitors to participate in, their diminishing numbers is another result of mans greed of resources and they are making a real difference. We adopted 10 penguin families and the kids couldn't be more proud.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donatella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your stunning review, and for adopting 10 families!!! I'm glad you and your group had a fantastic time, and hopefully you'll join us again soon to check up on your Dyer Island property!

Warm regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyer Island Cruises also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Dyer Island Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing