We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale watching and Shark Cage Diving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dyer Island Cruises

Dyer Island Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.61*
and up
Marine Big 5 Safari from Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Discover & Protect"Dyer Island Cruises is a world-recognized 5-star boat based whale watching company operating in Kleinbaai, WC, South Africa. Our exclusive tours of a maximum 24 passengers offers everyone the same experience of personalized service, exceptional views, and only the best.Our team of guides/skippers/marine biologists is unique to whale watching in South Africa. Our vessel, Whale Whisperer, is custom built for boat based whale watching and superior in safety and comfort. We pride ourselves in our passion for conservation as well as customer service. And we also live by our boat's motto: "Life - an adventure to be lived, not a problem to be solved!"
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Whale watching and Shark Cage Diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from South Africa (first trip and we will be back!). The Dyer island experience was a true highlight of our holiday - my wife went whale watching and my son shark cage diving - they both loved the experience and felt the crews provided great support and knowledge in a very friendly and professional manner. My wife was delighted to see 2 albino whales (a real rarity apparently) and my son got a real buzz out of being dive bombed by great white sharks. The wonderful conservation work carried out by Dyer Island Conservation Trust with whales, sharks and the penguins at Bettys Bay is inspirational and something we should all support. I would certainly recommend a trip with this company and promise you it will be a highlight of any trip to SA. Thanks to Wilfred and his great team.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ahmetfuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
What a great review! Thank you very much for your feedback, we can't wait to have you back! Cheers, Michelle - DIC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    69
    16
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good whale whaching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Petty the weather did not co-operate, our host was also very good despite me getting sea sick. But it makes for far better photograph and experience than from land, there is very little that compares than being up close and personal with these gentle giants. Well worth the trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank parentpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! I do hope future whale watchers read this review, take some anti-nausea pills before hand so the motion of the ocean doesn't make the trip uncomfy! Cheers, Michelle - DIC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best wildlife trip that we have ever been on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our first trip to South Africa and this trip certainly made for a memorable experience.The staff were fantastic and so enthusiastic, absolutely brilliant. We also did the shark dive with the sister company, still looking at the photos and cannot believe that we did it!! We are planning to return next year and bring our sons. What an experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for such an awesome review! We can't wait to have you back plus your sons!! See you soon! Cheers, Michelle - DIC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worthwhile if you love the wild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a truly memorable experience, for myself and my international guests. I am a local (Cape Town) and am used to the sea and the talk about whales and sharks. But this trip brought me physically close to them and provided a unique experience. The crew was very helpful and entertaining.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Merwe-Stellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review, we really appreciate your feedback. I am so glad our crew kept you entertained! :) Cheers, Michelle - DIC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great boat and worthwhile trip but expensive and delay could have been handled better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our B&B booked the trip for us as they said it was the best whale watching trip around and I can believe it - the boat is just perfect for whale watching (fast and with a small observation/photographic platform).

We saw Humpback and Southern Right Whales at close quarters and, as an added bonus, we also got to see Great White Sharks swim under our boat out at Dyer Island's "Shark Alley". The weather wasn't great and so the boat trip itself was an adventure, throwing us around and making it more like a theme park ride!!

But... it was horribly expensive for a family of 5 - we paid something like £300 for a 2 hour trip which seemed like an awful lot of money. Also, having checked with the company the night before the time we had to be there (09:15 for a 10:00 departure) we had to wait until 11:00 before we could actually leave as confusion about the tide and winds meant that our trip was delayed. I know that weather can cause problems, but surely the tide is completely predictable?! The delay wasn't handled well at all which was a shame although we did get a free link to the download of the trip video which was a nice "sorry" at the end of the morning.

So - good boat, some worthy info about the plight of the African penguins and opportunity to sponsor them, but expensive and rough edges took the shine off the experience a little.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your helpful comments! Oh yes, we definitely relate to your frustration with the tide - it definitely SHOULD be predictable, but with our little rock pool harbor it is not. We can always know when it will be low, but we never know how fast the water will flow back into harbor - sometimes timely, sometimes not. Thank you for your feedback about price, and with any luck we'll soon have commercial engines that don't require petrol to run (and then we can slash prices!). If you have any more ideas, you can also email me at dyerislandcruises@gmail.com. Thanks again! Michelle - DIC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyer Island Cruises also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Dyer Island Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing