We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Thrill!”

Great White Shark Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.81*
and up
Shark Cage Diving and Viewing in Kleinbaai
Ranked #1 of 21 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The owner and founder Brian McFarlane is a professional diver and skipper who has always made a living from the sea. He started diving for perlemoen (abalone) at a young age, then moved on to become a commercial fisherman for 6 years and spent another 6 years diving in search of wrecks along the southern coast of Africa. This was followed by the diving for diamonds from the sea-bed for the next 20 years.He has become a local legend with his fascinating tales about the sea and underwater experiences. During the time when Great White Shark fishing was allowed, Brian caught Great Whites, some weighing more than 1 tonne.Today, he dearly regrets this and now spends his time and efforts in finding the great beasts to be observed and photographed at close range. Brian has worked with the Great Whites for 18 years and has only had 6 non-sighting days in the last 10 years.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

A thrilling and exhilarating experience! Arrived and were treated to a great breakfast and overview video of the rules for the day - felt like we were in good hands heading out to the boat. We were not disappointed - these guys are masters of their craft and know how to lure those sharks! We ended up seeing EIGHT different sharks on our trip, including some that jumped right up in front of our cage. It was a memory that will stay with us forever.
The only inconvenience was the short notice about where and when to meet. When we received the email confirmation after booking we were told that this would come after 5pm the day before the trip (quite late in my view, given that email/phone can sometimes be spotty on holiday), but due to apparent email/communication problems, we received a text at 6am on the day with the time, but no address. I am sure this was not intentional on their part, but a few day's notice and some more information beforehand on the location would have been a lot more helpful with planning the route and the wake-up time. Still a GREAT experience, but logistics were a bit messy.

1  Thank SCBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing us and for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. With regards to notification on meeting times, as you know weather, especially in the Cape can be very unpredictable and this affects sea conditions so it is impossible for us to advise days in advance if we are able to go out to sea or not, it would be a far greater inconvenience for our guests to get here and not be able to go out on a trip. We hope you will visit us again soon for another trip.

Kind Regards
Team GWST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
There are newer reviews for Great White Shark Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 860 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Have been out several times over the years (before 2013) with Brian McFarlane and his Great White Shark Tours and he has always turned up trumps and we have seen Great Whites every time with Brian. Whereas a previous trip with another operator we were out at sea for 7 hours and saw nothing.

Thank Lefkoseikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for once again choosing us as your preferred operator. We do our best on every trip to make our guests' experience unforgettable and we are so glad that we could make your experience with us memorable once again. We do hope that you will choose us again for your next trip.

Kind Regards
Team GWST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited these guys in April 2014 and we were blown away by how professional the whole thing was. Friendly, helpful and ultra-professional. We were offered a great breakfast on arrival, explained the day's events personally and through a good video, then kitted us all up for the event. We all got oilskins, a towel, thick wetsuit and booties, mask etc. the cage was well made.

Then, the sharks. We saw 8 different sharks up close and personal. A brilliant experience. And these guys knew how to attract and choreograph the sharks in front of the cage, it was like TV.

By the end, they showed us the video they recorded on the boat (!) and gave us warm drinks and snacks.

All in all, a great experience. I recommend these guys.

Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Awesome Marc, we are very glad that you and your girlfriend enjoyed the trip! Thank you for choosing GWST for your Sharkcage Diving/Viewing experience. Sharks is our life and we love showing others how we see them, as gentle giants of the sea.We hope that you and your girlfriend will return for another visit soon.

Kind Regards
Team GWST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Well organised, professional and respectful.

We caught a taxi (included) to the pick up point just outside of Gordon's Bay. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned - many slept. The welcome was lovely with a breakfast and instructional video. The boat was great and although almost full it was well organised with seating, food and instructions.

It was 10 degrees in the water, so absolutely freezing, but adrenaline from seeing these amazing and graceful creatures quickly made you forget the cold. We got to enter the water 4 times and had an absolute ball seeing many sharks both above and below the water.

On return, absolutely exhausted and stinking of tuna head, there was the option of a shower, hot drinks and food back at the house. The bus driver even stopped in at the bottle shop (at our request) on the return for a well earned beer as we drove the long journey home exhausted, but happy!

TIPS - top seat at the front of the boat for best views above the water and spend the extra for the video for this once in a lifetime experience.

1  Thank Aleerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

It is so great to hear that you had a great time with us Aleerak! We do strive to give all our customers a great experience from the time they get picked up to the time they leave our company. Thank you for the lovely feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Team GWST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had an amazing time, I would highly recommend d this tour and staff. We were picked up in Cape Town and driven to our destination, no problems. All around great trip and great staff.

Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for the feedback Melissa! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We always strive to keep our guests happy and comfortable and we are glad to hear that our staff met the standards.

Kind Regards
Team GWST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great White Shark Tours also viewed

 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Great White Shark Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing