We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-inclusive shark diving”

White Shark Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you are an adrenaline junkie, ticking off another experience on your bucket-list or planning a special family outing, we aim to give you the most exciting day of your life when you choose to come Shark Cage Diving and/or Viewing with White Shark Safaris. It is our privilege at White Shark Safaris - to offer you an opportunity to dive and view these magnificent animals in a safe and professional environment and have lots of FUN at the same time.
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All-inclusive shark diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

White Shark Adventures offers everything: pick-up in downtown Cape Town (very early!), (return to Cape Town afterwards), good breakfast on arrival in Gansbaai, all necessary equipment for viewing sharks under water (wetsuits, air supply, solid cage), towels, snacks, competent and friendly staff, hot soup on arrival back at headquarters (!), and a video photographer who joined the expedition and produced a souvenir DVD from our trip (for purchase)! Also, high quality souvenir clothing available for purchase.
Sharks are not guaranteed, but we saw 7 of them, one more than 4 metres long!
15 passengers on the boat; 5 at a time in the cage. Each group spent approx 20 minutes in the water.
Complete satisfaction!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KaareD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesharks, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Kaare. I am very glad too hear that we met all your expectations and more. At the end of the day diving with and / or viewing the great whites is a magical experience and with our efficient crew & staff and great customer service it can only get better!
Join us again next time when you're in South Africa.
Warm Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    7
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was super fun. We had several sharks close enough to touch and breaching. Totally worth it.

There are a few bad reviews here, but we had a pretty awesome experience. Our trip had about 12 people on it, and at least half were very sea sick, which was unpleasant to watch, but not the fault of the tour operator. Take your motion sickness pills people, and don't eat a huge breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A DREAM COME THROUGH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

All my life I always wanted to see the Great White Shark up close and personal.
Since the days of Jacques Cousteau on TV. I always dreamt of being in that cage.
Well White Shark Adventures definitely did this for me.
The entire trip from pick up at the hotel to drop off the group who attended with me we very well taken care of. From the driver Amit to our warm welcome from Amelia,the welcome breakfast, the briefing and the information shared was very informative. The crew were very friendly and knowledgeable of what they were doing and every safety precaution was taken to a T.
I will definitely recommend this trip to any one who would like to enjoy an experience of a lifetime. I can say honestly if and whenever I return to South Africa I will definitely do this adventure with White Shark Adventures again and again. To the crew members and staff members than you ever so much for making one of my dreams come through.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesharks, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Mark
I am so glad too hear that we were able to make you realize your lifelong dream! I can still remember your excitement that morning on arrival at our premises...after the journey from the Best Western Cape Suites Hotel in Cape Town.
Together (crew & clients) we were experiencing the true beauty, grace & agility of these majestic animals!
Until next time.
Warm Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“White Shark Cage Diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

21/04/2013 - My husband and son-in-law had an experience of a life time. We had stayed at accommodation in Gansbaai and ventured to the site to be there at 6.30am, on arrival there was a good breakfast on offer. My husband was extremely nervous to go on this trip, he ensured on checking out the cage and boat before departing. They went out on 'Nemo' and out of the all the boats their cage seemed to be the strongest. The staff were all very professional and friendly. On return they received another good meal, and a video which had cost R300, which we thought was a little expensive, but a trip not necessarily to be repeated in the too near future. They thoroughly enjoyed the trip. I cannot wait to go. The only downside was, that the office/call centre, did not give proper info when we enquired the night before, where we were to meet, as we wanted to see where we had to be beforehand.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messelbroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

1 st : When booking this trip at the V&A waterfront we were told that they had a professional photographer on board who would be making footage and filming the entire adventure for R200.00. We were told on the day of the adventure that the footage would be edible. Well, the footage was not professional at all - very poor quality instead, NOT EDIBLE & ended up costing us R300.00 instead.

2 nd : We were also told about the air supply system that was exclusively to their operation. But on the day we were told that they preferred not to use it as it would scare the sharks away. However it is a big point of their advertising and promotion material. Looking at other reviews now, I realise the air system is never really used. It is either broken or too noisy...

3rd : The schedule went completely wrong. We were supposed to be picked up between six and seven am, the night before we received a txt message saying we would be collected at nine. Of course we were not the only ones and a bunch of other customer needed collecting in the city, in other words, we ended up in CPT traffic jams! so we only arrived in Gansbaai at 12.00 noon!! After a short briefing we had to wait for the boat to come back in so we ended up only leaving after one pm. As opposed to getting back to CPT at 5pm we only got back at 7pm.

A few plus points:

- Everyone did get about 30 minutes cage time
- We did see 6 sharks (12 if u add the sharks on the boat after our money)
- Lunch & light snacks were provided while out in sea and back at base.
- The guys were pleasant and did ensure good atmosphere on the boat.

Just extremely disappointing when enjoyed the trip but discover that in fact you have been ripped off. I am also disappointed to hear & see so little reaction on their behalf to previously posted negative reviews.
Next time, I will probably look into a different organisation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaroulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesharks, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir

We do acknowledge your frustration and the fact regarding misinformation. However, do bear in mind that you booked your shark trip through a booking agency that only secures space with our company as per our own availability. That might have been also the reason for the later trip meeting time.
As per the air supply system: the system is working pretty fine. However, as the sharks has been moving close into shore, very much into the shallows - the shark activity is not too great. By not using the air supply system the chances is better for all our clients to experience the sharks upclose and personal.

Kind Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Shark Safaris also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to White Shark Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing